Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: windows not loading past welcome screen

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast 7thkevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,871

    windows not loading past welcome screen

    so I turn off my pc for the night...come back few hours later,turn on my pc and windows dont load past the Welcome Screen... wtf?

    I restart a few times and tryied safe mode still samething... turn if off for a few then turn it back on... this time on the screen my HD makes a Grinding noise like its trying to do something . the light is on while theres noise but then they both stop any idea?

    XP hom BTW


    TIA

  2. #2
    Chinese Vampire tHE_0ne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Williamsburg/Norfolk VA
    Posts
    5,870
    try F8 when booting and turn off automatic restart failure.

    My~Rig
    |Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Toledo 2.0GHz @ 2.5Ghz||ASROCK 939Dual-SATA2||OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC3200|ZALMAN 120MM CNPS7700-CU|
    |ATI XT 1600 PRO|CSB SB0570 Audigy SE 7.1||WD SE16 SATA 320GB HD|Hitachi SATA 160GB HD|Thermaltake TR2 W0070 ATX 430W Power Supply |WIN 7 Ultimate| (College Budget)

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast 7thkevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,871
    I just Tried reformatting and reinstalling widnows its gets to the part ware I enter the key. press enter and thats it nothin.... but im goin to bed

  4. #4
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,191
    go to the support site of whoever makes your harddrive and download the diagnostic tools for the drive, run it from a boot disc and see what it tells ya.

  5. #5
    Mental Metal Minister Jamie_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    10,451
    sounds like the hard drive to me ...
    .

    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

  6. #6
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark
    go to the support site of whoever makes your harddrive and download the diagnostic tools for the drive, run it from a boot disc and see what it tells ya.

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast 7thkevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,871
    http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/download.htm


    how would I put it on cd? I dont have a disk drive lol

  8. #8
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,191
    Quote Originally Posted by 7thkevin
    http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/download.htm


    how would I put it on cd? I dont have a disk drive lol
    download this file here
    use nero or whatever to burn the .iso file, then set the PC to boot to the cd drive in the bios with the freshly burned cd in teh drive, follow on screen instructions to run tool.

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast 7thkevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,871
    ok will do thanks

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast 7thkevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,871
    woot fixed it.. Buffed the xp cd for a few mins

Similar Threads

  1. Windows not loading.
    By mmione in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 06-27-06, 10:48 PM
  2. Still can't get MyDocs window removed
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-02-05, 07:30 PM
  3. Tweaks for Windows
    By JamieLee2k in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-05, 07:38 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-05, 07:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •