Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

Thread: new provider slow download speed

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18


    removed some spyware and getting better speeds now, ive ordered a router too instead of a usb modem

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18


    Ran adaware and spybot search and destroy, changed the MTU to 1452 as mentioned in the other thread, cheers for the help.

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Trogers, got a router now and my speeds seem to back to low, does this need re-configuring some how??

  4. #24
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Could be your router has a preset MTU value that is different from 1452. Do the Analyzer and post. Let's see if RWIN is an even multiple of MSS.

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Ok, here we go...

    WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 355.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 230.74kb/s

    ------ Client System Details ------
    OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
    Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.5.0_06

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    Information: throughput is limited by other network traffic.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 222.45 msec; the Packet size = 1432 Bytes; and
    There were 7 packets retransmitted, 47 duplicate acks received, and 54 SACK blocks received
    The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 1.76%
    S2C throughput test: Excessive packet queuing detected: 20.43%
    This connection is network limited 99.9% of the time.
    Excessive packet loss is impacting your performance, check the auto-negotiate function on your local PC and network switch

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: ON

    Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
    Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Information: Network Middlebox is modifying MSS variable
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [81.178.92.209] but Client says [192.168.1.33]

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Whoops, sorry wrong test...

    « SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results »
    Tested on: 12.05.2006 13:38
    IP address: 81.178.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405980103030201010402
    MSS: 1432
    MTU: 1472
    TCP Window: 257760 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 64440
    Reccomended RWINs: 63008, 126016, 252032, 504064
    BDP limit (200ms): 10310kbps (1289KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4124kbps (516KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 49
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.

  7. #27
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try these custom settings with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1472
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 126016
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck
    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Tried those mate, no joy, seems download is capped some how, upload is always a constant 380k/s


  9. #29
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Do a tracert to www.yahoo.com to check on the state of you signal path.

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net [209.73.186.238]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 * 38 ms 60 ms l1.ar02.gs1.dsl.pipex.net [62.241.161.244]
    3 34 ms 33 ms 33 ms ge-0-1-0-0.cr01.gs1.dsl.pipex.net [62.241.161.10
    6]
    4 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms GigabitEthernet4-0.GW3.LND2.ALTER.NET [146.188.6
    8.233]
    5 33 ms 34 ms 33 ms so-3-0-0.xr1.lnd2.alter.net [158.43.233.106]
    6 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms so-0-1-0.TR1.LND2.ALTER.NET [146.188.7.222]
    7 108 ms 108 ms 109 ms so-6-0-0.IR1.DCA4.ALTER.NET [146.188.8.169]
    8 108 ms 108 ms 107 ms 0.so-0-0-0.IL1.DCA6.ALTER.NET [146.188.13.33]
    9 112 ms 110 ms 111 ms 0.so-7-0-0.XL1.DCA5.ALTER.NET [152.63.42.185]
    10 110 ms 111 ms 111 ms 0.so-6-0-0.BR1.DCA5.ALTER.NET [152.63.43.169]
    11 116 ms 115 ms 136 ms 204.255.168.98
    12 113 ms * 113 ms so-2-1-0.bbr2.Washington1.Level3.net [209.244.11
    .13]
    13 111 ms 111 ms 110 ms ae-21-56.car1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.121.1
    78]
    14 160 ms 111 ms 110 ms 4.79.228.2
    15 113 ms 110 ms 113 ms ge-3-1-0-p140.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.57
    ]
    16 114 ms 111 ms 112 ms ge-1-42.bas-a1.re3.yahoo.com [66.196.112.195]
    17 114 ms 126 ms 114 ms f1.www.vip.re3.yahoo.com [209.73.186.238]

    Trace complete.

  11. #31
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by pipexnoob View Post
    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net [209.73.186.238]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 * 38 ms 60 ms l1.ar02.gs1.dsl.pipex.net [62.241.xxx.xxx]
    3 34 ms 33 ms 33 ms ge-0-1-0-0.cr01.gs1.dsl.pipex.net [62.241.161.10
    6]
    4 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms GigabitEthernet4-0.GW3.LND2.ALTER.NET [146.188.6
    8.233]
    Your modem is affected by electrical noise. Probably due to being placed too close to some electrical device such as the router or cordless phone.

    Isolate your modem and check with tracerts again.

  12. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    I dont have my modem plugged in mate, ive got the router running direct from my Network on my PC down a 15m CAT5 cable to a filter into the main socket in the house. ill try moving it but there isnt much cable todo so.

    The router is a ZyXEL P-660R-61C ADSL 2+ if that is any help.

  13. #33
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net [209.73.186.238]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 37 ms 36 ms 41 ms l1.ar02.gs1.dsl.pipex.net [62.241.161.244]
    3 33 ms 32 ms 49 ms ge-0-1-0-0.cr01.gs1.dsl.pipex.net [62.241.161.10
    6]
    4 34 ms 33 ms 33 ms GigabitEthernet4-0.GW3.LND2.ALTER.NET [146.188.6
    8.233]
    5 34 ms 33 ms 34 ms so-3-0-0.xr1.lnd2.alter.net [158.43.233.106]
    6 33 ms 33 ms 34 ms so-0-1-0.TR1.LND2.ALTER.NET [146.188.7.222]
    7 108 ms 108 ms 108 ms so-6-0-0.IR1.DCA4.ALTER.NET [146.188.8.169]
    8 109 ms 108 ms 108 ms 0.so-0-0-0.IL1.DCA6.ALTER.NET [146.188.13.33]
    9 110 ms 113 ms 112 ms 0.so-7-0-0.XL1.DCA5.ALTER.NET [152.63.42.185]
    10 111 ms 111 ms 111 ms 0.so-6-0-0.BR1.DCA5.ALTER.NET [152.63.43.169]
    11 116 ms 116 ms 115 ms 204.255.168.98
    12 114 ms 109 ms 113 ms so-2-1-0.bbr2.Washington1.Level3.net [209.244.11
    .13]
    13 112 ms 111 ms 110 ms ae-21-56.car1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.121.1
    78]
    14 111 ms 111 ms 116 ms 4.79.228.2
    15 111 ms 111 ms 113 ms ge-3-1-0-p140.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.57
    ]
    16 115 ms 118 ms 112 ms ge-1-42.bas-a1.re3.yahoo.com [66.196.112.195]
    17 120 ms 111 ms 113 ms f1.www.vip.re3.yahoo.com [209.73.186.238]

    Trace complete.


    Moved it as far as i can away. Would it still be electrical tho as before i was getting 2.7mb downloads and it's even further away than my modem was then?

  14. #34
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    While the ping times are better than before, they are not at 'normal' values. Such irregular ping times can be due to electrical noise or loose connection or even stray wiring. How is your speed now?

  15. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Same mate, ive gone back to my adsl modem now and getting....



    Cant work it out, is something conflicting with the router??

    My MTU and the routers MTU ?

  16. #36
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Once you switch dignal device, do the TCP Analyzer to check if your RWIN is an even multiple of MSS.

    Also, you can do a tracert to check the stability of ping times in your line.

  17. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Adsl TCP analyzer result..

    « SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results »
    Tested on: 12.05.2006 15:23
    IP address: 85.210.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405980103030201010402
    MSS: 1432
    MTU: 1472
    TCP Window: 260624 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 65156
    Reccomended RWINs: 63008, 126016, 252032, 504064
    BDP limit (200ms): 10425kbps (1303KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4170kbps (521KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.

  18. #38
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by pipexnoob View Post
    Adsl TCP analyzer result..

    « SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results »
    Tested on: 12.05.2006 15:23
    IP address: 85.210.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405980103030201010402
    MSS: 1432
    MTU: 1472
    TCP Window: 260624 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 65156
    Reccomended RWINs: 63008, 126016, 252032, 504064
    BDP limit (200ms): 10425kbps (1303KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4170kbps (521KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.
    RWIN has been set too high (equal to a 8 mbps bandwidth) Default ToS value reads 64. I recommend 80.

    Use TCP optimizer to set RWIN to 126016 and Default ToS to 80.

Similar Threads

  1. Very Slow DSL Download Speed
    By Alex122488 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-20-09, 04:07 AM
  2. DSL download speed is 56k slow
    By Ramboner33x in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-22-06, 04:06 PM
  3. Slow Download Speed when connected to Router and Switch.
    By BooGeyMan in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-06, 08:18 AM
  4. is it 56KB/sec a slow download speed for a DSL?
    By necromarkos in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-12-05, 01:43 PM
  5. Very rare case of slow download speed
    By checky123 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-19-05, 03:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •