Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Memory Help

  1. #1
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912

    Memory Help

    Hey guys I need a bit of help finding the proper RAM. I currently have 2 512MB sticks of single sided dual channel DDR 3200 and that is what I want to add to have a total of 2GB. The problem is finding single sided dual channel DDR, I don't really think the RAM has to be dual channel since the motherboard decides whether it runs in single or dual channel. I ordered the exact same part number as I currently have from New Egg, which is Kingston RAM, and they sent me double sided RAM which won't work. I prefer to stick with Kingston since they have a lifetime warranty but right now I just want to find 2 sticks of 512MB single sided DDR 3200.

    Does anyone know where I can find what I need?

    P.S. My local supplier can't get it either.

    Help & Tips broadbandnuts.com - CableNut Tcp/Ip Analyzer TCPOptimizer drtweak.com - Dr Tweak

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,876
    are their numbers on the ram

    duz
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

  3. #3
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Yeah, and that's what I went by to order the new RAM but it seems Kingston now has changed the model number from single sided to double sided, makes no sense.

    Help & Tips broadbandnuts.com - CableNut Tcp/Ip Analyzer TCPOptimizer drtweak.com - Dr Tweak

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,876
    is this the ram that newegg sent you

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141436

    duz
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

  5. #5
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    No, it was this RAM.

    Help & Tips broadbandnuts.com - CableNut Tcp/Ip Analyzer TCPOptimizer drtweak.com - Dr Tweak

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,112
    What's the make/model system it's going in?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    It's an MSI K8N Platinum Neo4 motherboard.

    Help & Tips broadbandnuts.com - CableNut Tcp/Ip Analyzer TCPOptimizer drtweak.com - Dr Tweak

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    http://www.crucial.com/store/listpar...inum)&tabid=AM


    If you have a question, you can email them to make sure its single sided. http://www.crucial.com/support/conta...er_service.asp

Similar Threads

  1. Memory leak causing high pings/full router cache?
    By jowy2000 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-06, 01:23 AM
  2. Questions about the Gigabyte GA-8I945P-G mobo concerning memory
    By MadMax350 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-07-05, 11:58 AM
  3. im looking to upgrade my memory.
    By Meggie in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-20-05, 03:49 PM
  4. Question about laptop memory.
    By RoundEye in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-19-05, 12:13 AM
  5. Memory Faults ***need help or suggestions
    By Cameron203 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-19-05, 01:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •