Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: changing internal IP Range

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    changing internal IP Range

    In one of our businesses, the computers all connect to the server through static IP. The internal network range is the same as another company that some employess will need to connect to through VPN. Therefore, our internal IP address range will need to be modified. I know how to change the static ip address on each workstation but how would i change the range on a windows server 2003 business.
    Also if there an easy way for me to tell the external ip address?

    Sorry im new to this.


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,900
    Basic domain controllers are easy to change.....reboot, create a new DHCP scope...bounce the workstations, they'll follow easy.

    Static IPs on the workstations...easy, DHCP reservation
    Moving your print servers..also easy, DHCP reservatoin

    What other server roles do you have? That's where things can get more involved.

    I'd start by making a list....everything on your network..everything. Server(s), workstations, network printers, network scanners, any "services" running public (such as web, Sharepoint, RWW, Terminal, email, etc).
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the fast reply.
    I just recently took over on the tech position so i will have to get more familar with their network and figure out all the server roles.
    Thanks for your help!

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,900
    Quote Originally Posted by k3rri
    I just recently took over on the tech position so i will have to get more familar with their network and figure out all the server roles.
    Oh boy..makes things even more interesting.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. MTU value not changing
    By digitalsin in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-10-06, 02:51 PM
  2. Wi-Fi Range question
    By chuskey in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-06, 08:45 AM
  3. How can you setup internal and external ips
    By antony_ace in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-15-06, 06:52 AM
  4. Changing usernames?
    By RoscoPColtrane in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-24-05, 07:41 PM
  5. to extend WLAN range: repeater or high-gain antenna?
    By hommealone in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-05, 02:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •