Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Static IP on Wireless Router

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8

    Exclamation Static IP on Wireless Router

    Hi
    I've got ZyXel Prestige 660RU-T1 ADSL2 Modem and been running great, I've set the static IP on that and on my laptop, now I recently bought a Wireless router D-Link DI524 and I plan to use both.

    Now the wireless wont work if the ZyXel modem is on static ip, but if I set it to Obtain IP Address automatically both will work.

    But I need static IP to make use of port forwarding when using Wireless.

    here's the IP settings of the ZyXel modem


    here's the IP settings of the D-Link DI524 Wireless Router


    Whats wrong with my settings?

    Please advice

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Don't set a staic IP on your pc. Dlink has an option to assign a specific IP address to a specific MAC address, use that feature.

    To clarify, the Dlink router will assign the same IP address to a certain pc every time it see's it's MAC address on the network. It's a nice feature that I wish other routers have.


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8
    But then I cant do port forwarding If I dont set Static IP
    I really want static IP for downloading and other stuff

  4. #4
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Yes you can, your settings a static IP address on the computer so if you do what I suggested then your computer's IP address will always be the same.

    What exactly are you trying to do?

    If you need a static IP for a certain computer then what I suggested will work. If you need a static IP for your outside IP, then you can put these settings in the router or use DynDNS.


  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,869
    You're double NAT'ing...you have 2x routers in a row. Not the ideal situation...yeah sure some things will work "OK"..yes other things will not work...and even the things that work "OK" will not be running at their best.

    Either flip your Zyxel into bridged mode and use your DLink as your only router..or flip your DLink to just AP mode (access point)

    You're quite similar to this thread...
    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=204358
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8
    How do I flip my ZxYel into bridged mode?
    or how do I flip my DLink Wireless to Access Point only?
    which option is better?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8
    I just followed the included instruction from the Dlink, got WAN port of Dlink (Wireless) connected to LAN port of ZyXel and Ethernet cable to LAN port of the wireless for cable connection.

Similar Threads

  1. Static IP on Wireless Router
    By Razor in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-08-06, 12:05 PM
  2. VPN, router, Wireless setup.
    By ckct in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-06, 04:07 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-13-05, 10:59 AM
  4. Connecting wireless router to existing router
    By Ecto in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-07-05, 08:55 AM
  5. anyone networking an iMac with a Windows laptop?
    By franybill in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-18-05, 01:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •