Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: missing hl.dll file,system wont boot

  1. #1
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248

    missing hl.dll file,system wont boot

    Stupid me i dont have boot floppy disk for my windows.I can get the file from my wifes computer but she is running fat32 and my system is on NTFS so even if i make boot floppy disk with file on it i cant copy it there.ANy ideas ? Thanks
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  2. #2
    Junior Member MadDoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Looks dark
    Posts
    0
    People will forget what you said... and people will forget what you did... but people will never forget how you made them feel.

  3. #3
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,338
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  4. #4
    R.I.P. 2013-11-22 blebs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    12,819

  5. #5
    Advanced Member SpareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Its chilly here...
    Posts
    642
    if its the Hal.dll file, your in a messy situation..

    That silly Hardware Abstraction Layer file can mess up too easily sometimes, BUT its not easy to fix..

    Best bet.. Repair install of the OS.. You MIGHT get lucky and be able to restore it from an older file but its normally pretty system specific so you'll need to recreate it via a Repair install. the benefit of repair install is that you'll not lose any data and if there were other files curropted too, then you'll fix them.. but you'll need to make a new profile and copy the old data from it to the new one.

    TonyT's fix above is accually quite good.. do that first! =) I didn't read into his link too much at first, but it gives a nice description of the Hal.dll file then tells you about how to fix it.. almost didn't see it..
    Beer, Pretzels, and a Monkey with a shotgun. Dare I ask for more?

    SYSTEM A / system b
    INTEL P4 3.06Ghz / intel p4 2.53Ghz
    INTEL D865PERL / intel d845pebt2
    1GB DDR3200 OCZ RAM / 512MB 2700 ram
    ATI RADEON 9800 PRO 128/ pny ti4400
    SEAGATE SATA 7200 80Gb / maxtor 7200 100Gb
    SB AUDIGY GAMER/ onboard sound
    XP Pro on both

  6. #6
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    Bios reset did fix it
    thank you all
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  7. #7
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    sorry guys but i have same problem again (different comp) but this time sometimes the system starts and sometimes it says HAL.dll is corrupted or missing.
    Using win xp pro
    Asus M2N32-SLI deluxe mobo and AM2 FX-62 cpu.
    I was reading the links ,i tryed everything and i cant figure out the problem.
    Any suggestions ? Thanks
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,990
    What are the CPU temps in bios?

    Is the CPU at stock speed? What voltage?

    Have you tried it with 1 stick of ram?

  9. #9
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    What are the CPU temps in bios?

    Is the CPU at stock speed? What voltage?

    Have you tried it with 1 stick of ram?
    the temps are around 48-50 degree celsia
    yes its at stock speed,not sure what voltage
    no i didnt try it with 1 stick of ram
    reinstalled windows 4th time,same ****,HAL.dll missing or corrupt
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,990
    i'd make sure the voltage on the cpu is correct for the chip and try removing ram. Or do a memtest.

  11. #11
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    i'd make sure the voltage on the cpu is correct for the chip and try removing ram. Or do a memtest.
    its fixed
    it was IDE controller
    i have there one raptor 10000rpm and 2 ide 20gb
    so i removed the ise drives and installed everything on raptor.
    then i added ide controller with both drives and its working like charm
    btw its unbelievable fast,didnt try encode there anything yet wanna see how fast it really is compare with this EE smithfield
    weirdest thing is it recognized 4gb ram in windows 32 i cant believe it

    PS: the only thing i dont like is the mobo,it looks like piece of sh|t,i had 2 choices and i picked the more expansive one but both were looking same,this is my first amd after umm 10 years?
    I love intel,the P5WD2-E premium compared with M2N32-SLI deluxe mobo is like comparing gold with tar heh.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

Similar Threads

  1. cant boot up drive
    By Randy in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-27-06, 07:01 AM
  2. Ghost 8 + Network Boot Disk
    By glc1 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-05, 11:43 AM
  3. Need help with Windows XP Boot (sp1)
    By Mytflyguy in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-05, 10:26 PM
  4. Cant boot main pc
    By wee96 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-02-05, 09:12 PM
  5. Disk Boot Failure Error
    By chugger93 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-05, 07:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •