Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 46

Thread: Clearing NetBT in WinXP Repair Network Connection

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4

    Clearing NetBT in WinXP Repair Network Connection



    Ok I have this MSI Lan Party AMD XP Motherboard with the Realtec and nVidia Nforce Network connections. My prior board used simply a Linksys PCI network card and it read the rest of my network fine. Well to make a long story short...

    I recently decided to get the system back in the network fold. Well I added it back into what should have been the correct network and domain and such. But it would not see out from its own system. Nor could any of my other systems, all 5 of them, could not see it.

    I tried it with the firewall off and on and nothing. So I decided to do a repair network connection in WinXP. While in the repair cycle it errored on Clearing NetBT. The process was halted on that error. I went ahead an readded the Linksys PCI nic card to the system and disabled the other 2 onboard nic cards, but the same thing happened.

    I tried flushing the DNS and re-registering the DNS through the DOS Command, but the problem will not clear out.

    I am asking for assistance on how to clear this up this issue and get this lone system back on the network.


  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    Rush was great! Love their middle years stuff....

    Lets bring this down to simple levels.....remove the Linksys adapter in Device Manager first......so the drivers are removed, then physically remove that adapter. Disable that second realtec NIC, either in BIOS, or in Device Manager, or in Network Connections...doesn't really matter which way you choose.

    Now, just to make sure the tcp stack and/or winsock files aren't hosed with some malware, run this repair utility..
    http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html

    Now...you say you're joining a domain? If so, is DHCP running on the network? If so, how? Most importantly, what I'm getting at, is to make sure the workstation as your domain controllers IP address as its one and only DNS server. Not the router, and not the ISPs DNS servers.

    If you're running just a peer to peer network, then the DNS is fine being the router or ISPs DNS servers.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4
    WoW Thanks for the great advice! I will try that in a minute here! I am running DHCP across the my little network. I have a D-Link DI-604 4 Port Router. And I errored in saying Domain when I should have said workgroup. All my systems were set to MSHOME, yes I know very original :2cool:

    And YES Rush is the best!! Like you I do love the middle years music, but I grew to appreciate their stuff after Moving Pictures and Signals. I guess for some its an aquired taste

    I will get back with you shortly on my findings and see what happens. Thanks again for the reply!

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    Ahh workgroup...yeah, probably just something screwy with the winsock...that repair utility should do the trick.

    I saw them a couple of times...Power Windows and Presto tours.

    Favorite albums...Hemispheres, Grace under Pressure, and Power Windows.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4
    Stonecat you are a god!

    Removed the PCI Nic and disabled the nvida's NIC and left the gigabit enabled. Ran the fixer and rebooted and once restarted I went immediately to my networks and BOOM! There were all 4 of my other systems! Back in the fold again all happy!

    Thanks again ever so much!

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    Glad it worked for ya, it's a great little utility. I keep it on my USB thumb drive as part of my bag of tricks, it comes in handy all the time.

    Oh yeah, "Welcome to Speedguide"!
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4
    Aye no doubt! I must get one of those 1 or 2 gig Crucial Thumb Drives and get that on it too

    As for seeing Rush in concert. I have seen then on the Presto, Grace Under Pressure, Vapor Trails and their R30 Tour in St. Louis. He was the reason why I started playing Bass Guitar back in 8th Grade :2cool:

    And thanks for the invite. I guess this would be good place to stretch out my mental knowledge and maybe add some help to other people with issues I ACTUALLY know

    Talk to ya soon friend

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1

    Hi

    I don't know what these forums are for or anything - I just found this thread by google search.

    So I registered just so I could say that Stonecat is indeed the man.


  9. #9
    Junior Member DeltaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1

    Clearing NetBT

    I had the error 'Clearing NetBT' when I attempted repair TCP/IP stack, and Stonecats winsock utility tip worked like a charm. Thank You!!! You da Man!!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1
    It worked for me too. So any idea what causes this? I recently installed Bitlord... could it have been the curprate? BTW... the Reg backup didn't work or at least gave a ton of errors. The utility worked like a charm and you have made me one happy camper. Can't thank you enough.

  11. #11
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    Quote Originally Posted by Reefbone
    It worked for me too. So any idea what causes this? I recently installed Bitlord... could it have been the curprate? BTW... the Reg backup didn't work or at least gave a ton of errors. The utility worked like a charm and you have made me one happy camper. Can't thank you enough.
    Glad it worked for ya.

    Much of the problems stem from ad/spyware...which is common with P2P software. They inject your tcp stack/winsock with entries to help them do their job..and it affects Windows.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  12. #12
    Now, just to make sure the tcp stack and/or winsock files aren't hosed with some malware, run this repair utility..
    http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html
    YeOldeStonecat you are my HERO!! I'm nowhere near as sharp as everyone here, especially when it comes to network issues. I've been trying to resolve a network connectivity issue with my laptop for months now. It wasn't "catastrophic" because I could still connect to the internet wirelessly at home, the office, and on the road. However, I had no access to any shared network files, drives, or printers. Your tip has fixed my problem!

    If you ever get to Big Orange Country look me up...I owe you a cold beer!!! Thanks again.

  13. #13
    Thanks so much... Being going nuts for days... the Winsockfix did the trick! Helped me immensely.. and BTW another huge Rush fan... I'm from their home town, Toronto, Canada...

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up

    Stonecat your Advice is still gold.....

    I registered just to say thanks (and looking at the others post count, I'd say they did too). Had the same problems as others here, ran the app and problem gone. Magic.

    Thanks again

    btw. I googled "clearing NetBT" this was the 2nd link.

  15. #15
    The fix works like a charm. Not only was my customers computer not connecting to other computers, but it wasn't connecting to internet either. Glad there are smart people out there who can fix these things

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up thanx a lot Stonecat

    you´re the man!

  17. #17

    Thanks for the tip

    I was having the same prob with clearing NetBT, and I came across your post through a Google search. Had to register here just to say thanks for the tip on WinsockXPFix. It worked like a charm. Another little program to add to my memory stick for work



    Roughrider

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Thanks

    I also registered to this forum to show my appreciation, you saved me a lot of time.

    My symptoms:
    Everything was working fine until "one day" out of the blue I couldn't access my mapped drives. Could not locate local network and could not clear netbt with repair of nic.

    I could RDP
    I could Ping in both directions
    services: workstation and computer browser all started correctly
    I could VPN into LAN
    I could even connect to the internet

    My personal Failed attempts:
    Uninstalled and installed NIC
    Downloaded the same drivers from mfg
    Restarted services
    ipconfig /this and that- nothing!
    set static IP on DNS - nothing!
    replaced cables- nothing!
    I finally flung the laptop against the wall, hoping to teach it a lesson- nothing!

    Your solution Stonecat:
    WORKED like a magic wand!!!!

    Thanks a bunch!!
    Last edited by charles33; 09-26-07 at 02:29 PM.

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Smile Clearing NetBT Network Error Message

    Again, just to say thanks and to let people know this fix works. I backed up my registry first, but didn't need to use it. The program worked perfectly. I disabled my Intel Pro 1000 PL on board hardware and ran the fix. Rebooted, enabled the network hardware and presto my network reappeared. Wonderful little program. Thanks.

  20. #20
    Well, I quess, I'm here for the same reason as the others..

    To say thanks to stonecat.
    Great little program, worked perfectly and saved me many hours of trying random solutions..

    Thanks again!

Similar Threads

  1. trouble with new XP install (network connection)
    By CRUZMISL in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-05, 07:02 AM
  2. Network connection module cannot be found? Check this out
    By TrevGlas in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-04, 09:50 AM
  3. Network Running Slow and Randomly Drops Connection
    By wfernley in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-04, 08:21 AM
  4. HELP!!! please... MAJOR connection Problem!
    By Shamire in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-01, 05:07 PM
  5. Intel InBusiness Small Office Network 1.2
    By dienst in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-00, 07:51 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •