Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: What was your first "gaming" computer?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ertlanta, Gargea
    Posts
    7,002

    What was your first "gaming" computer?

    I don't mean the first computer specifically meant for gaming. Just the first computer you had that got you started on computer games. (not console).

    I had two. The ibm 286 tower with games like Kings Quest, Chessmaster, and Gold Rush. That was my dads. I had a pc jr with the cartridge loaded games.

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    IBM model 70, 386, 12-16 mhz, 8MB RAM, 30MB hard drive, DOS 4.X, Windows 3.1

  3. #3
    SCSI Dude Faust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    8,708
    Apple IIc.

    came this ->||<- close to getting a PC jr. instead, but the keyboard was just too cheesy.
    "Today is a black day in the history of mankind."

    - Leo Szilard

  4. #4
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,154
    486 33mhz , 8 meg ram, 512 meg hdd, w/ cd rom! Kick ass eh?
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  5. #5
    PIII 500mhz

  6. #6
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    I think it was a 286 but I know I had a 486 setup... But I have no idea cept that it was SLOOOOOOOWWWW!!!! lol compared to what I'm running now.

  7. #7
    Domesticated Primate Bastid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    8,021
    by gaming... do you mean solitare?

    the first pc i got that was for "gaming" was a Pentium 200MMX with 64mb ram and a 16mb generic 2d vid card... later upgraded to a 32 mb ati rage...
    Every normal man must be tempted at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
    I often wonder if the voices in my head ever get frustrated because I'm just too damn lazy to climb that clock tower.
    Click image to enlarge
    click image to view full version

  8. #8
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    It has to be a 386. I can't remember the specs, I was too young then. I played card game and adventure games on it.

    I remember there's this game where u press space bar and it means a 'punch'. I tapped the spacebar so much it broke.

  9. #9
    Regular Member KINGoFOOLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    413
    Comadore 64...lol
    AMD X2 4800+ AC freezer pro 64 cooler, ASUS A8N prem. 2G OCZ platinum PC3200, eVGA 8800GTS 640MB, 37G SATA Raptor, OCZ 700W PSU.

  10. #10
    ^_^ Illini25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Champaign, IL
    Posts
    8,128
    Quote Originally Posted by Izzo
    PIII 500mhz
    Same.

    IBM Aptiva 550.

  11. #11
    Between Light & Shadows Unholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Somewhere Over There
    Posts
    2,818
    IBM 386DX II, 300MB HDD, 4MB Ram, 2MB ISA Vid Card, and a 2400 baud modem with more dip sitches than I know what to do with. Had Windows 3.1 on it but I don't really recall using it since I can run my games in dos mode and that's what it booted up on. I remember playing Doom, Castlevania 3D, and Warcraft I/II on that thing.
    "I was once banned from a bookstore for moving all the bibles to fiction"

  12. #12
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    Pentium 60/1 mb onboard/ 16mb ram/win 3.11 @ $3k

    I played Doom and Myst, barely. I saw Quake on my bro in laws computer and tried it out on mine but it was a no go...then it began, the money pit of PC upgrading.

  13. #13
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    907
    Pentium 3 900Mhz, 16MB of RAM I think.

  14. #14
    Senior Member Blisster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    9,668
    Quote Originally Posted by Faust
    Apple IIc.

    came this ->||<- close to getting a PC jr. instead, but the keyboard was just too cheesy.
    I never owned one, but they had a few at the library you could go and use. Used to trade games on floppies (5 1/4"ers) with the other kids that played, like the original Castle Wolfenstein, Cannonball, Bolo, Lode Runner, etc. (all in delicious green or amber monochrome!)

    Then I got my own TRS-80 Color Computer 2 (with Extended Color Basic and 64K of memory!)

    Then my mom got a 386 IBM clone, on which I played X-Wing, Wolfenstein 3-D and some other titles I can't immediately recall)


    Quote Originally Posted by Edward Abbey
    A patriot must always be ready to defend his country against his government.

  15. #15
    Advanced Member SlyOneDoofy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    559
    Commodore 64......played ForbiddenForest (from a cassete drive that took 14 minutes to load), Pitfall, and the Hunchback of Notre dame. The stepped up to a 386 and played a Dragonlance game I had to rent that really didn't work.

    Edit: also played Pacman on the 386 and when you hit the "turbo button" on the case it ran the game too fast to play.
    Nutty like squirrel terds!!!

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1
    Packard Bell 486, 50mhz 8mb ram windows 3.11 later upgraded to 16mb of ram and windows 95

  17. #17
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    MS DOS 6.22,386 SX40 40mhz, 4mb ram,no idea how much space i had,4mb 3D voodoo video card
    i remember playing Dune2,Star wars,Wolfenstein 1,2,Defender of the crown,Doom,Golden Axe and Civilization.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  18. #18
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,893
    Quote Originally Posted by rivas
    MS DOS 6.22,386 SX40 40mhz, 4mb ram,no idea how much space i had,4mb 3D voodoo video card
    Those 3Dfx Voodoo cards didn't come out until mid-Win95 days...ran on Glide (an OpenGL lite API)..it couldn't run by itself as a stand along video card...only ran as a daughter card when a game utilized DX or Glide.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  19. #19
    Freak Gandalf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    ??????
    Posts
    2,491
    PII or something with 32mb ram or something with windows 95 and voodoo old card.
    Give me a fish, and you feed me for a day, teach me to fish and I won't be so damn lazy.

  20. #20
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Those 3Dfx Voodoo cards didn't come out until mid-Win95 days...ran on Glide (an OpenGL lite API)..it couldn't run by itself as a stand along video card...only ran as a daughter card when a game utilized DX or Glide.
    wrong,first one did work without win95,and there wasnt even win95 yet if i rememember right
    you are talking about the glide api and then etc etc and it stopped with voodoo5 64mb video card
    the first ones were working in dos enviroment,you just had to edit autoexec.bat and config.sys
    http://www.x86-secret.com/articles/d...0/v56kgb-2.htm
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3Dfx

    some of the games wasnt even compatible in windows95,you couldnt even play them i had to always go to DOS and start it from there.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

Similar Threads

  1. New all gay channel on direct tv
    By Zerohero in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 240
    Last Post: 08-25-08, 09:20 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-20-08, 06:22 AM
  3. Computer help desk :)
    By mmione in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-02-07, 06:45 PM
  4. Computer freeze when connected to SMCWBR14-G wireless router
    By amy6898 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-06-05, 10:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •