Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Newest upgrade!

  1. #1
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,154

    Newest upgrade!

    Just purchased a 2 gig dual channel kit from newegg. its the patriot brand, lifetime warantee. My brother is using a gig in his system and said he loves it. So i said why not and purchased it.

    Best part is now im gonna sell my 512 xms to a friend of mine along with my 9800pro and its pretty much offsetting the price of the ram. Plus i get to toss in another 512 in my older system and get it back up to speed.

    2 for one!

    Can't wait to kick BF2 settings ALL up. I currently have textures on med.
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    6,471
    Cool man! Let me know how you like it, I see that Patriot RAM on NewEgg all the time but haven't heard much about the brand.

  3. #3
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,154
    I actually know two people with it. Both gave good reviews. I will let you know how it goes. I noticed there isn't too many reviews on newegg, maybe if i like it i will put a few words down for it. Seems these smaller companies have trouble getting the reviews that Corsair and crutial and whatnot get.
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  4. #4
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,154
    Okay so far im less than impressed. The install was perfect, the quality is great. Price was good, however im not noticing much of a difference at ALL in the gameplay of BF2. ESC to menu is faster and quitting to desktop is alot smoother, gameplay is no change at all. Gonna kick the graphics to full and see how she runs....

    I guess it was just as good as it can get at the settings i had it! gonna take textures to max and see what happens...
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    6,471
    so you jumped from 1 gig to 2 gig and didn't really notice a difference? how about performance in other uses?

    i'm building a computer for music production/video recording and editing....you think 2 gig would be worth it?

    But the quality of the memory is good though otherwise? Thanks

  6. #6
    Junior Member zooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    8,839
    it's nice, but not necessaryly need. I find the 2gigs helps the most when I'm running multiple programs (encoding etc) and play bf2.

    I dont see how it would have helped gameplay. If you suck, then adding some extra memory isn't going to make you a better gamer. ( j/k)

    Think about what the memory is actually doing. Before, you were semi-dependant on the swap file to play bf2. Not heavily dependant, but the usage was definately there. Now, it's barely being used for anything.
    Strap It On Whenever It Seems Appropriate

    http://www.tomsclan.com

  7. #7
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    You've already seen the biggest advantages in game from BF2 for getting in on validation of client and exiting which hogs the ram at those points.. then in game you should notice it a little smoother running rather than choppy running. But as for BF2 it will do the same for any application on starting up and ending quicker which again pulls alot of the ram.

  8. #8
    just me... but I noticed a huge difference in going from 1 - 2

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Quote Originally Posted by Izzo
    just me... but I noticed a huge difference in going from 1 - 2

    Ya I did as well.

  10. #10
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,154
    I think my system needs a format honestly. It runs like crap. Im gonna do that then give you a better idea of if it helps. i was hoping to be able to kick the textures to high but that wasn't happening for some reason. Ending game and alt-tab kicks ass now. instantly into desktop where before it took a few seconds.

    All in all im gonna format and see if that helps out some, its been a while!
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  11. #11
    Conspiracy Fool knightmare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,046
    Quote Originally Posted by zooner

    I dont see how it would have helped gameplay. If you suck, then adding some extra memory isn't going to make you a better gamer. ( j/k)
    "A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer."

    Bruce Lee

  12. #12
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,154
    LOL not the game play the performance, which effects the gameplay. I might wait till after this weekend to format that way my computer is ready to rock for the superbowl (recording it and transfering the files to be burnt). Plus i have to backup some stuff first....

    One thing i noticed is the computer booted smoother on the 2nd restart with the new ram.....anyone know why that is? seemed to be about 30 seconds faster....
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. XP- new vs. upgrade
    By arethereanyleft in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-23-04, 06:33 PM
  2. RedHat Linux Upgrade
    By BoOmEr2120 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-29-02, 08:25 PM
  3. RedHat Linux Upgrade
    By BoOmEr2120 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-02, 08:36 PM
  4. windows xp upgrade question????
    By thebigelk in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-15-02, 10:10 AM
  5. I want to upgrade my 2 yr old computer, is it possible?
    By TeenInternetAddict in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-23-01, 09:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •