Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Settings Question: Optimal or Custom???

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    38

    Question Settings Question: Optimal or Custom???

    OS: XP (sp2)
    ISP: SBC Yahoo! (1500/256)
    Connection: Direct Modem; VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter


    Hi,

    I just installed TCP Optimizer 2.0.3 and used the "OPTIMAL SETTINGS" for 1500 kbps connection speed. After a few speed tests, I noticed NO increase in my down speed.

    Is there another way to approach this (CUSTOM SETTINGS???)....or is the "optimal settings" the recommended way to go with this program?

    Also when running the tests, it shows my "Estimated TCP Overhead" @ 1280 kbps. Is this the MAX speed that I get or is it the advertised 1500?

    Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck
    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 240
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    VERY IMPORTANT TO DO THE FOLLOWING:
    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need. For a stand alone pc all you need is Internet Protocol TCP/IP.
    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections - LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.
    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer and set your duplex mode to "auto". If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.
    4. Clean out your temporary internet files with CrapCleaner.
    5. Power cycle your modem i.e. unplug it for at least 15 seconds.
    6. Download, update and scan with SpyBot S&D 1.4 EXACTLY as mnosteele has explained HERE & Ad-Aware SE 1.06 EXACTLY as mnosteele has explained HERE to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster 3.4 to stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES. If these 2 programs find a lot of things then please post a HijackThis 1.99.1 log for us to look at.
    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in our Help & Tips page.
    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it and search your pc for the left over files.
    9. Install Kerio Personal Firewall 2.1.5, it's FREE and uses next to no resources.
    10. Do a FREE online virus scan from Kaspersky Webscan, make sure to check the option to use the EXTENDED DATABASE.
    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates.

    8) ;D
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Member kinkymaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Between the legs !
    Posts
    72
    Also, for SP2, it is necessary to do this
    The truth is, in there........!!!

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by kinkymaster
    Also, for SP2, it is necessary to do this
    i want to know. what does this do? and why should it be necessary?

  5. #5
    Member kinkymaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Between the legs !
    Posts
    72
    Did u read the article ?
    The truth is, in there........!!!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by kinkymaster
    Also, for SP2, it is necessary to do this
    Is this something that is recommended for SP2 users??? I've never heard of this "tweak" before. Will it make a difference? Thanks.
    Last edited by MakaveLLi; 04-20-06 at 11:19 PM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee
    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck
    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 240
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    Hi,

    Thanks for your time and help. I tried the above changes and my speed remained the same (sometimes a bit slower). Any other suggestions? Below is the Analyzer test. Thanks.


    TCP properties for IP = XX.XXX.XXX.XXX ()
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; YComp 5.0.0.0; SV1; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.

    TCP options string = 020405ac0103030101010402

    MTU = 1492
    MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.

    MSS = 1452
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising your MTU value.

    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 96096
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 1 bits (scale factor of 2)
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 48048

    RWIN is not fully optimized (even though it is a comparatively large number). The unscaled RWIN value is lower than it should be. Also, RWIN being close to and above 65535 does not justify the header overhead of enabling TCP 1323 Options. You might want to use one of the recommended RWIN values below.

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 3843.84 kbps (480.48 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1537.536 kbps (192.192 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 52 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by MakaveLLi; 04-21-06 at 12:32 AM.

  8. #8
    Member kinkymaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Between the legs !
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by MakaveLLi
    Is this something that is recommended for SP2 users??? I've never heard of this "tweak" before. Will it make a difference? Thanks.
    Quote Originally Posted by Faction
    i want to know. what does this do? and why should it be necessary?
    xp sp2 limits the TCP simultaneous connections to 10/sec. This patch change the limit to 50/sec. Increases your throughout and browsing.
    The truth is, in there........!!!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by kinkymaster
    xp sp2 limits the TCP simultaneous connections to 10/sec. This patch change the limit to 50/sec. Increases your throughout and browsing.
    Thanks for the info. Just downloaded and ran the patch. All worked well. Thanks.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by MakaveLLi
    TCP properties for IP = XX.XXX.XXX.XXX ()
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; YComp 5.0.0.0; SV1; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.

    TCP options string = 020405ac0103030101010402

    MTU = 1492
    MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.

    MSS = 1452
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising your MTU value.

    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 96096
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 1 bits (scale factor of 2)
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 48048

    RWIN is not fully optimized (even though it is a comparatively large number). The unscaled RWIN value is lower than it should be. Also, RWIN being close to and above 65535 does not justify the header overhead of enabling TCP 1323 Options. You might want to use one of the recommended RWIN values below.

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 3843.84 kbps (480.48 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1537.536 kbps (192.192 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 52 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

    Can someone explain to me what this means (from the Analyzer Test):

    RWIN is not fully optimized (even though it is a comparatively large number). The unscaled RWIN value is lower than it should be. Also, RWIN being close to and above 65535 does not justify the header overhead of enabling TCP 1323 Options. You might want to use one of the recommended RWIN values below.

    Also I have NOT noticed any speed difference with TCP Optimizer (using optimal or mccoffee's settings). Below are my current settings (optimal)....can it be TWEAKED any differently??? Thx.

    General Tab:

    Connection Speed: 1500 kbps
    MTU: 1500 (although it shows up as 1492 in the tests?)
    TTL: 64
    TCP Receive Window - 128480
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:

    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 10
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - blank
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - blank
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 16384

  11. #11
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    use the settings I gave above with out scailing see how the speeds are now
    Comptia a+ n+

  12. #12
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,530
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by MakaveLLi
    Can someone explain to me what this means (from the Analyzer Test):

    RWIN is not fully optimized (even though it is a comparatively large number). The unscaled RWIN value is lower than it should be. Also, RWIN being close to and above 65535 does not justify the header overhead of enabling TCP 1323 Options. You might want to use one of the recommended RWIN values below.
    You're using RWIN of 96096.... Just as it says... the RWIN (Max TCP Receive Window) is optimal when multiple of MSS. However, TCP headers support a single 16 bit (up to 65535) value (refered to as Unscaled RWIN by the Analyzer), and the way TCP uses larger RWIN is by multiplying the unscaled RWIN values... There is some overhead from enabling the multiplier and other TCP Options. So if you're using a RWIN value close above 65535, the increase in throughput will be offset by the overhead from enabling TCP Options.


    Quote Originally Posted by MakaveLLi
    Also I have NOT noticed any speed difference with TCP Optimizer (using optimal or mccoffee's settings). Below are my current settings (optimal)....can it be TWEAKED any differently??? Thx.
    You can use the TCP Optimizer-recommended, the Analyzer recommended, or what Mccoffee suggested, whavever works well for you. If you don't see any difference, I'd go with the TCP Optimizer suggested optimal settings.

    At the end, remember that you are also limited by your ISP's feed, so no amount of tweaking on your end will go over what they're able to provide.

    I hope this helps
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  13. #13
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,530
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by kinkymaster
    Also, for SP2, it is necessary to do this
    Well, it is only "necessary" if you're using P2P programs, or running servers that open a lot of outgoing connections at the same time. Windows SP2 limits the rate at which it opens new connections to 10 per second, the total number of existing open connections can still be much higher.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    38
    You're using RWIN of 96096.... Just as it says... the RWIN (Max TCP Receive Window) is optimal when multiple of MSS. However, TCP headers support a single 16 bit (up to 65535) value (refered to as Unscaled RWIN by the Analyzer), and the way TCP uses larger RWIN is by multiplying the unscaled RWIN values... There is some overhead from enabling the multiplier and other TCP Options. So if you're using a RWIN value close above 65535, the increase in throughput will be offset by the overhead from enabling TCP Options.
    Pardon my ignorance, but can this setting be changed/modified through TCP Optimizer? Under "TCP Receive Window"...the current value is 128480. Is this the same as RWIN or something different? What is the optimal RWIN for my connection and how do I chane it?

    Thanks.

  15. #15
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,530
    Blog Entries
    6
    RWIN is the same setting as the TCP Optimizer's "TCP Receive Window"... If the current value in the Optimizer is 128480, and the Analyzer is reading the correct IP address (yours, rather than some proxy server) it should be the same number in the Analyzer...

    Make sure you have rebooted since you changed it in the Optimizer, and that your correct IP is read by the Analyzer...

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip
    RWIN is the same setting as the TCP Optimizer's "TCP Receive Window"... If the current value in the Optimizer is 128480, and the Analyzer is reading the correct IP address (yours, rather than some proxy server) it should be the same number in the Analyzer...

    Make sure you have rebooted since you changed it in the Optimizer, and that your correct IP is read by the Analyzer...
    I did reboot when applying the changes. I ran the analyzer test again, and the RWIN value is now 96096 (though it still shows up as 128480 in TCPO) and also the MTU value shows up as 1492 (while it's set as 1500 in TCPO).

    Are the changes made not in TCP Optimizer NOT being saved...or could a "traffic shaping" program that I have running called cFosSpeed be overriding these changes?
    Last edited by MakaveLLi; 04-22-06 at 08:24 PM.

  17. #17
    Member kinkymaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Between the legs !
    Posts
    72
    if u re using cfosspeed(whatever) i think that u dont have to put in the optimizer the TOS values because that program changes the TOS "on air"
    otherwise u can just put the exacts values that mcoffee gaves u (I mean exactly), get a speed test and if u are not "happy" with the results, post here an analyzer test and mcoffee will give u the perfect values. Follow the easy way without playing with the values by yourself so mcoffee Philip or some other guy here, can help u
    The truth is, in there........!!!

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by kinkymaster
    if u re using cfosspeed(whatever) i think that u dont have to put in the optimizer the TOS values because that program changes the TOS "on air"
    otherwise u can just put the exacts values that mcoffee gaves u (I mean exactly), get a speed test and if u are not "happy" with the results, post here an analyzer test and mcoffee will give u the perfect values. Follow the easy way without playing with the values by yourself so mcoffee Philip or some other guy here, can help u
    I entered mcoffee'c value exactly as written. Below is the new analyzer test for those settings:

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

    Browser/OS = Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.2) Gecko/20060308 Firefox/1.5.0.2
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.
    TCP options string = 020405ac0103030101010402
    MTU = 1492
    MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1452
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising your MTU value.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 96096
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 1 bits (scale factor of 2)
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 48048

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 3843.84 kbps (480.48 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1537.536 kbps (192.192 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 53 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

  19. #19
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,530
    Blog Entries
    6
    It seems you have something interfering with the RWIN value... Have you tried turning off cFosSpeed and rebooting, do you get the same result in the Analyzer ?

Similar Threads

  1. Are these settings optimal?
    By Djordache in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-02, 11:52 PM
  2. Question about building custom case
    By Bill or Will in forum Cases & Modding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-25-02, 10:49 AM
  3. A Question About Intel Pro/100 VE NIC Advanced Settings
    By CaptainSpeleo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-21-02, 05:50 AM
  4. question about rwin settings
    By kriminull in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-16-01, 08:20 PM
  5. Question about lan settings
    By BlaZeR2 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-14-01, 01:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •