Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: I need some help tweaking!

  1. #1

    I need some help tweaking!

    I need some help tweaking my ADSL connection. Downloads are pretty fast but my web browsing with FF is sorta slow. The package I got from bellsouth is the 1.5down 256/up for $32.95. I downloaded the TCP Optimizer and used the optimal settings button and restarted. I know my browsing can be faster than it is now. Can anyone reccomend any tweaks at all...?

    specs:
    windows xp pro w/ SP2
    1gig ram
    1.2 amd athlon
    using onboard ethernet connected to a wireless router (802.11b/g)


    Here are my analyzer stuff
    TCP options string = 020405a401010402
    MTU = 1484
    MTU is somewhat optimized for broadband. If you're not on a PPPoE DSL connection that limits packet size, consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1444
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1444, which equals MSS.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 43560
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 43560

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    508288 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    254144 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127072 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63536 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1742.4 kbps (217.8 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 696.96 kbps (87.12 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 116 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)


    These are my analyzer results after resetting everything to default
    MTU = 1492
    MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1452
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising your MTU value.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 65535

    Note: TCP 1323 Options need to be enabled for RWIN over 2^16 (65535). Windows 9x might also need the MS Vtcp386 fix.
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 116 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = OFF
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by Faction; 02-18-06 at 09:51 AM.

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    What modem do you own your mtu is off try thease reboot take anohter analyzer.

    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window -blank
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck
    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 240
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect



    VERY IMPORTANT TO DO THE FOLLOWING:

    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need. For a stand alone pc all you need is Internet Protocol TCP/IP.

    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections - LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.

    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer and set your duplex mode to "auto". If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.

    4. Clean out your temporary internet files with CrapCleaner.

    5. Power cycle your modem i.e. unplug it for at least 15 seconds.

    6. Download, update and scan with SpyBot S&D 1.4 EXACTLY as mnosteele has explained HERE & Ad-Aware SE 1.06 EXACTLY as mnosteele has explained HERE to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster 3.4 to stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES. If these 2 programs find a lot of things then please post a HijackThis 1.99.1 log for us to look at.

    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in our Help & Tips page.

    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it and search your pc for the left over files.

    9. Install Kerio Personal Firewall 2.1.5, it's FREE and uses next to no resources.

    10. Do a FREE online virus scan from Kaspersky Webscan, make sure to check the option to use the EXTENDED DATABASE.

    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates.


    8) ;D
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    my DSL is also PPPoE.

    I own the Westell 6100

    Some sidelines:
    Browser used is Firfox.
    Firewall currently using is Zone Alarm (free).
    regularly clean my PC with Ad-Aware.
    I downloaded the TCP Optimizer program and chose Optimal Settings, MTU went from 1492 to 1484 but it seemed faster than with 1492

    Web browsing is the slowest! Download is fast
    Last edited by Faction; 02-18-06 at 06:13 PM.

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Could a web proxy server be at work here?

  5. #5
    nope. its the westell modem connected to the WAN PORT of my wireless router and i have my computer connected via ethernet.

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    A web proxy server that belongs to your ISP.


    This is my TCP Analyzer report:

    TCP properties for IP = xx.xx.xxx.xx ()
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.1) Gecko/20060111 Firefox/1.5.0.1
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.
    TCP options string = 020405a40103030101010402
    MTU = 1484
    MTU is somewhat optimized for broadband. If you're not on a PPPoE DSL connection that limits packet size, consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1444
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1444, which equals MSS.


    When I do ping tests to find my largest MTU, I always get 1492.

    This means my comp is sending out packets at 1492 even though the readings becomes 1484 after passing through my ISP's web proxy server.

  7. #7
    so me seeing 1484 is normal after its tweaked? BUT my main problem is slow web broswing. Download is fine. its in the range of 130-1600. but thts also because i share my internet via wireless. I did some speed tests using speakeasy w/ all the settings to windows default @ 1492, it goes from 500's kbps range and jumps to around 1100-1225 range. i think thats normal for my 1.5 connection?

    i a
    Last edited by Faction; 02-19-06 at 11:32 PM.

  8. #8
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Faction, your MTU was correct above at 1492, you need to change it back. Also, the most likely cause of your slow web surfing is Zone Alarm, it SUCKS and will slow your connection and pc down, I would suggest trying Kerio 2.1.5.


  9. #9
    so when i did modify my settings using the optimal button in the optimzer it was right? even though it was at 1484? everything is back to original windows settings. it's 1492 right now. should i keep it modified where it was at 1484 or unmodified where it was at 1492?

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Use the custom setting on TCP Optimizer and do the following:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window -63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck
    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 240
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  11. #11
    trogers, this is what i got after i used those settings you told me.I also forgot to ask, where do i put the connection speed slider? But damn it does seem ALOT faster than before!Another weird thing was that after doing these settings, Myspace Music didn't load, but it did ONCE. Any reasons why? It works on my other computers that don't have this tweak

    try it: http://music.myspace.com/index.cfm?f...92A66890564296

    MTU = 1484
    MTU is somewhat optimized for broadband. If you're not on a PPPoE DSL connection that limits packet size, consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1444
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1444, which equals MSS.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 65535

    Note: TCP 1323 Options need to be enabled for RWIN over 2^16 (65535). Windows 9x might also need the MS Vtcp386 fix.
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    508288 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    254144 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127072 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63536 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 52 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by Faction; 02-20-06 at 11:25 AM.

  12. #12
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Perhaps some settings are disagreeable with your comp setup. Download Cablenut Adjuster from www.cablenut.com and enter the following values into the respective fields, Save to Registry, exit and reboot comp:

    DefaultReceiveWindow = 63888
    DefaultSendWindow = 31944
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 200
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 480
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 640
    LargeBufferSize = 819200
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 150400
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 12800
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = blank
    EnableFastRouteLookup = blank
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitsOnReceive = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = 31944
    MaxFreeTcbs = blank
    MaxHashTableSize = blank

    MaxNormLookupMemory = blank
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts = 0
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 2
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize = 31944
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 240

  13. #13
    adsl fast or adsl normal? and should i revert to normal xp settings then apply the cablenut stuff?

    EDIT! these analyzer results look the same as xp default settings.The music link on myspace still doesn't work, it works on my other computers though...weird
    heres my speed test results from speakeasy


    Down: 1225kbps Up: 209kbps Thats about average and pretty normal for my 1.5 connection and 256 up. Will increasing my RWIN number make my connection and web browsing faster? or is 63888 good?

    MTU = 1492
    MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1452
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising your MTU value.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 63888
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 63888

    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44) <-- current value
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 2555.52 kbps (319.44 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1022.208 kbps (127.776 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 52 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by Faction; 02-20-06 at 06:08 PM.

  14. #14
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    No need to revert to XP setting. Also, you do not need to use ASDL fast or normal since the values given to you have been custom made.

    Did you test speed during low traffic period (usually 3-6am)? In cablenut setting, you can try using Default Receive Value of 127776 and Tcp13230pts - 1.

    As for Myspace, try uninstalling it, clean registry and then reinstalling it.
    Last edited by trogers; 02-20-06 at 07:18 PM.

  15. #15
    uninstall the settings i made with cablenut?

  16. #16
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    LOL...uninstall MySpace, clean your registry and then reinstall. Have you check for spywares? They will eat off part of your speed as well. Use these 2 freeware to check:

    http://www.ewido.net/en/

    http://www.prevx.com/prevxhome.asp

  17. #17
    ooo i can't uninstall myspace its a website. its when i click on their music part of the site its blank..but not on my other computers its weird. i scan every other day for spyware using adaware and crap cleaner

  18. #18
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    If the browser does not display the website or part of it, the reason lies with your browser security settings on Script and Active X. For instance, if you use FireFox extension (NoScript), you have to allow websites to display scripts or else you get blanks in boxes where script is running.

    TCP Optimizer and Cablenut just make some changes to your WIN registry concerning TCP and AFD parameters. They do not make adjustments to security settings.

  19. #19
    sweet everything is good, but does increasing my RWIN do anything?

  20. #20
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    RWIN controls the size of your bandwidth pipe. Too small, and your speed is limited. Too large and you face slowdown from packet losses and retransmissions.

    A guide to appropriate RWIN value is this formula:

    RWIN = bandwidth x latency divided by 8

    Usually if you are in USA, latency does not get above 150 ms. So RWIN of 63888 is appropriate for a bandwidth of 1-2 Mbps. If you are overseas and have higher latency of 250-300 ms, then RWIN of 127776 is appropriate.

    Also RWIN should be a multiple of MSS. So 63888 = 1452 x 44 and 127776 = 1452 x 44 x 2

Similar Threads

  1. SG Tweaking programs, tools and links
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-12, 11:14 AM
  2. Please Help: Tweaking Problems
    By CCCrispie in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-30-05, 11:44 PM
  3. I need help tweaking W/XP Pro for gaming
    By atman in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-30-02, 10:23 AM
  4. When asking for help with tweaking please do the following.
    By earthmofo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-04-02, 08:06 AM
  5. new member> speed tweaking
    By jb.reptilekeep in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-29-01, 04:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •