Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fios

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,258

    Talking Fios

    C'mon people

    Let's get some real life speed tests. I want screen shots!

    Fibers' goin up around my neighborhood, I can't wait for 15Mbps!

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,372
    Blog Entries
    6
    You get what you pay for... Steady speed right at the cap. No slowdown in peak times as far as I can tell, it's sweet.

    When I got it they ran some (pre-terminated) fiber to the house and replaced the old can on the side of the house with a bigger ONT (Optical Network Terminal). They hook that thing to power, and install a backup battery, so in case of power outage you have about 12 hours of phone service still... They even have a push-button on the battery backup that can give you extra power for emergencies after the initial battery dies... The ONT terminates the fiber, and has a few RJ-45 jacks where you can hook up Internet, Telephone, or TV (not sure if the TV is RJ-45, I just didn't notice any coax connectors. In other words, it retains the copper cabling inside the house, the ONT is what terminates the fiber.

    For the internet connection... They gave me a D-Link 624 WiFi router (free)... They use PPPoE, my max possible MTU is 1492... I suppose they're using it because they're upgrading their DSL customers or something... I personally don't like PPPoE.

    It serves dynamic IPs via DHCP, my IP seems to change every week or two, much more often than it used to with Road Runner...

    I get VERY stable connection, exactly at the cap at all times when testing, I haven't seen any congestion... It seems much more reliable than Cable Modem or DSL, low latency, at least from what I've seen. They still market it as a residential line, so the EULA does not allow running servers on it.

    They also offer VoIP packages, and TV service that you can get over fiber in some areas, but I'm just using it for the broadband

    That's about it.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934
    I'd kill to get FIOS service up here!!
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Cool FIOS In Bethel Park SW Pennsylvania

    Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening all:

    I just got the FIOS internet the Last Friday in July... I got the 15/2 speed tier.. I'm constantly getting 15.3-15.5 And on the upload side, I get anywhere from 1.93-1.95.. If you REALLY wanna fly, goto www.verizon.net/optimisesettings, and d/l the registry tcp/ip settings, and run it, click ok, reboot, then do a speedtest, and I CAN PROMISE you MUCH FASTER uploads... Cuz b4 the tvp/ip settings my upload was a crappy 1.44, BUT WITH the settings, it jumped up to 1.93... So in closing, IF it's available its a MUST HAVE... Thx for reading this y'all

  5. #5
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,372
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks Joe. The link to the FIOS TCP/IP settings doesn't seem to work ? Is that the link you're refering to: http://www2.verizon.net/help/fios_settings/ ?

    They seem to be adding some of the basic settings very similar to what is recommended by our TCP/IP Optimizer.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Talking Fios

    http://verizon.net/optimizesettings/.. Here you go all, try this link

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,258

    Thumbs up

    What kind if latency are you guys getting in online multiplayer games? When I had OOL back in my CS days, I would get steady 10-15ms to NYC servers from central NJ.

    15-2 is such an outrageous speed. When I was on 56k and a friend of mine got OOL, he was downloading at 500KB/s, I was in disbelief. Then I got it, came here, and achieved a steady 1MB/s with the help of Lobo (haven't seen him in a while, he still around?) What's that come out to, 8Mbps?

    15Mbps should be 1.875MB/s with a 250KB/s upload? SIIIIIIIIIIIICK, totally unnecessary, I love it.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2

    Fios and my headaches

    I got the Fios services for my telephone, internet and cable tv last Friday. Every day I have called about a problem with the internet. No one has given me realistic solutions to my problem. I have a desktop with the hardwired Actiontec router and they are 25' away from 2 laptops that are used the most. The wireless connection is often dropped and very low signal. I have optimized and seen some improvement but the signal keeps dropping off.

    The last tech suggested that I hard wire all my computers even though that meant crawling under my house. I am considering this although I am 67 and not very agile.

    Before my encounter with Fios I had verizon dsl and after struggling with a dlink wireless router, I purchased 3 Netgear xe102 wall plugged bridges. They worked very well and I didn't even know what the word "dropped" meant. I don't seem to be able to use these devices with Fios unless someone knows how to get them to work for me. I guess it's under the house with 100 feet of cat5e cable.

Similar Threads

  1. Verizon FIOS Bandwidth limit?
    By Bluesky in forum US Broadband Providers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-29-10, 01:24 PM
  2. FIOS TV MAC address help
    By dnaegele in forum US Broadband Providers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-06, 01:26 PM
  3. I just got the new Fios 30/5meg..need help tweaking
    By Strato1337 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-16-06, 09:43 AM
  4. fios connection, need advice/reccomending setting?
    By mkrsx2003 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-06, 03:53 PM
  5. Wiring my neighborhood....Fios
    By RicRogue in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-13-06, 01:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •