Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Double Trouble

  1. #1
    Member mandm6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78

    Question Double Trouble

    I'm running MCE 2005 and all of a sudden it will not download my cable guide.It gives me a code 3 error. Also about the same time, My disk defrag stopped working. It just sits there for a min and saus "Not Responding". I have over 200Gb of free space left and I also have 3 megs of ram installed. I have ran several spy programs and my antivirus program and nothing was found. I ran the error checking on C drive also. My computer seems overall a little slower than usual. My machine is 3.4ghz, 3megs of ram running windows xp home media center edition. As far as the guide download, It said code 3 was either corrupt drivers or not enough memory.I know its not a memory problem because i have over 2.5megs free with everything running. It says to delete the drivers and reinstall them but i can't find just the drivers for MCE in my device manager.Have no idea why the defrag stopped. Any help would be great!!
    Thanks,Kevin
    Kevin

    HP m1180n,Pentium 4 550 (P) HT 3.4 GHz,800 MHz FSB,250 GB SATA Hdd. 3GB RAM,ATI Radeon X300SE Graphics, 128MB DDR Memory, 8x DVD(+/-)R/RW DL drive, Altec Lansing ,7.1 surround sound support with Dolby Pro Logic IIx.

  2. #2
    Member mandm6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78

    Exclamation Problem Fixed

    I guess nobody had any idea how to fix my problem since nobody replied to my post.Maybe i have posted to many problems lately for anyone to care! Anyway, I found the problem and i'm not sure how this fixed it. Maybe someone could explain it to me. After going over all the services on my wife's computer, I noticed her BITS was set to Local System and mine was set to Network System. I changed my BITS to Local System and everything started working ok. I have no idea how it got changed unless one of the ms updates changed it.Maybe someone could tell me how that happened and why it would make a difference?
    Thanks, Kevin
    Kevin

    HP m1180n,Pentium 4 550 (P) HT 3.4 GHz,800 MHz FSB,250 GB SATA Hdd. 3GB RAM,ATI Radeon X300SE Graphics, 128MB DDR Memory, 8x DVD(+/-)R/RW DL drive, Altec Lansing ,7.1 surround sound support with Dolby Pro Logic IIx.

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Hahaha nah, we wont stop helping if ya ask a lot of questions. Had no idea on the fix and I have no idea on how to explain how ya did.

    But its good you got it working

Similar Threads

  1. telecommuter having trouble with IP phone software
    By BBartscht in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-06, 10:30 PM
  2. My JAVA program does not work well. Need help.....
    By SuperSonic2005 in forum Programming Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-10-05, 11:24 PM
  3. America is in trouble!!!
    By JC in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-29-05, 12:20 PM
  4. blueyonder and router trouble
    By Skirge in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-05, 11:06 AM
  5. double post
    By Russell in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-05, 05:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •