Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Conroe

  1. #1
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906

    Conroe

    ...i've googled and have seen nothing ...up to this point of me typing...that shows what they're going to be priced at....links please

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906
    Ya just found something ..dated like march though ...

  4. #4
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906
    200 is kinda hard to pass up

  5. #5
    Advanced Member G-IcE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    4 seasons
    Posts
    770
    That 6600 is promising,but will wait for Amd's answer first

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Quote Originally Posted by G-IcE
    That 6600 is promising,but will wait for Amd's answer first

    There will be no answer to conroe. AMD will answer with their quad core chip against intel's quad core.

  7. #7
    Advanced Member G-IcE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    4 seasons
    Posts
    770
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    There will be no answer to conroe. AMD will answer with their quad core chip against intel's quad core.
    Oh well,would have been interesting.

  8. #8
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906
    Quote Originally Posted by G-IcE
    That 6600 is promising,but will wait for Amd's answer first

    Ya , they got nothin until late next year at minimum... I mean the 3800 X2's are like 130.00 bucks...I'll prolly pick one of those up to replace my 3200..... a guy could throw together a bargain conroe setup for like 325.00 bucks (mobo and cpu) and smoke most anything else out there.

  9. #9
    Advanced Member G-IcE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    4 seasons
    Posts
    770
    Quote Originally Posted by Izzo
    Ya , they got nothin until late next year at minimum... I mean the 3800 X2's are like 130.00 bucks...I'll prolly pick one of those up to replace my 3200..... a guy could throw together a bargain conroe setup for like 325.00 bucks (mobo and cpu) and smoke most anything else out there.
    This could be reason enough to build lol

  10. #10
    Elite Member Izzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17,906
    Quote Originally Posted by G-IcE
    This could be reason enough to build lol

    cheapest motherboard i've seen core duo ready was like 165.00 and their bottom rung conro cpu was 203.00 so my bad ...368.00 ...but prices will drop it's only a matter of time ..you could throw a high end X2 setup together for dirt now too


    edit : i'm sure others could prolly find stuff cheaper

  11. #11
    Advanced Member G-IcE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    4 seasons
    Posts
    770
    Quote Originally Posted by Izzo
    cheapest motherboard i've seen core duo ready was like 165.00 and their bottom rung conro cpu was 203.00 so my bad ...368.00 ...but prices will drop it's only a matter of time ..you could throw a high end X2 setup together for dirt now too


    edit : i'm sure others could prolly find stuff cheaper
    I'll wait a while for future developments,price drops and such.

  12. #12
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    all of them are gonna be available or just the low end ?
    I'm looking on the extreme edition.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ertlanta, Gargea
    Posts
    7,002
    All of them are coming out today on most of the big sites, some are backordered and the usual release day drama.

    I'm grabbing a e6400. ZZF says it has it but on backorder. Hoping some pop back up. Gotten all my cpu's from them.

  14. #14
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    I have right now INTEL PENTIUM 4 EE 840 3.2GHZ LGA775 SMITHFIELD 800FSB 2X1MB EM64T XD DUAL CORE and AMD FX62 as well

    I wanna ask if i upgrade to Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.93GHZ 1066FSB 4MB Cache am i gonna see big improvement or not at all.My Mobo P5WD2-E Premium does support this cpu so it would be only cpu upgrade and im using both computers ONLY for encoding,autocad,corel draw and photoshop,i dont game at all.
    SUggestions ?
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ertlanta, Gargea
    Posts
    7,002
    Seems you can afford it, go for it, it will be an improvement.

    Especially if you overclock.

    FX62 performs in the e6600 / e6700 area for most applications

  16. #16
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by Shagster
    Seems you can afford it, go for it, it will be an improvement.

    Especially if you overclock.

    FX62 performs in the e6600 / e6700 area for most applications
    Thanks
    Started using amd for hr.hdtv encoding,intel performs better for hdtv encoding.
    But how big improvement
    The price for both cpus are same,actually the current one what i have right now is lil bit higher.Dont know if i should keep it and buy EE conroe or sell it and buy conroe.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ertlanta, Gargea
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by rivas
    Thanks
    Started using amd for hr.hdtv encoding,intel performs better for hdtv encoding.
    But how big improvement
    The price for both cpus are same,actually the current one what i have right now is lil bit higher.Dont know if i should keep it and buy EE conroe or sell it and buy conroe.
    Hold for the quad cores

    There is a post about the kentsfield (or whatever the intel quad core code name is now) over at XS...looks very juicy. Intel claims a December/January release date for it. By then you'll have some good motherboard choices and the ram debate will have settled.

  18. #18
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by Shagster
    Hold for the quad cores

    There is a post about the kentsfield (or whatever the intel quad core code name is now) over at XS...looks very juicy. Intel claims a December/January release date for it. By then you'll have some good motherboard choices and the ram debate will have settled.
    hehe will see
    you think its gonna be so soon ?
    I dont know i think its gonna be later
    There are always good mobos but i got ticked off with asus with my last rma so i will go with abit propably next time.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ertlanta, Gargea
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by rivas
    hehe will see
    you think its gonna be so soon ?
    I dont know i think its gonna be later
    There are always good mobos but i got ticked off with asus with my last rma so i will go with abit propably next time.
    Well if your gonna jump on conroe, hold a little for the NF5 chipsets. They will also support the quadcore when they come out (most of them).

    I used to buy abits. They aren't the **** anymore. I got the abit 865pe 775 board for my 640 and the board was crap. Just got a Gigabyte board, only problem is I can't control vdimm and its overvolting my ram, other than that its a great board. My next board will be an Asus.

  20. #20
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by Shagster
    Well if your gonna jump on conroe, hold a little for the NF5 chipsets. They will also support the quadcore when they come out (most of them).

    I used to buy abits. They aren't the **** anymore. I got the abit 865pe 775 board for my 640 and the board was crap. Just got a Gigabyte board, only problem is I can't control vdimm and its overvolting my ram, other than that its a great board. My next board will be an Asus.
    well i think 2 comps + 1 xeon server is enough
    I'm selling this EE cpu and mobo,i'm not really using it anymore,i dont game and most of the encoding i do on my AMD FX62.
    Not sure what i will do with the ram yet and PSU + HDDs propably add them to the rest of the computers and the ANtec 550W PSU im gonna donate to my friend.The chassis is huge so maybe i will use it for my hatched critters lol
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

Similar Threads

  1. So WHEN is Conroe going to be available?
    By Brk in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-24-06, 11:55 PM
  2. $183 Conroe Chip beating the $1k AMD flagship
    By loop2kil in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 07-18-06, 06:05 PM
  3. Gator goes deer hunting in Texas
    By westy in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-25-06, 10:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •