Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: PIV 4pin power plug

  1. #1
    Gone Camping
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern AB, CA, turn left Alaska, Turn right, Yukon Territoies
    Posts
    13,515

    PIV 4pin power plug

    Been having problems as of late with random reboots, just boom, black screen and rebooting, occasionally the video would go all blocks.
    Thought maybe the ATI 9800 pro was taking a dive, picked up a Gforce and the situation was better but still getting some reboots.
    Tore things down this morning, the 4 pin PIV extra power plug from the power supply looks like someone held a match uder it, somewhat melted. The 4 pin connector on the mobo has a nice brown burnt look to it.

    MOBO, p4p 800 Deluxe W/3.2 PIV
    PSU Antec 430 true power

    Current 12 rail is fluctuating betwee 12.038 and 11.8
    5 volt rail is fluctuating betwee 4.892 and 4.9
    3.3 rail is holding steady at 3.296
    and vcore is holding steady at 1.424

    What could cause this?
    Not sure what to do, this comp has to last me for a bit, would the likely prob be PSU or MOBO?

  2. #2
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris
    Been having problems as of late with random reboots, just boom, black screen and rebooting, occasionally the video would go all blocks.
    Thought maybe the ATI 9800 pro was taking a dive, picked up a Gforce and the situation was better but still getting some reboots.
    Tore things down this morning, the 4 pin PIV extra power plug from the power supply looks like someone held a match uder it, somewhat melted. The 4 pin connector on the mobo has a nice brown burnt look to it.

    MOBO, p4p 800 Deluxe W/3.2 PIV
    PSU Antec 430 true power

    Current 12 rail is fluctuating betwee 12.038 and 11.8
    5 volt rail is fluctuating betwee 4.892 and 4.9
    3.3 rail is holding steady at 3.296
    and vcore is holding steady at 1.424

    What could cause this?
    Not sure what to do, this comp has to last me for a bit, would the likely prob be PSU or MOBO?
    Test the PSU if its turning off and on.
    All you need to do to power up the PSU was to "ground" the wire. Meaning, connecting the "green" wire to any of the 6 "ground" wires from the same ATX connector and the PSU would power up like it was connected to a mobo.Stay there and watch if its turning off and on,i guess this is the best method because you can see the fan stop spinning even if its for few multiseconds.You "cant" do that in chassis because there are tons of wires,dark etc (my example).If its working then its you mobo imo.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  3. #3
    Gone Camping
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern AB, CA, turn left Alaska, Turn right, Yukon Territoies
    Posts
    13,515
    Quote Originally Posted by rivas
    Test the PSU if its turning off and on.
    .
    Well it is, because I am on that computer right now after cleaning chit up as well as I could.
    Just not sure if I kneed a new PSU or a new MOBO or both.
    I know the 4 pin supplies extra power to the CPU and the 3.2E is a pig.
    Wondering if I get another MOBO, is the same just going to happen again

  4. #4
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris
    Well it is, because I am on that computer right now after cleaning chit up as well as I could.
    Just not sure if I kneed a new PSU or a new MOBO or both.
    I know the 4 pin supplies extra power to the CPU and the 3.2E is a pig.
    Wondering if I get another MOBO, is the same just going to happen again
    Did you test it with the wire like i told you? Just plug one end into green wire and other side into any other wire.If its turning on and off then its the PSU.The Asus mobo would give you some error beeps in my opinion if something is wrong there.Also if its the PSU it could damage the mobo with constantly turning on and off.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  5. #5
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,192
    i had the same power supply leave burn marks on the 20pin conector of a abit mobo, the mobo was okay but the power supply was shot. i never did rma it, although i did contact antec about it, oh well.

    not sure what caused it, but no more antec power supplies for me, had another antec before that go tits up as well, although that was a cheaper model and it was from a used PC i had bought some time before.

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Sounds like the PSU, I dont think the mobo could cause the psu to melt the 4 pin connector.

    Your PSU rails sound ok, but I hate when the 5v is reported below 5v.

    I like the antec true power line, but it seems liek they are moving more to the fancy colors and glowing junk now.

  7. #7
    Gone Camping
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern AB, CA, turn left Alaska, Turn right, Yukon Territoies
    Posts
    13,515
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Sounds like the PSU,.
    Could it be the amount of power the 3.2E and ATI 9800 were drawing?
    Too many amps draw would melt a plug also

    I'm just worried that if I replace the PSU or MOBO that it will happen again.
    Guess almost 3 years 100% CPU utilization may have taken its toll

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    I dont think it'd be too much power I think I have a 380watt true power in my gigabyte system now, overclocked, voltage is raised up a lot and its at 3.2ghz, i'll have to pull it out and see, but the 430 has decent amps.

    Are you running like 20 fans and eleventy billion hard drives?

  9. #9
    Gone Camping
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern AB, CA, turn left Alaska, Turn right, Yukon Territoies
    Posts
    13,515
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF

    Are you running like 20 fans and eleventy billion hard drives?
    2 sata drives, 3 case fans, burner, gig of ram, 3.2E, audigy2 and was runnin the ATI980 pro, now a little gforce 6200OC cause I wasn't sure about the ATI's health

    the 430 should handle that I would think

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Ya sounds fine, Im running about the same on the 380.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ertlanta, Gargea
    Posts
    7,002
    Maybe if you pop open your power supply, something inside will be fried. Or it could just use a cleaning.

Similar Threads

  1. Guide for fixing lost connection and speed issues on cable.
    By Rocky_Grim in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-18-07, 03:12 PM
  2. Eliminate Electrical Gremlins + Spike Protection
    By minir in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-28-06, 10:58 PM
  3. I Get 2/3 of 3 MB - Pls Help
    By Lurch in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-26-06, 08:02 PM
  4. Power Supply Info ????
    By kalbster in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-26-06, 09:04 AM
  5. power supply question
    By bartjones in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-26-05, 06:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •