Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: When using Intel Priority Packet 3: Windows QoS Packet Scheduler needed?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13

    When using Intel Priority Packet 3: Windows QoS Packet Scheduler needed?

    When I use Intel Priority packet 3 with my Intel NIC, do I need to install the Win2003/XP QoS Pacjet Scheduler protocol in Network Connections? Or does the Intel operate on it's own?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13
    Anyone?

  3. #3
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    The QoS Packet Scheduler is a useless protocol unless you are on a QoS enabled network, just uninstall it.


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13
    My network is QoS enabled. Router (and clients) actively supports 802.1p and WMM/WME...

    So, is it necessary to use it when INtel Priority Packets III is installed and active.

  5. #5
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by EddieZ
    So, is it necessary to use it when INtel Priority Packets III is installed and active.
    I do not have an answer to your question, but do have a suggestion.

    Set the value of your QoS to 0% and see if it makes any difference. This is similar to not using it.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13
    Thanks, i'll try.

Similar Threads

  1. Qos Packet Scheduler
    By Duzmor in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-23-13, 02:24 PM
  2. USing INtel Priority Packet 3: QoS Packet Scheduler needed?
    By EddieZ in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-24-06, 10:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •