Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: CD-Key Not Valid In Bf2

  1. #21

    CD Key Answer for Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by NavyGUnner90 View Post
    No i try and join a multyplayer game and it says wrong cd -key
    If you have Vista, try this.

    Uninstall BF2
    Go to Start
    Go to My Computer
    Right-Click BF2
    Choose Explore
    Choose the Folder Installers
    Choose BF2
    On the setup option, right-click and choose Properties
    Go to Compatibility
    Where you choose what system, choose Windows XP
    Click OK at bottom
    When that closes, double-click the setup you just right-clicked on
    Do installation like normal.

    Thats what worked for me.

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1
    I'm going crazy with trying to be able to play my BF2 again. Yes, I own this game and a legal copy of it. However, I have done tossed the package and the manual years ago, therefore I no longer have my CD Key. I had it saved on a Datbase I saved for all CD Keys of all my games and well my computer got fried and had to reformat it and lost that database.

    Right now I'm trying to get it to work with a Key Generator and it's not working at all. How the heck can I get this working again without going out and buying another copy of this game? I mean I registered this game on the EA Website, why can't they help me out with giving me my key info?

  3. #23
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Divinion View Post
    I'm going crazy with trying to be able to play my BF2 again. Yes, I own this game and a legal copy of it. However, I have done tossed the package and the manual years ago, therefore I no longer have my CD Key. I had it saved on a Datbase I saved for all CD Keys of all my games and well my computer got fried and had to reformat it and lost that database.

    Right now I'm trying to get it to work with a Key Generator and it's not working at all. How the heck can I get this working again without going out and buying another copy of this game? I mean I registered this game on the EA Website, why can't they help me out with giving me my key info?
    You will have to purchase a new game/key... you can contact EA about it but its unlikely they will help. Just use their support site.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Tempe Arizona
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Help

    Yeah EA and DiCE usually aren't that good with CS. I have this problem recurr about every month at sometime. Just find the file CDKEYREGISTRY, or something like that. If your C Drive isn't the one you install stuff in, check D, E, etc, only if these are hard drives, not external. Then copy a shortcut to your desktop, I keep a notebook of all my games CD Keys. Also a back-up, and a plastic sleeve for disks and manuals. Yes I am over protective, but I don't feel like shelling out another 30 bucks to get BF2 Full Expansion.
    Note: I do not have to re-install, once you re-enter the CD Key the game should run without re-installation. Make sure you also have the Latest Patch which is 1.41 I believe..
    If you have Vista, Xfire may screw up certain games. I have already experienced this problem with Fallout 3 and had to ditch Xfire completely.
    Last edited by speedevil22; 11-28-09 at 11:48 AM. Reason: Adding Additional Info

  5. #25
    I registered just to share the solution:

    search for ergc in your registry, you will come to a key like this below:

    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-676758527-2123232937-581594296-1001\Software\Classes\VirtualStore\MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Electronic Arts\EA Games\Battlefield 2\ergc

    it will contain your CD key by itself

    modify this key and put x9392 infront of the serial key (no spaces or dashes)

  6. #26
    Hi
    Ive got the same problem: "your CDkey is not valid"

    What ive done:
    Ive been playing bf2 normally for almost half a year now. Because I got banned from a few servers (3 or 4), I wanted to get unbanned by trying to reinstall the game under a different cdkey. I downloaded a keygen from keygens.nl and after reinstalling the game with the new key, and updating to 1.5 I started getting the message "your CDkey is not valid" everytime i tried to join an online server. So I deinstalled the whole game again, and reinstalled with my original CDkey thats on the back of my bf2 cd box. I updated 1.5 and guess what I got the same message "your CDkey is not valid" although this time I used a real key. Im going crazy, I used to be pretty good at this game check my stats (http://www.bf2stats.net/player/321700749/) and Im member of the french #ouf# clan, and I dont know wth is going on the guys from EA should be barred for life...

    Can anyone help me?? What can I do???? Please help me!!!!

    regs, azul

  7. #27
    another thing.

    I cannot find bf2 in the Registry Editor and I couldnt before this mess started. I searched for ergc I found one in CrysisWarhead, no use for me....

  8. #28
    Quote Originally Posted by silversurfer74 View Post
    I registered just to share the solution:

    search for ergc in your registry, you will come to a key like this below:

    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-676758527-2123232937-581594296-1001\Software\Classes\VirtualStore\MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Electronic Arts\EA Games\Battlefield 2\ergc

    it will contain your CD key by itself

    modify this key and put x9392 infront of the serial key (no spaces or dashes)
    Thank you sir!! I registered just to add that this fixed my "invalid CD key" issue. This might not solve it for everyone. It seems like there are a number of different ways to fix the invalid cd key. Probably depends on the OS you're running.

    I'm running Windows Enterprise 7 64 bit. All the proposed solutions that are listed in the first few google hits doesn't do it for me. It's strange because the ergc in the registry should be under HK***_LOCAL_MACHINE and not HKUSER. But this definitetly solved it for me. I spent a good 4 hours reinstalling over and over and going through the proposed solutions. Was about to give up until I found this other way of fixing it.

    It's an old thread and an old game but I figured if this might help someone else fix the same issue I have then it's worth passing on the word

Similar Threads

  1. Roflmao, BF2 guide
    By Chris in forum Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-14-07, 07:43 AM
  2. Replies: 67
    Last Post: 09-20-06, 05:23 PM
  3. BF2 Read Me File
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-18-05, 07:58 PM
  4. BF2 demo readme file
    By Tpofa in forum Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-05, 05:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •