Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: New MoBo

  1. #1
    Regular Member scj6771's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Windsor, NY
    Posts
    230

    New MoBo

    Ok how about these boards? Which would you have in your rig? (if any) My budget is limited and the price is right on these.

    Gigabyte GA-K8N Pro-SLI
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128301

    MSI K8N SLI-F
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130527

    Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
    http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/...3d1-k8nxp.html

    MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI
    http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...4_Platinum/SLI

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by scj6771
    Ok how about these boards? Which would you have in your rig? (if any) My budget is limited and the price is right on these.

    Gigabyte GA-K8N Pro-SLI
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128301


    this is the one I would pick...seems to be a better built Mobo.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by scj6771
    Ok how about these boards? Which would you have in your rig? (if any) My budget is limited and the price is right on these.

    Gigabyte GA-K8N Pro-SLI
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128301
    I just bought this board a few days ago. Haven't tested it out yet, though.

  4. #4
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    I'd go with Gigabyte GA-K8N Pro-SLI
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128301

    I've had two Gigabyte mobos (both used of course, us ghetto dwellers are poor lol) and I have a Gigabyte WAN that I bought new.
    I was pleased with those boxes, and the WAN card.
    Another point in Gigabyte favor is they have real good support- I'm a flasher of BIOS, and Gigabyte has an outstanding support section. Even BIOS for old boards are still provided.
    I've had a few other boards, like ALi for example, and they don't have squat for support.
    If you ever need to flash your BIOS for compatability with a new OS (like XP on old boards) it's nice to have the BIOS update freely available on the manufacturer's site. Also, Gigabyte mobos BIOS are pretty good, they have plenty of config options.
    Otherwise you have to pay for a BIOS upgrade, AMI and Award start at about $50, $35 if you don't buy the upgrade right away, they'll get desperate to sell you a BIOS after about 3 weeks and offer it a little cheaper. of course in those cases I usually try to get the BIOS update elsewhere, like from driver guide, but you then run the risk of getting the wrong bios, if you can even find a listing for your mobo. I did get a wrong one once, but the checksum was wrong so I was saved from killing the board.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    I agree with the Gigabyte SLI too.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Mikerad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    48
    I've got the K8n Neo4 Platinum (non-SLI), and it's been great for me.
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+
    MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
    2x512 Corsair TwinX pc3200 in Dual Channel
    Chaintech GeForce 6600gt
    NEC ND3520 Dual-layer Burner
    2x80GB Seagate SATA HDD
    AeroCool JetMaster Case (black)
    Athena Power 500w PSU

  7. #7
    Regular Member scj6771's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Windsor, NY
    Posts
    230
    Ok I have decided to go with the ASUS A8N-E with the following memory
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145575

    Thought? Comments? What CPU would you recommend?

  8. #8
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    good buy and choice on ram.

  9. #9
    Regular Member KINGoFOOLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    413
    I was going to say go with a Asus. If your not gaming you could cut back a gig of ram.


    Take a look at this CPU

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539
    Last edited by KINGoFOOLS; 05-05-06 at 06:10 PM.
    AMD X2 4800+ AC freezer pro 64 cooler, ASUS A8N prem. 2G OCZ platinum PC3200, eVGA 8800GTS 640MB, 37G SATA Raptor, OCZ 700W PSU.

  10. #10
    Regular Member scj6771's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Windsor, NY
    Posts
    230
    Wow....that's one sweet CPU!!

    I am looking to build a gaming rig, I will not be OC and would like to put together a machine that will run games like F.E.A.R without fail. After I decide on a CPU, I will make a decision on a PCIe card.

    Not sure on a total price, (my budget is somewhat limited) I will be purchasing each component as I have the cash for each.

  11. #11
    Regular Member scj6771's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Windsor, NY
    Posts
    230
    Ok, here is what I have so far, please let me know if you think I could save some cash by choosing another CPU and power supply. I still have not made a decision on a video card as of yet.

    Memory
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145575

    Mothorboard
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530

    CPU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539

    Case
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133143

    Power Supply
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817163111

  12. #12
    Regular Member KINGoFOOLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    413
    You can save a little with this PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194003 Its the same one that I run, very happy with it. Thats a real good deal on the memory after rebate.
    AMD X2 4800+ AC freezer pro 64 cooler, ASUS A8N prem. 2G OCZ platinum PC3200, eVGA 8800GTS 640MB, 37G SATA Raptor, OCZ 700W PSU.

  13. #13
    Regular Member scj6771's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Windsor, NY
    Posts
    230
    Ok I made a few changes, indeed I was over my "budget", I changed the:

    1. Case
    2. PSU
    3. CPU
    4. Decided on 1 gig of memory instead of 2

    Memory
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820145450

    Mothorboard
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530

    CPU
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103535

    Case
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811133145

    Power Supply
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817103932

    Couple of questions:

    1. Will I gain anything from a full tower over a mid tower other than space? (I really wanted a full tower) Any suggestions on a decent black case?
    2. Will that CPU give me the "power" I need? (this will be my first AMD build)
    2. What about PSU? Enough power?
    3. What about this card:
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814131008

    Are you going to use the old harddrive(s)?
    I think so, I have a couple of 200GB drives, should I consider SATA?

  14. #14
    Advanced Member SpareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Its chilly here...
    Posts
    642
    Quote Originally Posted by scj6771
    Ok I made a few changes, indeed I was over my "budget", I changed the:

    1. Case
    2. PSU
    3. CPU
    4. Decided on 1 gig of memory instead of 2

    Memory
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820145450

    Mothorboard
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530

    CPU
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103535

    Case
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811133145

    Power Supply
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817103932

    Couple of questions:

    1. Will I gain anything from a full tower over a mid tower other than space? (I really wanted a full tower) Any suggestions on a decent black case?
    2. Will that CPU give me the "power" I need? (this will be my first AMD build)
    2. What about PSU? Enough power?
    3. What about this card:
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814131008


    I think so, I have a couple of 200GB drives, should I consider SATA?


    Check out this CPU.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103600
    Yes it an opteron, but it performs just like athlon 64. Its a little bit more but only by 18$.. The big difference is the l2 cache, its double the athlon 64. The Opteron will perform much faster then the athlon cause of that l2 cache difference. And according to Asus' site. It will work with the MB you've selected.


    to answer your questions..
    1. Full Vs Mid.. Size only means room to work and possibly more fans to cool. for some its crucial, for others.. not so.

    2. CPU Either one, the one i sugested or the one your looking at.. will do the trick.

    3. PSU is perfect.

    4. For Vidcards do you perfer ATI or Nvidia? I'm not too familar with the Powercolor brand ATI cards.. dunno how good they really are. ATI stock cards in general are great, but some 3rd party cards may not be so..

    Same Chip just a little cheaper.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102013 and by a brand i do know.. Sapphire makes some good cards from what i've seen..
    Last edited by SpareX; 05-07-06 at 09:23 AM.
    Beer, Pretzels, and a Monkey with a shotgun. Dare I ask for more?

    SYSTEM A / system b
    INTEL P4 3.06Ghz / intel p4 2.53Ghz
    INTEL D865PERL / intel d845pebt2
    1GB DDR3200 OCZ RAM / 512MB 2700 ram
    ATI RADEON 9800 PRO 128/ pny ti4400
    SEAGATE SATA 7200 80Gb / maxtor 7200 100Gb
    SB AUDIGY GAMER/ onboard sound
    XP Pro on both

Similar Threads

  1. Power supply/ mobo issue - I'm stumped !
    By westy in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-28-05, 07:58 PM
  2. OK one more mobo question
    By Cameron203 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-31-02, 05:26 PM
  3. best athlon xp mobo.............!
    By Christopher561 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-04-02, 08:28 AM
  4. This can get a little complicated! MOBO ISSUE
    By Joint Chiefs of Staff in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-02-02, 05:07 PM
  5. Ok, new mobo and no hd showin up?
    By jdblitz in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-02-01, 01:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •