Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Reason #999999999998 Why comcast sucks

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    24

    Reason #999999999998 Why comcast sucks

    LiveAssist Transcript

    Print Copy Close
    chat id : e28746c9-1b9b-48f7-b7fa-13fde07e398d
    Problem : Connection/Other
    Chelsea > Please wait, while the problem is escalated to another analyst
    Ryan > Thank you for contacting Comcast. My name is Ryan. May I have your name and how may I assist you today?
    Cesar > Cesar. I seem to be getting packet loss ranging from 1 percent to 3 percent and my internet went out completely yesterday. Also this whole week its been acting up. The last time a technician came the problem was fixed but the day after it got messed up again.
    Cesar > Everytime a technician comes the problem is fixed but when they leave it starts up again. Could you run some test on my line?
    Cesar > I just ran another test and it gave me 8 percent packet loss this time.
    Ryan > I would be happy to look into this for you.
    Ryan > I just need to verify security on the account. May I please have the account number or the last four digits of the account holder's social security number?
    Cesar > ###removed###
    Cesar > Account number: ###removed###
    Cesar > Ping statistics for 67.191.92.1:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 92, Lost = 8 (8% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 7ms, Maximum = 26ms, Average = 9ms
    Ryan > Could I get you to ping comcast.net please?
    Cesar > i did a tracert to comcast aswell
    Cesar > 1 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms 73.12.160.1
    2 8 ms 7 ms * GE-1-13-ur01.southdade.fl.pompano.comcast.net [6
    8.86.161.145]
    3 8 ms 6 ms * 10g-9-4-ur01.coralgables.fl.pompano.comcast.net
    [68.86.164.25]
    4 7 ms * 8 ms 10g-9-4-ur01.miamimetro.fl.pompano.comcast.net [
    68.86.164.21]
    5 7 ms * 8 ms 10g-9-3-ar01.miamimetro.fl.pompano.comcast.net [
    68.86.164.17]
    6 7 ms 7 ms * PO-2-ar01.northdade.fl.pompano.comcast.net [68.8
    6.164.2]
    7 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms 12.124.85.17
    8 44 ms 43 ms 43 ms 12.123.33.22
    9 50 ms 49 ms 51 ms tbr1-cl1474.attga.ip.att.net [12.122.12.121]




    Cesar > 10 47 ms 51 ms 55 ms tbr2-cl17.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.122.10.69]
    11 50 ms 50 ms 49 ms tbr2-cl15.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.10.53]
    12 47 ms 45 ms 48 ms ar1-p30.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.123.0.53]
    13 48 ms 47 ms 48 ms mdf1-gsr12-2-pos-7-0.nyc3.attens.net [12.122.255
    .162] 14 49 ms 49 ms 444 ms sccsbix12-1-6.attbi.com [63.240.64.50]
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 49 ms 49 ms 48 ms www.comcast.net [63.240.76.72]
    Cesar > Almost done pinging
    Cesar > Ping statistics for ###removed###:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 95, Lost = 5 (5% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 71ms, Maximum = 104ms, Average = 73ms
    Cesar > High ms and packet loss isnt a very good combo.
    Ryan > The times that you are receiving are fine, anything under 150 is considered good.
    Ryan > Under ten percent packet loss is also within the acceptable parameters for comcast.
    Cesar > How should i get the other 2 percent so my line can finally be fixed for once and for all?
    Ryan > Is the cable modem plug into a power bar or surge protector?
    Cesar > surge protecter
    Ryan > Try plugging it into the wall directly.
    Cesar > And if that doesnt fix it?
    Ryan > Contact us if you see over ten percent packet loss on a consistent basis.
    Cesar > So basicly if i get upto 9 percent constant packet loss you wont do anything about it?
    Ryan > We could have another technician come out.
    Ryan > Try connecting the modem to the wall for a day or two and keep running tests.
    Cesar > They all say the same thing that my line is fine and the test show nothing.
    Ryan > If it is still bad, contact us again.
    Cesar > Ok, Thanks.
    Ryan > Thank you for contacting Comcast. Have a great day.
    Ryan > Analyst has closed chat and left the room
    Cesar > You too.


    Ya so basicly i cant get my line fixed if i dont get 10 percent packet loss XD

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    First thing to try...change any splitters you have.

    I removed your account number and last 4 numbers of your social..no sense if having that right in a public forum so people can screw with your account.

    Call a few times, they'll have someone come out and check your line.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    24
    opps lol

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Angry Modem problems along with other comcast problems


    During the past week or 2 My cable modem does not work either unless I plug it directly into the wall. I can't have cable and internet at the same time. Apparently comcasts signal is not strong enough.
    Since they switched from Adelphia ( loved it) to Comcrust (hate it) my service sucks and the price has nearly doubled. I could have a new car payment instead of cable.
    Now everytime I want to get onto the internet I must unscrew all of the cable wires. I have two DVRS the extra one is $21 a month !!!! That 2nd box is going needless to say. I can't even have even ONE connected or the internet cable modem does not work. So I have to unscrew the cable wires and attach the cable modem directly to the main cable wire.
    Also for about 3 months I did not recieve A LOT of the channels I should have been, mainly in the 100's like all the discovery channels, Oxygen, G4, Logo, Noggin, Nick jr, NIck2 etc.................... This was on both of my DVRs but they(cust care) said it must be the boxes, what are the chances? Then they started working again about a month later when they changed the channel line up. The On Demand did not work at all for months I thought that maybe I had to pay for it now. Then all of the sudden it worked on only ONE of the DVR digital boxes and still doesn't work on the other. I'm paying almost $200 a month yes that's not a typo for 2 Dvr boxes, free hbo and starz for 1 year and highspeed internet. When I had Adelphia I was paying about $108 for the same thing. WEll I only had 1 DVR box but they only charged $7 for an extra not $21 like comcrust. Also I was paying for my HBO and Starz with Adelphia and it still was much less.
    Then after calling about my internet cable modem problem even though they did not help me, I actually figured it out by myself after I hung up to plug it in directly to the main cable wire, The lady at comcrust says and I quote "Have a Comcastic DAY!

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,982
    New car apyment for 50 bucks? heh, crappy car

    Chat tech support sucks, always call.

    If the singal is not strong enough tell them and have them send a tech out.

  6. #6
    Member syknesss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    65
    sounds like both of u have either a bunch of splitters or a bad drop or something outside......make sure the modem is ran off a 2 way splitter or a dc-6 right off the drop coming in from outside if its not theres your problem,if it is you have something wrong outside or maybe a bad modem

    if you guys hate comcast so much why not get something else?

    90% of modem service calls are from crappy interior wiring or radioshack splitters
    Dell XPS Gen 5,P4 3.2 With HT,1 GB pc3200 DDR Ram 512x2,NVIDIA GeForce 6800 256MB,SB Audigy 2 z5,160GB HD,19 LCD.....

Similar Threads

  1. THIS , is why comcast sucks...
    By AnionWeed in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 72
    Last Post: 10-31-11, 05:34 AM
  2. Comcast / Wireless Router problem
    By ggprotect in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-14-10, 03:03 PM
  3. Comcast 6meg Tweaks
    By WittyKitty in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-05, 06:56 PM
  4. Comcast Upgrade:8mbps/2mbps & 14mbps/4mbps
    By Aznboy in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-05, 09:01 AM
  5. Comcast to offer Tivo software on DVR boxes
    By Indy in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-16-05, 04:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •