Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: 1st Post Shinobi's Dial-Up ISP's

  1. #1
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1

    1st Post Shinobi's Dial-Up ISP's

    On the East Coast.

    I have a free dial-up account with Juno, I get 52 Kbs.. not too shabby, they also have free email. Although they have a AD banner on top of your browser, and you get 10 hours per month.
    I do click on thier banner to give them some revenue..
    http://account.juno.com/s/landing?ac...productId=free

    Also I have NetZero Free..
    http://account.netzero.net/s/landing...lus-commitment
    (same as Juno, see above) I also get 52 Kbs... I was one of the first people to offer mass free account CD's to people back in the day when netzero was a brand new company, even though they are now owned by same company that owns Juno, United Online.
    Remember both of these are limited to 10 hours.
    Paid accounts have no banner.

    If you are looking for a good dial-up ISP and you are in New England, try Galaxy Internet. I use to have them before I switched to Verizon. Really reliable ISP, prices are good as well... Local Company up towards Boston, Ma.
    http://www.gis.net/dialup/index.html

    If you use any Free Dial up ISP for exception to Juno / NetZero (same company) Please list them here in this thread. I am very interested if there are any left after Juno/Netzero bought out the lot of them..

    Thanks.
    Shinobi
    Last edited by Shinobi; 08-26-06 at 08:01 PM.
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  2. #2
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    Shinobiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

    +1
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  3. #3
    Shinobi...Shinobi...Shinobi...I don't think I could ever get dial-up again. I did not like net zero. There was an automatic updater that would try to install netzero highspeed which I did not want and peoplepc connection was worse. My AVG kept on picking up a spyware bug. I had to uninstall it. That is what prompted me to get dsl. So, now, no problemo.

    What do we have to do to convince you to change eh?

  4. #4
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie
    What do we have to do to convince you to change eh?
    LOL.. Oh I agree with you that Broadband is better..
    I do have Verizon ADSL, almost 3 megs down and almost 768 up,

    You can use a regular dial up analog modem at the same time as you are using DSL, just don't go thru the DSL line filters that come with your dsl modem and equipment.

    I keep a dial up account around for 2 reasons.
    One is just in case Verizon is working on the lines or if they are haviong a outage, really never had any major problems with them... but it just nice to have a back up.
    Two, Is, if I am really downloading a "really big" file, sometimes I'll go on my other computer, and use the free dial up account just to surf around, so I won't use one bit of the DSL's speed.
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  5. #5
    But, if Verizon is working on the phone lines, wouldn't you not be able to dial in anyway?

  6. #6
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie
    But, if Verizon is working on the phone lines, wouldn't you not be able to dial in anyway?
    If they have server problems.. then I could dial out..
    This has not happen in a while.. in fact, like 4 times this year.. not that long for outages either. Just good to have a back-up ISP, thats all.
    Last edited by Shinobi; 09-01-06 at 11:45 PM.
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Shinobi
    If they have server problems.. then I could dial out..
    This has not happen in a while.. in fact, like 4 times this year.. not that long for outages either. Just good to have a back-up ISP, thats all.
    You do have a good point there. Even though I don't think I could use dial-up now.

  8. #8
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie
    You do have a good point there. Even though I don't think I could use dial-up now.
    Ya, it is quite slow compared to dsl / cable / other.. You knowm the funny thing is that I was cleaning out old of my old computer parts.. found a "bunch" of old internal and external Analog modems (for dial up internet)

    I even found a external 2400 baud modem! Thats old!
    The funny thing is, I can still use that, on Internet Relay Chat "IRC", a text type of chat program.. if I wanted to.
    Last edited by Shinobi; 09-04-06 at 07:41 PM.
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Shinobi
    Ya, it is quite slow compared to dsl / cable / other.. You knowm the funny thing is that I was cleaning out old of my old computer parts.. found a "bunch" of old internal and external Analog modems (for dial up internet)

    I even found a external 2400 baud modem! That old!
    The funny thing is, I can still use that, on Internet Relay Chat "IRC", a text type of chat program.. if I wanted to.
    How long have you had that 2400 baud modem?

  10. #10
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie
    How long have you had that 2400 baud modem?
    A longgggggg time....

    All the external (except the Hayes 2400 baud one) and internal modems that
    I have kicking around.. are 56K V.90 ,
    some of the new internal modems are 56K v.92
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Shinobi
    A longgggggg time....

    All the external (except the Hayes 2400 baud one) and internal modems that
    I have kicking around.. are 56K V.90 ,
    some of the new internal modems are 56K v.92
    You can start a museum of antique equipment!

  12. #12
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie
    You can start a museum of antique equipment!
    Just got rid of "a lot" of legacy stuff..
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1
    hi can n e one help me my connection speed is ****ed up andthese CONNECTION TWEAKS ar makin it worse can n e one advise me with a good one plz thx

  14. #14
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by IronKid
    hi can n e one help me my connection speed is ****ed up andthese CONNECTION TWEAKS ar makin it worse can n e one advise me with a good one plz thx
    Welcome to SpeedGuide

    You should post in the "Broadband Tweaks" section of SpeedGuide
    http://forums.speedguide.net/forumdisplay.php?f=54

    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ertlanta, Gargea
    Posts
    7,002
    I had juno free web back in the day.

    I played ultima online with it, big banner in the bottom of the game window. Man that was the day.

  16. #16

    FYI -- PeoplePC

    For those people who have PeoplePC for dialup, if you ever want to cancel, I highly recommend you cancel the account that you automatically pay for it each month, wether it is a bank account or credit card account. You'll know what I mean if you wait a few months after canceling your account. You'll find that they are still taking out their monthly payments. It will be a waste of your time to even try to deal with them. You will be better off canceling the account that the payment is coming from.

Similar Threads

  1. ghettoside v. Round Lake Post Office
    By ghettoside in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 05-31-09, 05:49 PM
  2. 1st post "HI ALL"
    By SJK2 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-23-05, 08:37 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •