Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: New in gamming,need some help

  1. #1
    Regular Member Cable Vision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    121

    Thumbs up New in gamming,need some help

    Hi guys,am new in online games,i must download games and play them alone but recently i built this new PC,with a very amazing Visiontek(ATI X1300) with 512MB and some other hardware for gamming,but i dont know how to use this game servers,someo ne can teach me i little,thank,s and excuse my english
    Speed like a Ferrari Maranello,this is Cable Modem http://cureblindnessnow.com/journal/60/logo.jpg

  2. #2
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,154
    usually each game will have their own way to join online games. Mostly built into the interface. alot of the demos even have multi enabled.
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast 7thkevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,870
    or u can download gamespy



    http://www.gamespyarcade.com/

  4. #4
    Regular Member Cable Vision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by 7thkevin
    or u can download gamespy



    http://www.gamespyarcade.com/
    thanks,how it work,i need a subcription ok but when i pay my subcription am able to play without download the games? i need help for understand this game servers.
    Speed like a Ferrari Maranello,this is Cable Modem http://cureblindnessnow.com/journal/60/logo.jpg

  5. #5
    IROC-Z Man CoolJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    6,825
    Edit, think I understood that wrong.

    When you use gamespy, you can only play games that you have on your PC.
    Last edited by CoolJ; 04-03-06 at 02:36 AM.
    ** Speed 3370(down)/425(up) kbps **
    My IROC-Z28

  6. #6
    Regular Member Cable Vision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by CoolJ
    Edit, think I understood that wrong.

    When you use gamespy, you can only play games that you have on your PC.
    oh ok,thanks
    Speed like a Ferrari Maranello,this is Cable Modem http://cureblindnessnow.com/journal/60/logo.jpg

  7. #7
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    Quote Originally Posted by Cable Vision
    Hi guys,am new in online games,i must download games and play them alone but recently i built this new PC,with a very amazing Visiontek(ATI X1300) with 512MB and some other hardware for gamming,but i dont know how to use this game servers,someo ne can teach me i little,thank,s and excuse my english
    The X1300 is not amazing, it is a very low-end video card, the 512MB framebuffer you have on it is useless on that level of card, makes no difference. Obviously your budget dictates what you can get, but just realize that card is not amazing in terms of gaming performance.

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast 7thkevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,870
    Quote Originally Posted by Cable Vision
    thanks,how it work,i need a subcription ok but when i pay my subcription am able to play without download the games? i need help for understand this game servers.

    and you dont have to pay for it either there is a free option

    and you can only play if you legelay bought the game if you downloaded it from someware and used a keygen it wont work

  9. #9
    Regular Member KINGoFOOLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent
    The X1300 is not amazing, it is a very low-end video card, the 512MB framebuffer you have on it is useless on that level of card, makes no difference. Obviously your budget dictates what you can get, but just realize that card is not amazing in terms of gaming performance.

    Ouch...
    AMD X2 4800+ AC freezer pro 64 cooler, ASUS A8N prem. 2G OCZ platinum PC3200, eVGA 8800GTS 640MB, 37G SATA Raptor, OCZ 700W PSU.

  10. #10
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,154
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent
    The X1300 is not amazing, it is a very low-end video card, the 512MB framebuffer you have on it is useless on that level of card, makes no difference. Obviously your budget dictates what you can get, but just realize that card is not amazing in terms of gaming performance.

    dang bro, kick a man in the nutsack!

    I think its good that he enjoys his card. Might not be top of the line but it seems to get the job done for him! Too bad we don't all have 7800's SLI'd!
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  11. #11
    Regular Member Cable Vision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent
    The X1300 is not amazing, it is a very low-end video card, the 512MB framebuffer you have on it is useless on that level of card, makes no difference. Obviously your budget dictates what you can get, but just realize that card is not amazing in terms of gaming performance.
    Speed like a Ferrari Maranello,this is Cable Modem http://cureblindnessnow.com/journal/60/logo.jpg

  12. #12
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    Quote Originally Posted by RoscoPColtrane
    dang bro, kick a man in the nutsack!

    I think its good that he enjoys his card. Might not be top of the line but it seems to get the job done for him! Too bad we don't all have 7800's SLI'd!
    I was just correcting him, he said:

    with a very amazing Visiontek(ATI X1300) with 512MB
    Which is not accurate, the card is not "amazing" and the fact that he got one with 512MB of RAM means he didn't know what he was buying, he wasted money on a higher framebuffer for that GPU.

  13. #13
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    Perspective, man, perspective. It may not "amaze" you, but you make it sound as if the card is worthless or something.

    And I may be in the minority, but if said card allows you to play and enjoy some games, that's more than enough to satisfy me. Lacking every single bell and whistle doesn't prevent a game from being fun.

  14. #14
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    I'm not going to waste anymore time on this post, if you don't get it well then I guess you don't get it, your money.
    Last edited by Brent; 04-04-06 at 01:20 AM.

  15. #15
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    The comments had less to do with the veracity of your post and more with your demeanor.

    But if it helps to label me as a "n00b" (as you did before you edited your post), then go right ahead.

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent
    I was just correcting him, he said:



    Which is not accurate, the card is not "amazing" and the fact that he got one with 512MB of RAM means he didn't know what he was buying, he wasted money on a higher framebuffer for that GPU.
    Amazing is not a technical specification - it is a perspective; a marketing attribute. If upgrading from onboard video, it may be in fact amazing.
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  17. #17
    EvilAngel search team ace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Emerald Triangle looking for EA and some trainwreck!
    Posts
    5,203
    What you guys fail to realize is that brent is an ahole and he doesnt know how to talk to people because of his sheltered life. All the guy does is test hardware and he is probably as pink as a baby mouse. He would burn like a vampire in the sunlight, if he were to ever go out in it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •