Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: To Many User Accounts?

  1. #1
    Member mandm6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78

    Question To Many User Accounts?

    Hi, I have a Hp media center computer m1180n. I just ran a program and it told me i should have a administrator account and maybe a guest account. If anything else, It should be deleted. Well it showed this..

    Administrator Yes
    ASPNET Yes
    Guest No
    HelpAssistant No
    HP_Administrator yes

    I checked user accounts and only see my Administrator account. My Guest account was off.
    Why would it say i had a ASPNET and a HP_Administrator account running also? They do not show up in the user accounts. Are thse other accounts normal?
    Thanks, Kevin

  2. #2
    Regular Member SherriBabee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Amboy, IL-USA
    Posts
    104
    Hi Kevin
    If you have the .NET Framework installed, the ASPNET is normal; but im not familiar with HP_Administrator.. thats a new one to me. The only users in the Users Account area that show are Administrator(s) and accounts that you personally setup... ASPNET, HelpAssistant, Creater does not show...

    Im sure someone else here will reply with more answers than me sweetie...


    Rgds
    Sherri
    Last edited by SherriBabee; 06-21-06 at 01:36 AM.

    Toshiba Satellite C655D-S5086,
    Win7 Home Prem x64, AMD M785 (RS880M) + SB810/SB850, 8gb Crucial, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series,
    Crucial MX300, 525 GB, SATA III SSD,
    Vizio E552VLE-55 inch TV, Logitech K260 wireless;
    Avast HE 7.0.xxxx, Firefox 56.0.2_x32, Windows Firewall, Router

  3. #3
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by mandm6
    Hi, I have a Hp media center computer m1180n. I just ran a program and it told me i should have a administrator account and maybe a guest account. If anything else, It should be deleted. Well it showed this..

    Administrator Yes
    ASPNET Yes
    Guest No
    HelpAssistant No
    HP_Administrator yes

    I checked user accounts and only see my Administrator account. My Guest account was off.
    Why would it say i had a ASPNET and a HP_Administrator account running also? They do not show up in the user accounts. Are thse other accounts normal?
    Thanks, Kevin

    Bro, download this from MS and run it.

    Post any questionable results. Or if it's all good say so too

    HP_Administrator... I assume that it has a pre-installed environment. Some admin account used to setup the box prolly, and you just don't see it listed... but you can log on as such iffen you have the right password. I'm guessing...

    Every time I get my hands on a HP, Compaq, Dell or whatever that has a hosed PE OS .. after I recover data, I wipe the mbr and install xp pro lol. I hate pre-installed

    I'm sure someone will come along in the morning w/ something more helpful.

    btw, I don't believe 2 admin accounts will generate a flag on the MS Baseline Security Analyzer. But I do not like the HP_Admin bit of it. I don't like mystery admin accounts.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  4. #4
    Member mandm6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettoside
    Bro, download this from MS and run it.

    Post any questionable results. Or if it's all good say so too

    HP_Administrator... I assume that it has a pre-installed environment. Some admin account used to setup the box prolly, and you just don't see it listed... but you can log on as such iffen you have the right password. I'm guessing...

    Every time I get my hands on a HP, Compaq, Dell or whatever that has a hosed PE OS .. after I recover data, I wipe the mbr and install xp pro lol. I hate pre-installed

    I'm sure someone will come along in the morning w/ something more helpful.

    btw, I don't believe 2 admin accounts will generate a flag on the MS Baseline Security Analyzer. But I do not like the HP_Admin bit of it. I don't like mystery admin accounts.
    Here is what i came up with after running it... Under Administrators, It has check marks in the score column for both the HPADMIN. and just ADMIN

    Computer name: WORKGROUP\ROCKET
    IP address: 192.168.1.100
    Security report name: WORKGROUP - ROCKET (6-21-2006 2-52 AM)
    Scan date: 6/21/2006 2:52 AM
    Scanned with MBSA version: 2.0.5029.2
    Security update catalog: Windows Server Update Services
    Catalog synchronization date:
    Security assessment: Incomplete Scan

    Security Updates Scan Results

    Issue: Security Updates
    Score: Unable to scan
    Result: Cannot communicate with Windows Update Agent service on target computer.


    Operating System Scan Results

    Administrative Vulnerabilities

    Issue: Local Account Password Test
    Score: Check passed
    Result: No user accounts have simple passwords.

    Detail:
    | User | Weak Password | Locked Out | Disabled |
    | Guest | - | - | Disabled |
    | HelpAssistant | - | - | Disabled |
    | SUPPORT_388945a0 | - | - | Disabled |
    | SUPPORT_fddfa904 | - | - | Disabled |
    | ASPNET | - | - | - |
    | Administrator | - | - | - |
    | HP_Administrator | - | - | - |
    Issue: File System
    Score: Check failed (critical)
    Result: Not all hard drives are using the NTFS file system.

    Detail:
    | Drive Letter | File System |
    | D: | FAT32 |
    | C: | NTFS |
    Issue: Password Expiration
    Score: Check not performed
    Result: This check was skipped because the computer is not joined to a domain.

    Issue: Guest Account
    Score: Check passed
    Result: The Guest account is disabled on this computer.

    Issue: Autologon
    Score: Check not performed
    Result: This check was skipped because the computer is not joined to a domain.

    Issue: Restrict Anonymous
    Score: Check passed
    Result: Computer is properly restricting anonymous access.

    Issue: Administrators
    Score: Check passed
    Result: No more than 2 Administrators were found on this computer.

    Detail:
    | User |
    | Administrator |
    | HP_Administrator |
    Issue: Windows Firewall
    Score: Best practice
    Result: Windows Firewall is disabled and has exceptions configured.

    Detail:
    | Connection Name | Firewall | Exceptions |
    | 1394 Connection 3 | Off* | Ports*, Programs*, Services* |
    | All Connections | Off | Ports, Programs, Services |
    | Local Area Connection 4 | Off* | Ports*, Programs*, Services* |
    Issue: Automatic Updates
    Score: Check failed (critical)
    Result: The Automatic Updates system service is not correctly configured.

    Issue: Incomplete Updates
    Score: Best practice
    Result: No incomplete software update installations were found.

    Additional System Information

    Issue: Windows Version
    Score: Best practice
    Result: Computer is running Windows 2000 or greater.

    Issue: Auditing
    Score: Best practice
    Result: This check was skipped because the computer is not joined to a domain.

    Issue: Shares
    Score: Best practice
    Result: 3 share(s) are present on your computer.

    Detail:
    | Share | Directory | Share ACL | Directory ACL |
    | D$ | D:\ | Admin Share | Directory ACL can not be read. |
    | ADMIN$ | C:\WINDOWS | Admin Share | BUILTIN\Administrators - F, NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM - F, BUILTIN\Users - RX |
    | C$ | C:\ | Admin Share | BUILTIN\Administrators - F, NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM - F, BUILTIN\Users - RX, Everyone - RX |
    Issue: Services
    Score: Best practice
    Result: Some potentially unnecessary services are installed.

    Detail:
    | Service | State |
    | Telnet | Stopped |

    Internet Information Services (IIS) Scan Results
    IIS is not running on this computer.

    SQL Server Scan Results
    SQL Server and/or MSDE is not installed on this computer.

    Desktop Application Scan Results

    Administrative Vulnerabilities

    Issue: IE Zones
    Score: Check passed
    Result: Internet Explorer zones have secure settings for all users.

    Issue: Macro Security
    Score: Check failed (non-critical)
    Result: 3 Microsoft Office product(s) are installed. Some issues were found.

    Detail:
    | Issue | User | Advice |
    | Microsoft PowerPoint 2000 | ROCKET\HP_Administrator | Macro security is set to medium, which will allow you to choose whether or not to run potentially unsafe macros. |
    | Microsoft Excel 2000 | All Users | No security issues were found. |
    | Microsoft Word 2000 | All Users | No security issues were found. |

  5. #5
    Regular Member SherriBabee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Amboy, IL-USA
    Posts
    104
    Kevin,

    you need to have these Services.msc running:

    'Remote Registry, Server Service, Workstation service" ... Try it again then

    Rgds
    Sherri

    p.s... MBSA.exe should ONLY need remote TCP port 80 open... Nothing else AND you can disable the "Remote Registry and Server Services" after your done with them... Workstation should always be on in XP

  6. #6
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    w/o me going any further tonite...

    I believe you can disable that HP_Admin account... but I'm confused... you can't see it in users from control panel, correct?

    I have a job interview in the morn, I have to get some sleep.

    Please... do not turn off or on any friggin services... I have what I wanted from the tool for now.

    I believe I read somewhere something about some hidden admin account in some HP's...

    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  7. #7
    Regular Member SherriBabee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Amboy, IL-USA
    Posts
    104
    GS,

    He does need those 2 services running tho for MBSA to work, I just ran it lastnite again to check stuff on my system...



    MBSA 2.0 FAQ

    Forget what it says about the PORTS other than TCP-80

    Rgds
    Sherri

  8. #8
    Member mandm6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by SherriBabee
    Kevin,

    you need to have these Services.msc running:

    'Remote Registry, Server Service, Workstation service" ... Try it again then

    Rgds
    Sherri

    p.s... MBSA.exe should ONLY need remote TCP port 80 open... Nothing else AND you can disable the "Remote Registry and Server Services" after your done with them... Workstation should always be on in XP
    I checked and those services are running....?

  9. #9
    Member mandm6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettoside
    w/o me going any further tonite...

    I believe you can disable that HP_Admin account... but I'm confused... you can't see it in users from control panel, correct?

    I have a job interview in the morn, I have to get some sleep.

    Please... do not turn off or on any friggin services... I have what I wanted from the tool for now.

    I believe I read somewhere something about some hidden admin account in some HP's...

    LOL..Ok you got it. Everything stays the same. I know what i can do with just a few minor changes and can't go that route anymore..

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    Those accounts all look normal to me.

    This is a prebuilt HP system?

    The HP admin is probably there to do some kinda HP backup and restore(to the condition it was purchased in) probably not needed for the install from the hidden partition though(assuming thats intact)

    ASP.NET like Sherri said gets created when you install .NET 1.1 basically never used, but I would leave it.

  11. #11
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Those accounts all look normal to me.

    This is a prebuilt HP system?

    The HP admin is probably there to do some kinda HP backup and restore(to the condition it was purchased in) probably not needed for the install from the hidden partition though(assuming thats intact)

    ASP.NET like Sherri said gets created when you install .NET 1.1 basically never used, but I would leave it.
    That's exactly what I'm thinking YoS- on all points.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  12. #12
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    I'm not familiar w/ HP recovery... like I said earlier, I wipe that PE crap out.

    I've run Compaq recovery a few times (and promptly deleted the OS and clean installed after I saw how they ran)

    anyway, both Compaq's had 2 options to recovery... Destructive or Non-Destructive. I have tried both, and they both suck.

    The non-destructive, it replaces some critical system files... and reinstalls all the apps, etc... AND you keep all your docs and pics and stuff.

    destructive puts it back like Day 1, all your data will be gone.

    Both times... the problems w/ the OS were not cured by the restore, which btw takes several hours on a 1.8Ghz AMD. Then ntldr is compressed and I had to look up the command line commands to decompress it in recovery console.

    Anway, do you have a pre-installed OS on that box? I assume you do as you didn't say otherwise when I asked earlier (or when I assumed that earlier lol).

    I agree w/ YoS, I think you can disable that account. If the recovery partition is intact, I do not beleive you will need to access that Hp_Admin account.

    You may also want to see if you can log in as HP_Administrator... and leave the password blank. If you can log on that way, you definately should kill that account, no admin account should ever be left with a blank password.

    before you delete that account, you may want to create a new password protected admin account first, then delete that HP one and delete your existing one. If you can't see that HP_Admin account in users....
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

Similar Threads

  1. User account problems in XP
    By mmione in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-03-06, 07:08 AM
  2. User "member Of" tab and error message
    By zillah in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-20-05, 03:34 PM
  3. User Accounts
    By YARDofSTUF in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-04-05, 08:10 AM
  4. User Profile Setup
    By scj6771 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-05, 01:05 PM
  5. HJT Log Pls Help
    By elroyjetson in forum Network Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-05, 12:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •