Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Issues with Secondary IDE channel

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32

    Issues with Secondary IDE channel

    I have a DVD-ROM and a CD Burner on my secondary IDE slave/master configuration. When I have both of them plugged in none of the drives are recognized by Windows but if I only run one drive on the channel as a master it works. All the jumpers on the drive units itslelf are correct. It sounds to me as if the drives are conflicting with each other. Any suggestions would be helpfull. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Try setting the jumpers to cable select and see if they are recognized.


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32
    I changed the jumpers to CS and it still does not work. When booting up the BIOS doesn't see the drives and either does windows. If I start by plugging on one drive with master boot up it sees the drive and works. THen when I plug in the second drive as slave it works. The catch is, 10 min later my computer becomes very sluggish the mouse locks up and the cpu says it is being used (40%) and the drives disappear.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32
    I will be moving my mouse around in the idle state and there is 50% cpy usage now. How do I figure out what is using that much? I know that isn't right.

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    Are you looking in task manager? Hit the process tab and it will tell you which process it is.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32
    I was looking in the task manager and i saw some process but nothing unusual. I closed out a few of the big ones and it had no change. It only locks up and sluggish with lots of CPU usage when my cd roms drives disappear from my computer and device manager. Now when I start up the bios doesn't recognize they are even plugged in.

  7. #7
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    What cd burning software do you have installed?


Similar Threads

  1. Guide for fixing lost connection and speed issues on cable.
    By Rocky_Grim in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-18-07, 03:12 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-06, 11:53 AM
  3. Macromedia download issues...a couple of months ago...
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-05, 07:12 AM
  4. Serious Speed Issues In SW Virginia w/ Charter Pipeline. NEED HELP.
    By Pez D Spencer in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-28-05, 10:43 PM
  5. Comcast issues with OLD MODEM
    By navtiidia in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-11-05, 06:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •