Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wireless?

  1. #1
    Junior Member bluzeboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    45

    Wireless?

    Mnosteele helped me with my DSL at my alt location & worked well
    So I was hoping for the same with my Wireless connection at my main base
    Advertised as 512 up
    128 down am I getting all I should?

    TCP options string = 020405b40103030201010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 1460
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 2 bits (scale factor of 4)
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 365

    RWIN seems to be set to a very small number. If you're on a broadband connection, consider using a larger value.
    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 58.4 kbps (7.3 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 23.36 kbps (2.92 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 52 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
    XP Home SP2 768 RAM INTEL 4 Wireless Connection

  2. #2
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Use the same settings as I gave you before bluzeboy.



  3. #3
    Junior Member bluzeboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    45
    I thought the differance in promised bandwith there would be differances.
    XP Home SP2 768 RAM INTEL 4 Wireless Connection

  4. #4
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    This is on the same connection correct? This pc is just wireless right? I might have misunderstood you.


  5. #5
    Junior Member bluzeboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    45
    this a different computer & different connection my alt computer was dial up before & i got DSL it.
    XP Home SP2 768 RAM INTEL 4 Wireless Connection

  6. #6
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    OK, but those settings should work for this connection as well.


  7. #7
    Junior Member bluzeboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    45
    ok thanks
    XP Home SP2 768 RAM INTEL 4 Wireless Connection

Similar Threads

  1. YeOldeStonecats Wireless Networking Tips...
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-06, 02:46 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-24-06, 07:38 AM
  3. VPN, router, Wireless setup.
    By ckct in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-06, 04:07 PM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-13-05, 10:59 AM
  5. 1 Cable modem and 2 Wireless routers
    By Twisted385 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-05, 12:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •