Thread: Vlan Help Please...

Question Vlan Help Please...

Hello... I am a network administrator trained in Windows Server administration... My knowledge of advanced networking techniques is limited... So my company has recently been reaching the limits of their choosen subnet (192.168.200.x/24)... So I am working on moving them to a class A (10.0.0.0/8)... We have 3 buildings each conntected via a fiber backbone... Each with their own switch stack... My plan was/is to have each building on their own subnet...

My question is this... What configutation will need to be done to make sure that each vlan can communicate with the servers (all located in one building, could be setup on their own vlan) and the internet (in the same room as the servers, again could be on it's own vlan or even same as servers)...

Hopefully someone can help me with this I just need some basic direction... No step-by-step is needed...

Thanks to all in advance...

Joe S....

Did somebody forget how to subnet? ( I always hated subnetting in school )

Instead of changing every IP address for every device why not just stay with your existing address scheme and just subnet it so that you have more host addresses available?

192.168.200.x/24 (or subnet mask: 255.255.255.0) has an address range of 192.168.200.0 - 192.168.200.255

By simply dropping an extra bit from your subnet you have 192.168.200.x/23 (subnet mask: 255.255.254.0) which makes your new address range 192.168.200.0 - 192.168.201.255

Find out how many host addresses you need and then subnet accordingly.

No need to completely change your entire address scheme. You can go with 10.x or 172.x or 192.x they are all private classes that can be subnetted into Class A, B, or C structure all by tweaking the subnet mask.

If you've forgotten how to subnet, check out this site: www.learntosubnet.com

Good Luck!