Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Nero Problem

  1. #1

    Nero Problem

    I want to copy a 240 mintue disc, but I am having a little problem with Nero. Here is the problem, a window pops up and says


    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    I am trying to post an image of the problem, but it looks like I am going to have to type the problem.

    "There is not enough space to burn this compilation onto this disc"

    "Please insert another disc that provides more space"

    "Data to be written 7,736MB"
    "Space available 5,120MB"

  3. #3
    This window pops up when I put the 240 minute disc in.

  4. #4
    P/T Pagan God thepieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn , New York
    Posts
    13,400
    In nero there is an option for Overburn. Go in and check the settings to make sure you have it enabled and not disabled


    If you open Nero it will be Under File/Preferences/Expert Features


    Enable Overburn




    Pie
    SG Pimp Name : *Treacherous P. Shizzle*
    *
    The fight for our way of life needs to be fought on our own soil, for our own people and because of our own interests.
    *
    Hey, If Me & My Buddies Were Making Billions of Dollars I'd Tell Ya What Ya Wanted To Hear Too!

  5. #5
    ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ downhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    My Own Private Idaho
    Posts
    34,796
    Looks to me that your trying to write a 7.8 meg file on a regular DVD.

    If that's the case you either need to shorten it, or use a duel layer DVD if your burner supports it.

  6. #6
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    Quote Originally Posted by thepieman
    Enable Overburn
    I understand a few megs, but a couple gigs of overburn? Not going to work here...

  7. #7
    P/T Pagan God thepieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn , New York
    Posts
    13,400
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim
    I understand a few megs, but a couple gigs of overburn? Not going to work here...
    Well it can't be 7gb of data. No CD would hold that much. Im thinking he means Its 700MB CD and the data is 707MB the CD has 5MB of space left so he can do a 2MB overburn.



    Pie
    SG Pimp Name : *Treacherous P. Shizzle*
    *
    The fight for our way of life needs to be fought on our own soil, for our own people and because of our own interests.
    *
    Hey, If Me & My Buddies Were Making Billions of Dollars I'd Tell Ya What Ya Wanted To Hear Too!

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Quote Originally Posted by thepieman
    Well it can't be 7gb of data. No CD would hold that much. Im thinking he means Its 700MB CD and the data is 707MB the CD has 5MB of space left so he can do a 2MB overburn.



    Pie

    Talking DVDs here, 240min.

  9. #9
    P/T Pagan God thepieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn , New York
    Posts
    13,400
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Talking DVDs here, 240min.
    ahhhh duh sorry.
    SG Pimp Name : *Treacherous P. Shizzle*
    *
    The fight for our way of life needs to be fought on our own soil, for our own people and because of our own interests.
    *
    Hey, If Me & My Buddies Were Making Billions of Dollars I'd Tell Ya What Ya Wanted To Hear Too!

  10. #10
    When I enable the overburn option. I window says the following.

    "This compilation contains too much data to on the disc with respect to the normal disc capacity. Do you want to overburn writing at your own risk? (This
    might cause read errors at the end of the disc or even damage your recorder.)

    Required capacity: 852:35.56 7,494MB
    Total capacity on disc: 582:32.40 5,120MB

    "Note SCSI/ATAPI errors may also occur at the end of the simulation or burning. "

    Is the risk worth it? or Is my computer lacking the necessary amount of RAM?

  11. #11
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Quote Originally Posted by Frodo Baggins
    When I enable the overburn option. I window says the following.

    "This compilation contains too much data to on the disc with respect to the normal disc capacity. Do you want to overburn writing at your own risk? (This
    might cause read errors at the end of the disc or even damage your recorder.)

    Required capacity: 852:35.56 7,494MB
    Total capacity on disc: 582:32.40 5,120MB

    "Note SCSI/ATAPI errors may also occur at the end of the simulation or burning. "

    Is the risk worth it? or Is my computer lacking the necessary amount of RAM?

    You're trying to fit 7 gigabytes on a 4.7 gigabyte disc, on on a DL disc that already has stuff on it.

    You need a DL DVD, thats a 8.5gigabyte disc, but that only works if your DVD burner will use DL discs.

  12. #12
    Regular Member jmw1137's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Highland Village, TX
    Posts
    249
    Use DVD Shrink...it will compress something that would take up a dual-layer DVD into something that will fit on a regular DVD.

  13. #13
    Junior Member MadDoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Looks dark
    Posts
    1
    DVD shrink!
    People will forget what you said... and people will forget what you did... but people will never forget how you made them feel.

  14. #14
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,169
    Or try another program besides NERO. There are several out there that do the compression for you.

    Tks
    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

Similar Threads

  1. Severe lag problem - @Hom Arlington, VA
    By sfgorman in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-25-06, 06:53 PM
  2. Nero 7.x Ultra edition
    By TonyT in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-03-06, 04:55 PM
  3. Nero 7 Ultra Edition released...
    By Chachazz in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-27-05, 12:40 AM
  4. new CD burner problems using nero in WinXP
    By non-VTEC in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-28-02, 07:31 PM
  5. My first problem
    By Shagster in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-02, 02:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •