Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Weird Problems with TCP Optimizer

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6

    Weird Problems with TCP Optimizer

    Hi everyone, please look at my TCP Analyzer log files:
    Quote Originally Posted by TCP Analyzer
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 11.25.2006 01:24
    Partial IP: 60.48.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 0204058c0103030001010402
    MSS: 1420
    MTU: 1460
    TCP Window: 64240 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 65320, 130640, 261280, 522560
    BDP limit (200ms): 2570kbps (321KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1028kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    As you see from above log, you'll see my MTU set to 1460 but when I want to change it (MTU) to 1500, I'm surprised to see that in TCP Optimizer confirmation box that my MTU already set to that amount (1500). You can see the confirmation box on the screenshot below:



    Anyway, can you recommend a settings I should use for my ADSL connection (using Kasda KE318D - modded to router mode from Chips.com.my forum) on 1MB down/512K up of Streamyx broadband package.

    Thanks for viewing and answering!


  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Using TCP Optimizer, your MTU in Windows Registry has been adjusted to 1500. But your router is limiting MTU to 1460. You have to read through your router's instruction manual to access its setup configuration to change the MTU (or MRU).

    My understanding is that Streamyx is a ADSL PPPoE system and MTU should be at 1492, not 1500.

    For MTU of 1492, use RWIN at 63888.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6
    Well, I've mod my modem to enable PPPoA system and I've checked at my modem that it's already set (MTU) at 1500. Well, maybe I should revert back to ADSL PPPoE system and look forward to my performance. Thanks for the advice.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6
    Hi, just revert my modem back to "bridging" mode (a.k.a PPPoE system) and below are the test results for it. Do you think it's OK compared to other similar services/products?

    Thanks in advance.

    Here's the test result link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...st=40UZLPMPJTP
    Overall test: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...php?uid=197360

  5. #5
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Testing speed halfway around the world means you will also be testing the traffic congestions at the international gateway routers.

    I believe Streamyx has a speedtest webpage. You should be able to achieve about 80% (800+ kbps) at this time of early evening and 90% (900+ kbps) between 4-8am.

    If you want to try another test server closest to you, try the test server in Singapore of this link:

    http://beta.speedtest.net/

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    Well, below is the results:


    It's quiet low for 1mbps connection.

    Anyway, this is the result from TMNet Speedometer (server located at Kelana Jaya:
    Last edited by aman01; 11-25-06 at 05:41 PM.

  7. #7
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Do the TCP Analyzer again and post. Let's see if your settings are correct.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6
    Here are the results. It's optimised. Am I correct?

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 11.26.2006 09:50
    IP address: 218.111.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405a00103030001010402
    MSS: 1440
    MTU: 1480
    TCP Window: 65340 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65340
    Reccomended RWINs: 63360, 126720, 253440, 506880
    BDP limit (200ms): 2614kbps (327KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1045kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  9. #9
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by aman01 View Post
    Here are the results. It's optimised. Am I correct?

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 11.26.2006 09:50
    IP address: 218.111.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405a00103030001010402
    MSS: 1440
    MTU: 1480
    TCP Window: 65340 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65340
    Reccomended RWINs: 63360, 126720, 253440, 506880
    BDP limit (200ms): 2614kbps (327KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1045kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    No, it is not optimised. You need to make TCP Window an even multiple of MSS. Use 63360 and not 65340.

Similar Threads

  1. Could use some help with TCP Optimizer settings
    By Sushi_x47 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-05-12, 04:18 AM
  2. Need Help with TCP Optimizer (Windows 2000)
    By OldSalt35 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-06, 12:35 PM
  3. Uploads faster then downloads
    By mailman30 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 02-23-06, 10:03 PM
  4. TCP Optimizer version 2.0.2 RC2 (10/06/2005)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-07-05, 08:47 AM
  5. TCP Optimizer version 2.0.2 RC1 (10/03/2005)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-05, 03:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •