Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: FX-62 on s939?

  1. #1
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,051

    FX-62 on s939?

    http://www.guru3d.com/news.html#3966

    I read there that its said that the FX-62 chip will be made for the socket 939 so you won't have to upgrade whole mobo and ram along with it.. anyone else heard or read this anywhere else?

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Heard rumors that it might be on both M2 adn 939, nothing solid though.

  3. #3
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    I was just reading in Maximum PC you need new mobo since all the new AM2 are using DDR2.
    Not sure if its true tho
    But that FX62 isnt dual core,correct me someone if i'm wrong,AM2 Windsor is dual core but its cheaper,i dont know.

    http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...^10756,00.html
    http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=2610
    Last edited by Rivas; 06-07-06 at 01:13 PM.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    The FX60 was dual core so the FX62 should be, guess well find out when its on sale.

  5. #5
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    How loud are the fans for AMD cpus ?
    Same as intel ?
    My wife got old S478cpu 3.0ghz intel and the fan is so loud she hates it and she is complaining all the time that im spending all the money only on my comp so i bought her that AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 2.6GHZ 2000FSB 2X1MB 90NM with ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe ATX AM2 Nforce 590 SLI 2PCI-E16 1PCI-E4 1PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 1394.
    I hope its not gonna be so loud dont feel like water cooling that cpu too.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  6. #6
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,051
    I had the stock HSF for my FX-55 and it was a loud sucker.. I water cooled it and I love how quiet it is now

    as for the FX-62 yes it is dual core and so far I've been reading that it will not be supported for 939 which pisses me off to no ends.. so I reckon the most I'm goingto do with this rig is update to the 60 in a few weeks and just wait till the 1st part of the year and build another one

  7. #7
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700
    I had the stock HSF for my FX-55 and it was a loud sucker.. I water cooled it and I love how quiet it is now

    as for the FX-62 yes it is dual core and so far I've been reading that it will not be supported for 939 which pisses me off to no ends.. so I reckon the most I'm goingto do with this rig is update to the 60 in a few weeks and just wait till the 1st part of the year and build another one

    damn
    i need some cheap water cooling kit then lol
    well whats the difference between ;

    AMD Athlon 64 FX-62 Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 2.8GHZ 2000FSB 2X1MB L2 Cache 90NM Retail Box this one is around $1700 and the 2nd one around $1400

    and


    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 2.6GHZ 2000FSB 2X1MB 90NM Retail Box


    why it doesnt say on the first one its dual core ?I was reading dual cores operate always at lower frequency.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Stock fan shouldnt be loud if its the 4 pipe heatpipe cooler.

  9. #9
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Stock fan shouldnt be loud if its the 4 pipe heatpipe cooler.
    i hope so lol
    what about the cpus ,is the first one (fx62) dual core ?
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    The reason that before the dual cores had a lower mhz was becasue they had more cache, I think the 5200+ has the same cache, so the FX62 needs more mhz to be faster.

  11. #11
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    The reason that before the dual cores had a lower mhz was becasue they had more cache, I think the 5200+ has the same cache, so the FX62 needs more mhz to be faster.
    But $400 bucks difference ?
    Is it really worth it ?
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  12. #12
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Quote Originally Posted by rivas
    But $400 bucks difference ?
    Is it really worth it ?

    FX series is always overpriced, the FX series is like Intel's EE series.

  13. #13
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    FX series is always overpriced, the FX series is like Intel's EE series.
    So you are saying its not worth it.
    I bought that AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 2.6GHZ 2000FSB 2X1MB 90NM but i dont wanna end up with some sh|t cpu.I rather spend few more bucks but after reading AMD boards people are saying its not worth it.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  14. #14
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Ya I'll probably never buy the FX series.

  15. #15
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Ya I'll probably never buy the FX series.
    damn i was googling and yahooing for couple of hours and there is so small performance difference between the FX series and the AM2 Windsor 2.6GHZ its really not worth it.
    Last edited by Rivas; 06-08-06 at 01:27 AM.
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  16. #16
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,051
    the difference of the two is that the FX chips are "Hand picked" as in the best cores..... the others are just any that roll off the press thus allowing for better OCs,stability,performance,less heat etc..

    you can debate speeds and what ever but this is how they are different. I think its worth the extra to go to the FX chips.. I'll stick with them till another flag ship processor is released by AMD

  17. #17
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,257
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700
    the difference of the two is that the FX chips are "Hand picked" as in the best cores..... the others are just any that roll off the press thus allowing for better OCs,stability,performance,less heat etc..

    you can debate speeds and what ever but this is how they are different. I think its worth the extra to go to the FX chips.. I'll stick with them till another flag ship processor is released by AMD
    im propably stupid but i did the upgrade for the FX62 cpu
    i was always buying top of the line i dont know why i didnt do it this time
    wife is gonna have better pc then me
    oh not really i just upgraded to 8gb of ram she is gonna stick with 4gb
    i will be using her computer for encoding anyway,i have to wait 1 more week before i can pick it up
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •