Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Msconfig to speed my PC

  1. #1
    Advanced Member ISKOTB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    681

    Lightbulb Msconfig to speed my PC

    startup program in msconfig how come I have stuff is not even installed in the system anymore is there is a way to clear it from there so I can find out what’s slowing my computer down?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    Uncheck the stuff you dont have installed anymore

    run ccleaner, do the registry issues scan.

    http://www.ccleaner.com/download/builds.aspx

  3. #3
    Advanced Member ISKOTB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    681
    Thanks is there is anything i can use to free up memory cause i'm working on this laptop it start slowing down i have a GB of RAM it feels like i have 128MB or something

  4. #4
    Junior Member MadDoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Looks dark
    Posts
    0
    Bad stick of memory?
    People will forget what you said... and people will forget what you did... but people will never forget how you made them feel.

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast Far-N-Wide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    His Tavern of Solitude
    Posts
    1,160
    http://www.tune-up.com Look for the Tune-up utility 2006. The file names >>> TU2006TrialEN.exe

    It will ask you for an email. I clicked past that without entering anything and got the file. This is a trial and will fix loads of stuff. It has a memory app that frees up ram. But clearing out msconfig (start up tab) will do a lot for you.

    If your PC will not connect after you cleaned out the start tab. just go back in and turn on options you may need to connect to internet. Dialups, firewalls or whatever is turned off that lets you on. Worst case, turn everything back on and your back where you started.
    USAF RETIRED

  6. #6
    Advanced Member ISKOTB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    681

    Lightbulb

    Thx

    Quote Originally Posted by Far-N-Wide
    http://www.tune-up.com Look for the Tune-up utility 2006. The file names >>> TU2006TrialEN.exe

    It will ask you for an email. I clicked past that without entering anything and got the file. This is a trial and will fix loads of stuff. It has a memory app that frees up ram. But clearing out msconfig (start up tab) will do a lot for you.

    If your PC will not connect after you cleaned out the start tab. just go back in and turn on options you may need to connect to internet. Dialups, firewalls or whatever is turned off that lets you on. Worst case, turn everything back on and your back where you started.

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    run adaware and spybot too, and if you didnt run the regular part of ccleaner do that first.

    maybe a defrag too.

    Heres a windows based memory tester too, http://hcidesign.com/memtest/

  8. #8
    Advanced Member ISKOTB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    681
    Thanks for all them tips
    so far i disabled unused startup item..etc tuned system up one thing while i'm working HDD light blink solid green why i guess it's taking up my RAM ??

  9. #9
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    As well as the above mentioned tweaks, and spyware removal it is possible it has the beginings of a bad HD or even a virus.
    Check into both just to be sure.

    Just recently I was working on a machine with a virus/trojan that started a service called Wins. Self replicating, and slowed the pc down to a crawl. Thought I would mention it just in case you're infected with it too.

    Also, look in the task manager, and see what proccess is taking all the cpu cycles.

  10. #10
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,895
    Run this to get a better look...

    http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/Autoruns.html

    Laptop...what hard drive speed? Many less expensive laptops will only have 4200rpm hard drives...making them excruciatingly slow.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. 1 PC out of 8 having speed issues
    By Brass in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-06, 11:56 AM
  2. TCP Optimizer issue
    By malaac in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-06, 10:34 AM
  3. Need Help Tweaking Please
    By duardo23 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-07-05, 12:59 AM
  4. older pc win95 Please help review my tweaks
    By 5MpstweakR in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 06-25-05, 05:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •