Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Speedstream 5100a DSL modem/router problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7

    Speedstream 5100a DSL modem/router problem

    Need your help here mates!

    For the past (approximately) 3 weeks I experienced intermittent disconnection and slow internet browsing. Until my DSL modem/router cannot connect to the internet. Thus, I called my ISP provider and told them the issue. After 1 hour, they came into my house to fix my problem. Up to a time that, my DSL modem/router which is Alcatel Speedtouch 530 was the trouble.

    My DSL modem/router temporarily provided by my ISP is speedstream 5100a. It is configured as a bridge. As I searched over the internet, I found out that its web interface is not accessible using 192.168.0.1 (when configured as a BRIDGE). It is only accessible when configured as a "router mode." Moreover, I cannot port forward ports (particularly the ports used in my FTP). I tried also to reset to its default factory settings but i havent found any switch at the device (speedstream 5100a). It has only 1 switch available and that is intended as a power switch.

    Any advice on how can i access the DSL modem/router? or how can i reset this DSL modem?

    Thank you and God bless!

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,965
    Quote Originally Posted by rrac_1984
    I found out that its web interface is not accessible using 192.168.0.1 (when configured as a BRIDGE). It is only accessible when configured as a "router mode."
    I'm not sure what you mean there. Assign your PC a temporary IP address within that range...give it something like 192.168.0.10/255.255.255.0 You don't need gateway or DNS..you're not going to surf the net, just get to the admin.

    Log in...configure as necessary. You'll see under advanced options, PPP location..an explantion of each of the 3x modes the Speedstream supports.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7
    @YeOldeStonecat: hello!

    The tuts you given me did not work. I cant still access my DSL modem. are there any other ways to access my DSL modem?

    Thank you YeOldeStonecat for your effore. God bless!

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,965
    Are you plugging directly into the modem for this?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7
    yeah. i directly plug it to my PC's NIC.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7
    My setup:

    Code:
    PC---->Speedstream 5100------Internet
    From PC to speedstream using straight-through cable.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7
    Problem solved. thank you for your help mate!

Similar Threads

  1. DSL connection problem.
    By jbarczew in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-14-08, 10:48 AM
  2. About to throw DSL out window.....HELP!
    By Nobody Special in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-04-06, 05:20 PM
  3. Problem with DSL "2-for-1 adapter"
    By NewbieSeeker in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-08-05, 07:18 AM
  4. Help me found out withs the problem with the disconnecting
    By newbiez in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-05, 01:33 AM
  5. Satellite DSL Problem
    By Umpire_71 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-05, 01:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •