Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Wiring my neighborhood....Fios

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast RicRogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Denton, Texas
    Posts
    1,670

    Wiring my neighborhood....Fios

    Yep...within a month I should have Verizion FIOS. They say the connections are 16MB down/5MB up.

    I AM NEVER MOVING.

    WooHoo
    Horizon Web Design

    Are you Saved??? Click here to find out how you can be.

  2. #2
    meat popsicle Zilog B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    10,530
    Wow. How much per month, and will they let you run a gaming server?
    My son ... ask for thyself another internet connection, for that which I leave is too slow for thee

  3. #3
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934
    Dude, I envy you!! I can't wait for FIOS!!!
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast RicRogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Denton, Texas
    Posts
    1,670
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Wow. How much per month, and will they let you run a gaming server?
    $45 per month for 15MB/2MB

    $175 per month for 30MB/5MB

    I hope they let me run a gaming server. Can you run a Ranked BF2 server from you home? That would rock.
    Horizon Web Design

    Are you Saved??? Click here to find out how you can be.

  5. #5
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    that's DSL right

    gotta have a phone provider?

  6. #6
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent
    that's DSL right

    gotta have a phone provider?
    It's like DSL on steroids! LOL
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  7. #7
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934
    Quote Originally Posted by RicRogue
    $45 per month for 15MB/2MB

    $175 per month for 30MB/5MB

    I hope they let me run a gaming server. Can you run a Ranked BF2 server from you home? That would rock.
    Those rates are insane! I can't wait!!
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast RicRogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Denton, Texas
    Posts
    1,670
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent
    that's DSL right

    gotta have a phone provider?
    Fiber Optics not DSL

    Are they wiring near your house yet? They already have most of the northern suburbs wiried and running.

    And no, it is not related to your phone provider.
    Horizon Web Design

    Are you Saved??? Click here to find out how you can be.

  9. #9
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934
    They're not coming to my hood for quite a while
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  10. #10
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    Quote Originally Posted by RicRogue
    Fiber Optics not DSL

    Are they wiring near your house yet? They already have most of the northern suburbs wiried and running.

    And no, it is not related to your phone provider.
    How does it work? I'm not familiar with it at all.

    The fiber comes into your house? is converted to RJ45? need a modem or just a NIC in your PC? can you use a router with it?

    I'll have to do some research since I know nothing about it

  11. #11
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    I just read up on their website, I live in an apartment so I doubt I have that option, heh. Comcast for me still, which still isn't too bad 8mbps/256kbps

  12. #12
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934
    Verizon is also gettin into TV....they're merging with DirectTV...........I may be switching providers soon!
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent
    How does it work? I'm not familiar with it at all.

    The fiber comes into your house? is converted to RJ45? need a modem or just a NIC in your PC? can you use a router with it?

    I'll have to do some research since I know nothing about it

    Newegg

  14. #14
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,898
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent
    How does it work? I'm not familiar with it at all.

    The fiber comes into your house? is converted to RJ45? need a modem or just a NIC in your PC? can you use a router with it?

    I'll have to do some research since I know nothing about it
    Not too different equipment wise compared to fiber optic network equipment...how'd you'd connect routers and switches to fiber right now. Just a tranceiver/bridge interface.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Prey521
    Verizon is also gettin into TV....they're merging with DirectTV...........I may be switching providers soon!

    you think time warner is bad? verizon customer service is one of the worst i ever had in this field

Similar Threads

  1. Here's an odd one...PDC stops showing in Network Neighborhood
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-23-02, 05:04 PM
  2. Network Wiring
    By joe435 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-28-01, 05:01 PM
  3. Network Neighborhood cant find clients
    By smaier69 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-12-01, 02:59 PM
  4. questions about network wiring and power wiring
    By supercool in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-25-01, 08:39 PM
  5. DSL and house wiring questions etc.
    By sirchmastah in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-04-01, 10:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •