Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 51

Thread: Windows Vista RC1 Released

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    F.WV
    Posts
    2,981

    Windows Vista RC1 Released

    I've been using RC1 for a little while, and have installed it on both my laptop and my desktop, and it runs flawlessly on both machines (albeit my laptop wont even allow me to enable Aero, the graphics card just sucks too much).

    I would argue that it runs as quickly or quicker than XP in general, and also handles a heavy load of multitasking better than XP.

    As a comparison for your hardware if you are looking to install it and wondering how it'll run, here are the specs of the two PCs I installed it on:
    Desktop
    Pentium D 915 @ 3.5Ghz
    1GB DDR2 Dual Channel
    250GB SATA3.0 7200RPM
    6600-non GT 256mb
    It runs flawlessly on this PC, including all Aero effects. The only time it slows down is when I'm working on large files in Photoshop, but that's not because of the operating system, I just need more RAM.

    Laptop:
    1.73Ghz P-M
    1.25GB DDR2
    80GB 4200RPM
    GMA900
    It runs very quickly on the laptop as well, very snappy. Unfortunately, like I said, Aero doesn't work on it due to the intergated video, everything else works great.

    Basically, as long as you have a gig of RAM +, you'll be set.

    You can get it at MS's site:
    http://download.windowsvista.com/pre...n/download.htm

    If you tried Vista Beta 2 or any of the other releases around that time, you really need to give this one a try. Performance has increased several times, and I am being serious - It's almost a completely different OS in that regard.

  2. #2
    HS's Proctologist triniwasp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,710
    Can you have both xp and vista on the same machine, similar to having linux and
    xp on the same machine?
    Feelings about religion: I believe in a dogma-free personal Prime Mover.

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    F.WV
    Posts
    2,981
    Quote Originally Posted by triniwasp
    Can you have both xp and vista on the same machine, similar to having linux and
    xp on the same machine?
    Yeah.

    Just have the partition ready (15GB +) and either insert the DVD of Vista you burned, or mount the ISO and install it to that partition (you can mount the ISO as the setup will copy all of the needed files to the Vista partition before restarting to finish the installation).

    Vista will install a boot manager after it finishes the OS installation that'll allow you to boot either XP or Vista.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    You need at least 1 gig of RAM, less and Vista runs slower. But RC1 is much faster than the early vista releases.

    The areo theme is still ugly to me, I dont care for the look of windows explorer, or internet explorer, and I havent found an option to reduce the size of the desktop icons.

  5. #5
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,857
    If you are not registered but would like to receive Windows Vista RC1, the CPP will open to new participants in the coming weeks. Please check this site periodically for updates.
    hmmm

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    F.WV
    Posts
    2,981
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    You need at least 1 gig of RAM, less and Vista runs slower. But RC1 is much faster than the early vista releases.

    The areo theme is still ugly to me, I dont care for the look of windows explorer, or internet explorer, and I havent found an option to reduce the size of the desktop icons.
    I don't mind the theme. It's a little different, and takes a little getting used to, but I like it.

    About the desktop icons: Right click the desktop, click view, and click "classic icons"

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    ah, icons are much better!

    The network connection thing is still retarded to, change any setting and it creates a new nework each time.

  8. #8
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,857
    How big is the file? I never signed up for the trial program and am looking elsewhere, am seeing a 2.52G file. That sound right for the ISO?

    But I guess without the beta key I'd be SOL with this version, eh? and they stopped giving out keys a while ago.

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Ya 2.52 gigs is right.


    For beta are we allowed to use the key on like 5 machines or so? If thats the case we can hook ya up humby.

  10. #10
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,857
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Ya 2.52 gigs is right.


    For beta are we allowed to use the key on like 5 machines or so? If thats the case we can hook ya up humby.
    Would appreciate it if possible

    Have to re-install XP today anyway, figured maybe I'd give Vista a try.

    Please let me know.

  11. #11
    HS's Proctologist triniwasp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,710
    I'm officially begging for a key(Humby's mom taught me how), PM one if you feel generous.

    Thnx.
    Feelings about religion: I believe in a dogma-free personal Prime Mover.

  12. #12
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    From what I've seen its 3 workstations per key, so anyone handing them out, make sure ya dont hand out too much

    EDITED TO ENGLISH
    Last edited by YARDofSTUF; 09-09-06 at 06:48 PM.

  13. #13
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    How many cd's does the ISO take?

  14. #14
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,857
    Quote Originally Posted by triniwasp
    I'm officially begging for a key(Humby's mom taught me how),
    Yeah yeah, your mama taught me how to pick the lock instead of begging for the key.


  15. #15
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude
    How many cd's does the ISO take?

    1 DVD

  16. #16
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    1 DVD
    Hmmm....

  17. #17
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,857
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    amke sure ya dotn hand out too much
    WTF language is this?

    drunken latvian?

  18. #18
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    drunken lithuanian

  19. #19
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude
    Hmmm....

    DVDs are the new kinda CDrom, they whole more space, really nice stuff, you should look into it, I hear they work with windows 98, kinda

  20. #20
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    "One of the very first steps in setting up Windows Vista is this prompt to enter a product ID. If you're familiar with Windows XP, you probably enter this reflexively. But in Vista RC1 (and probably in the final version as well), you can leave the product ID box blank. If you do this, you'll see a stern warning that says you better input that ID if you know what's good for you. You can safely skip it if you know you have (or will have) a legitimate product ID but it isn't at hand, or if you are planning to evaluate Windows Vista for 14 days or less."

    http://blogs.zdnet.com/Bott/?page_id=131&page=1

Similar Threads

  1. Microsoft Update Windows Vista Homepage
    By hayc59 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 04:21 PM
  2. free anti virus for windows vista ?
    By Mark in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-12-06, 10:25 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-17-06, 04:57 AM
  4. Windows Vista
    By thechemgeek in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-05, 05:38 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-05, 06:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •