Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: TCP Analyzer Questions and Feedback

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Advanced Member chpalmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kitsap co. Wa
    Posts
    552
    Wondering if anyone else has problems with thier ISP and port 8080?? I can reach it fine in the ISP's network but not outside of it...
    Never take any crap off an inanimate object!!

    Never send email to this address: spam@euclidian.com. This is a spam trap and everyone sending any email to this address will be blacklisted.

  2. #2
    the analyzer isn't working for me right now

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11

    Talking Question about MTU value

    Hi Philip,
    I used your tool , it seems good but I have some questions.
    1. MTU value:
    Here is my result:
    MTU = 1472
    MTU is not fully optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput. If you are using a router, it could be limiting your MTU regardless of Registry settings.


    Why this tool can know the MTU value is 1472 . I donot know where to config the MTU value on my system, with Ethernet the default MTU value is 1500byte.

    2. MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON => Please explain how your tool can detect that Path MTU discovery was turned on

    I'm looking for your answers.
    Thanks in advance !

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,342
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by cutebabe
    Hi Philip,
    I used your tool , it seems good but I have some questions.
    1. MTU value:
    Here is my result:
    MTU = 1472
    MTU is not fully optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput. If you are using a router, it could be limiting your MTU regardless of Registry settings.


    Why this tool can know the MTU value is 1472 . I donot know where to config the MTU value on my system, with Ethernet the default MTU value is 1500byte.

    2. MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON => Please explain how your tool can detect that Path MTU discovery was turned on

    I'm looking for your answers.
    Thanks in advance !
    The TCP Analyzer looks at the TCP/IP packets coming from you to our server. It analyzes the TCP/IP headers, and extracts the MTU/MSS/RWIN... etc. values directly from there. In other words, it reports what is actually in the packets traveling on the internet.

    MTU value is editable from within the Windows Registry for every network adapter, you can also use our TCP Optimizer tool. Note that regardless of Registry settings, routers on the line can also modify the MTU.

    As for your second question about MTU discovery, again, it all depends on what your computer reports during the TCP/IP handshake with the Analyzer server.

    I hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Philip
    The TCP Analyzer looks at the TCP/IP packets coming from you to our server. It analyzes the TCP/IP headers, and extracts the MTU/MSS/RWIN... etc. values directly from there. In other words, it reports what is actually in the packets traveling on the internet.

    MTU value is editable from within the Windows Registry for every network adapter, you can also use our TCP Optimizer tool. Note that regardless of Registry settings, routers on the line can also modify the MTU.

    As for your second question about MTU discovery, again, it all depends on what your computer reports during the TCP/IP handshake with the Analyzer server.

    I hope this helps.
    Thanks for your help. But I have more questions

    1. Where is the MTU placed in protocol header ? As I know it is one value in Network Interface configuration. Is it true ?

    2. If I use Ethernet(default MTU = 1500) and I change the MTU value in my registry, what will happen ?

  6. #6
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,342
    Blog Entries
    6
    I'm not sure I understand the relevance of your first question, but... The MSS is placed in the Tcp1323 Options (option 2) of the TCP header, and MTU is in the IP header (starting at the 16th bit ?). What is in the headers, and the MTU can't be modified directly from the Network Interface configuration. There can be, however, a MTU entry in the Windows Registry for each network device.

    As to the second question: Ethernet supports packet sizes from 64 bytes to 1500 bytes (actually ~1518), so it will support 1472 as well as 1500. The 1472 in your case might be caused by a broadband router, if you haven't already modified the Windows Registry, so the better path would be to look through your router/modem's management interface for a way to increase it, rather than modifying Windows down to 1472.

  7. #7
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,342
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Faction
    the analyzer isn't working for me right now
    There was a temporary problem on the 12th, we had to restart it. Thanks for the feedback.

  8. #8
    Junior Member girish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    13

    Question

    TCP optimizer is not working.
    how to backup TCP registry?
    plz replay soon.

  9. #9
    I think its broken, when I click on the button I go to http://www.speedguide.net:8080/ but all I see is a blank screen.

  10. #10
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,342
    Blog Entries
    6
    The Analyzer server had locked up, thanks for bringing it up to our attention! Should be running now.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

Similar Threads

  1. TCP Optimizer v.2 - Beta
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 05-23-05, 10:32 AM
  2. Questions about a LAN party network
    By Ver17 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-22-04, 06:39 PM
  3. Few Questions for my Earthlink DSL..
    By detroitmadden in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12-04-03, 02:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •