Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: soldier of fortune 2 help. online play

  1. #1

    soldier of fortune 2 help. online play

    hello.

    Both of my computers have cox cable and the connection is routed thru a dsl/cable router.


    Problem.
    when i play soldier of fortune II online it works perfect,but when my wife joins into a game i lose my connection and get connection interruption and i time out.Same deal if she is palying online.

    i did not have this problem when i had a Simple hub we both could play online in the same server! whats going on, right after i got this router the problem started up and i want both us to play at the same time.

    when i had the hub i was lined in from the csable modem and linedout to both pc's. same deal for the router. but can not play online in the same game.but she can play a different online game when i am playing SOF2 no problems at all.

    ((AND YES WE BOTH HAVE OUR OWN CD KEYS))

    thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    reset your TCP/IP settings on both comps since it seems to be looking for that ICS or internet connection sharing or your assigned IP rather than the IP the router is giving out for each port.

  3. #3
    How do you do that?

  4. #4
    Junior Member surg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6
    Dude i cant even get to play online ive got the 1.03full patch but no servers come up......tell me if i need any other patches?!?!?!

  5. #5
    R.I.P. 2017-10-02 Joint Chiefs of Staff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    The Sandbox
    Posts
    42,832
    Quote Originally Posted by surg
    Dude i cant even get to play online ive got the 1.03full patch but no servers come up......tell me if i need any other patches?!?!?!
    SoF2 is considered ancient in terms of gaming on-line. Just a hunch but maybe there are no active servers hosting this game. //shrug//
    >>Cult Master of International Affairs<<

  6. #6
    Junior Member surg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6
    But xfire says theres an odd 800 dedicated servers

  7. #7
    R.I.P. 2017-10-02 Joint Chiefs of Staff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    The Sandbox
    Posts
    42,832
    Quote Originally Posted by surg
    But xfire says theres an odd 800 dedicated servers
    Xfire WINS! lol I has only grasping at the slight thought that there were no servers. Geez....over 800 running SoF2?
    >>Cult Master of International Affairs<<

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    1
    Hey Graphite07,

    with a hub, each of your pcs had a public ip address. so when they connected thru the cable modem, the game server saw 2 separate ips, and could send traffic back to each one thru your cable modem.

    with a router, each of your pcs has a private ip address, assigned by the router. then the router does NAT. which means the router gets a public ip from the modem. but when traffic passes from the pc to the router, the router replaces the pc's ip with its own ip, then passes the packet to the modem.

    so... when both pcs are connecting thru the router, the game server is seeing 2 game connections originating from the same ip address. and stops working.

    i know this doesnt help much, but i wanted to let you know that i dont think theres anything wrong with your router/modem.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3
    hi fellas i am happy to be apart of this website just a question though

    i downloaded the soldier of fortune 2 demo multiplayer thing and its fine when i join a game but i want to host one and it comes up with this

    Couldn't write sof2mp.cfg.
    Hitch warning: 3117 msec frame time
    Resolving master.sof2.ravensoft.com
    master.sof2.ravensoft.com resolved to 63.146.124.45:20110
    Sending heartbeat to master.sof2.ravensoft.com

    what does this mean,what am i doing wrong (dedicated i chose internet)

    please can u help me out here!!!! thanks

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700
    reset your TCP/IP settings on both comps since it seems to be looking for that ICS or internet connection sharing or your assigned IP rather than the IP the router is giving out for each port.
    hi fellas i am happy to be apart of this website just a question though

    i downloaded the soldier of fortune 2 demo multiplayer thing and its fine when i join a game but i want to host one and it comes up with this

    Couldn't write sof2mp.cfg.
    Hitch warning: 3117 msec frame time
    Resolving master.sof2.ravensoft.com
    master.sof2.ravensoft.com resolved to 63.146.124.45:20110
    Sending heartbeat to master.sof2.ravensoft.com

    what does this mean,what am i doing wrong (dedicated i chose internet)

    please can u help me out here!!!! thanks

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3
    how do i do that and will it effect my broadband connection???

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1
    Hey How do you get to play online i cant!!I says auto download and doesnt...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-28-08, 02:59 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-12-02, 09:28 PM
  3. Soldier of fortune online.
    By YARDofSTUF in forum Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-30-01, 01:01 PM
  4. soldier of fortune and WinME
    By Biggy in forum Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-01, 03:04 PM
  5. My PC freezes when i play online........
    By Feral in forum Gaming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-24-01, 02:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •