Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: I'm a newbie--ive got a problem with my computer

Junior Member PaulEdwardWagemann's Avatar

I'm a newbie--ive got a problem with my computer

Hello, sorry I dont have time for introductions, but I'm in a bit of a pickle and thought someone on this board could help me out.
    Last week I clicked on a link to a site called 'chicago hardcore punk' and it caused an error message to come up on my computer. The message read:"Mprexe has caused an error in KERNEL32DLL". This only happnes on computers with windows ME or less (I have windows ME). Anyway if you click on the message box to close it, it will freeze up your computer. If you dont click on it, the computer will be slow.

Well I searched around and found out that to get rid of the error you simply go to your start/search and find all files with *.pwl in the title. Simply delete those files (in my case their were just three files) and restart your computer, and everything will be fine.
    My problem is that after I cleared the error, I tried clicking on that link once again and this time the same thing happened--same error message and everything, BUT when I went to search for files with *.pwl there obviously werent any because I had deleted them. So now I'm trying to figure this out. I'm a total know-nothing when it comes to computers, so if anyone could help me out, I'd greatly appreciate it.
    I'd like to fix it without spending any money because I'm bascically living hand to mouth right now and my computer is a luxury, not a neccessity in that regard...

format c:

Quote Originally Posted by mountainman
    format c:
    install win2k

fixed
    My son ... ask for thyself another internet connection, for that which I leave is too slow for thee

Ya ME isnt the most stable OS to run.

Go into start and run and type msconfig, and in the startup section look for anything fishy.

Quote Originally Posted by mountainman
    format c: