Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 25 of 25

Thread: opening a cable box?

  1. #21
    Resident Rodent Randy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    12,001
    the thing that pisses me off is that most homes cable outlets go to this box which seems to exclusive for the "cable co". If ever i build another house I will put in another box right beside the cable box and put my own lock on it.

    anything they hookup will go thru about 6 inches of coax before it hits my box containing a switchboard for coax and cat5

    I was going to post a link to that thread, but the SG search results for "bullsh|t" were too numerous

    sometimes you have to think outside the box to get inside the box .

  2. #22
    R.I.P. 2017-10-02 Joint Chiefs of Staff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    The Sandbox
    Posts
    42,832
    Quote Originally Posted by Randy View Post
    the thing that pisses me off is that most homes cable outlets go to this box which seems to exclusive for the "cable co". If ever i build another house I will put in another box right beside the cable box and put my own lock on it.

    anything they hookup will go thru about 6 inches of coax before it hits my box containing a switchboard for coax and cat5
    The reason for the lock boxes is basically for two reasons.

    1. So the average Joe Smoe doesn't screw something up which will warrant a call to tech support for a I&R tech to respond.

    2. To keep the installation and repair crews employed

    >>Cult Master of International Affairs<<

  3. #23
    SG Enthusiast Think's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2,283
    I have the same box but I also have the tool to open it. Basically, the tool creates pressure within the metal, round chamber - clasping it and allow you to turn it counter clockwise. If you were a neighbor, I'd do it for you.
    got old



  4. #24
    Resident Rodent Randy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    12,001
    Quote Originally Posted by Think View Post
    I have the same box but I also have the tool to open it. Basically, the tool creates pressure within the metal, round chamber - clasping it and allow you to turn it counter clockwise. If you were a neighbor, I'd do it for you.
    maybe you are my neighbour wher abouts in acanada are ya?

    I was going to post a link to that thread, but the SG search results for "bullsh|t" were too numerous

    sometimes you have to think outside the box to get inside the box .

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Skyline_R34 View Post
    Hey I have the same cable box as the picture but it has that stupid lock on it that just spins and spins. I was told I could us a bic pen but how. If you need a pic let me know and I will post 1
    My cable box had a Gilbert locking terminator on it (the one that keeps spinning) and after much effort, I finally got it open. I squeezed some super glue into the sleeve of the terminator and then inserted a hex key all the way to the back...let it dry for 20 minutes or so and then turned it easily to remove the lock.

    PS - don't use too much super glue or it won't dry properly.

    Worked like a charm for me, hope it works for anyone who reads this.

    Ciao!

Similar Threads

  1. Router Cable Modem connection problems
    By mrglouie in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-14-09, 01:50 PM
  2. Cable saavi gurus get in here!
    By dialmybutt in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-19-02, 09:05 PM
  3. Is it possible to share a Cable modem, using only a hub?
    By gtcrispy in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-23-01, 12:16 AM
  4. Ultraband update
    By dannjr in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-10-01, 11:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •