Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: weird cpu usage problem

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    472

    weird cpu usage problem

    Not sure if this is the right place for this. But it seems like with certain programs for example Internet explorer my cpu usage goes way up. Like 50 sometimes even more. Then my computer heats up really good. Its only am scrolling down with the mouse. Or even my cpu usage goes way up if am typing on a word processor. Itís a weird problem donít know what it is. I have 1.5 gigs of ram. Also I donít seem to have any kind of virus. Well any type of help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Using the scroll wheel of a mouse can bring up FF and IE pretty high in cpu usage. Thats normal. Typing a word document shouldnt, but if its MS office i can kinda see that.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    472
    Yes its microsoft office. I dont understand why it doce that. It uses like over 50% when typing a document. Then my temps sky rocket.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Cuz MS office is bloated.

    What do your temps go from and to?

  5. #5
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    What version of office?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    472
    from 44 c to 60 c and its microsoft office i think 97

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Thats a big jump. But not really dangerous.

  8. #8
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    This thread should be moved.

  9. #9
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude
    This thread should be moved.
    only after you put up a new HOTTER avatar..only then do you have the power to say such things!

  10. #10
    Forum Techie A_old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,663
    Sorry to ask something so silly, but what else do you have running in the back ground and what speed/model/make CPU do you have?

  11. #11
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Office 97....you have a couple of service packs, up to 2b I think

    Also remove findfast.exe and osa.exe from your all users Startup folder...findfast was a killer.

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/of...226191033.aspx
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. How to change cpu usage in console?
    By ghettoside in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-18-06, 11:04 PM
  2. Reboot problem where CPU is changed?
    By NorthMan in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-09-05, 03:20 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-28-05, 02:48 AM
  4. cpu usage 100% then shut down??
    By a1sas in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-03-05, 10:50 AM
  5. Some VERY VERY weird problem
    By JOHNiE in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-21-05, 09:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •