Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: computer crashing problem

  1. #1
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,831

    computer crashing problem

    The past couple of weeks I've been having an odd problem with my system either restarting all by itself or, 75% of the time, restarting when I tell it to shut off.

    XP Pro
    P4 1.8
    512 MB RAM
    Using OutPost, f@h, AVG

    I've gotten a single error messgae of IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    The rest of the time it just restarts itself at random, or when I choose the shut down option it just restarts instead.

    No hardware changes recently, any advice appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    In control panel, admin tools, check event viewer for any errors.

    Another thing to try is a memory test in case thats goign bad, and good news, I jsut learned of a windows based one, so no need to make a boot disk with memtest86

    http://hcidesign.com/memtest/

    Also, take a look inside your case, if its gotten very dusty it could be a dust/heat issue.

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,846
    Right-click My Computer, properties, Advanced, Startup and Recovery Settings, uncheck the Automatically Restart option. That will give you the errors when it crashes instead of just restarting.

    The error you posted is video related.

  4. #4
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,831
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    In control panel, admin tools, check event viewer for any errors.

    Another thing to try is a memory test in case thats goign bad, and good news, I jsut learned of a windows based one, so no need to make a boot disk with memtest86

    http://hcidesign.com/memtest/

    Also, take a look inside your case, if its gotten very dusty it could be a dust/heat issue.

    Well memtest made the system bluescreen in about .9 seconds

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt
    Well memtest made the system bluescreen in about .9 seconds
    Well thats not good! That quick try running the memtest86 just to be safe, or if you have more than one memory module, remove one and run the test again, if its fine, switch the sticks and run it again.

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,909
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt

    I've gotten a single error messgae of IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUALThanks

    That's usually driver related...if you can get to the rest of the error (there's more than just that one line)..you'll see which driver.

    If not....go for just updating all your drivers. Get the latest drivers for everything you have....everything...from the motherboard chipset..on up.

    If you can uninstall prior versions..uninstall them first before putting in the latest ones. Any old hardware you replaced or upgraded recently? If so...did you fully uninstall/remove the drivers before physically removing the device?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Is this with that new gig of RAM installed?

    It could be a driver, but RAM can cause all kinds of errors on anything. If you havent changed the video driver since this problem started I would keep working on the memory.

  8. #8
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,831
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Is this with that new gig of RAM installed?

    It could be a driver, but RAM can cause all kinds of errors on anything. If you havent changed the video driver since this problem started I would keep working on the memory.
    No, haven't installed the new RAM yet.

    Only thing I've changed would be the second hdd I put in for a couple days maybe 2 weeks ago, then took back out.

    I'm on my lunch break right now but will start following up on everyone's suggestions this evening if I can stay sober long enough

    thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated

  9. #9
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,831
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Well thats not good! That quick try running the memtest86 just to be safe, or if you have more than one memory module, remove one and run the test again, if its fine, switch the sticks and run it again.
    What's the difference between memtest and memtest86?

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt
    What's the difference between memtest and memtest86?

    memtest86 is done from a bootable floppy, memtest i believe will work with windows running, and seems to have a following of people saying it works better.

  11. #11
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Overheating? Fans ok?

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,876
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt
    No, haven't installed the new RAM yet.

    Only thing I've changed would be the second hdd I put in for a couple days maybe 2 weeks ago, then took back out.

    I'm on my lunch break right now but will start following up on everyone's suggestions this evening if I can stay sober long enough

    thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated
    Did you Clear CMOS - and re-set It could Be a bad IDE cable to hard drive ?

    Duz
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

  13. #13
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,831
    Quote Originally Posted by Duzmor
    Did you Clear CMOS - and re-set It could Be a bad IDE cable to hard drive ?

    Duz

    Been a while...do I remove the battery?

    I'll recheck all the cables tonight, thanks for the advice.

  14. #14
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,876
    Quote Originally Posted by Humboldt
    Been a while...do I remove the battery?

    I'll recheck all the cables tonight, thanks for the advice.
    Un-plug the power cable (No Power to the Board) and Just Move the jumper to Clear - You will have to go back in the Bios to set-up

    Duz
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

Similar Threads

  1. Is your son a computer hacker?
    By General_Jack_As in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-03-05, 07:53 PM
  2. Computer problem that I need help with
    By Juggernaut in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-26-03, 12:43 AM
  3. Computer won't start?
    By Rouse in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-03-03, 08:04 AM
  4. BIOS Explained
    By mwkirchner in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-21-02, 01:21 AM
  5. problem: explorer crashing, please help
    By stryder2929 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-06-01, 09:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •