Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Switched mobo's

  1. #1
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906

    Switched mobo's

    Yeah so y'know the DFI board died ...RMA'd it ... instead of sending me a new one they sent me a check.....didn't feel like waiting for a new one so I got the A8N SLI Premium from a local place. I like this little external power hookup they got ...That is all.

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    External Power?

  3. #3
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    External Power?

    molex coming out from the back of the case ... clips in like a card ..i assume for perty lights 'n things

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Pics!

  5. #5
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Pics!

    Upon further review ...its an external Sata connection ..power in the middle connections on the side ... I don't have any external devices as such ...could still use the power though i s'pose

  6. #6
    Between Light & Shadows Unholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Somewhere Over There
    Posts
    2,819
    External Sata makes more sense since it's plug and play. I've always wondered though if it's ok to plug into a Sata power plug while the computer is on. I know it's a bad idea with 4 pin molex.
    "I was once banned from a bookstore for moving all the bibles to fiction"

  7. #7
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906
    Quote Originally Posted by Unholy
    External Sata makes more sense since it's plug and play. I've always wondered though if it's ok to plug into a Sata power plug while the computer is on. I know it's a bad idea with 4 pin molex.

    I got the board late last night...skimmed the manual a bit and I thought I read it could be hot swapped ...I'll be installing it this weekend.

Similar Threads

  1. I switched DSL ISPs, can I use my old router/modem?
    By tnunamak in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-22-06, 11:03 PM
  2. ASUS produces Pentium M adapter for Socket 478 mobos
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-16-05, 11:40 AM
  3. refurbished mobos from newegg ?
    By Mark in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-05, 06:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •