Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 74

Thread: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ vs, AMD Opteron 148 ??

  1. #1
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    wilkes barre, pa
    Posts
    826

    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ vs, AMD Opteron 148 ??

    just wondering if someone can give me a brief table of differences between these 2 cpu's and which is the better performer.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539
    or
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103596

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    I think I'd go for the opteron.

  3. #3
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    wilkes barre, pa
    Posts
    826
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    I think I'd go for the opteron.
    ty for quick reply, any reason why tho, as when i compare them they seem to be the same technical wise on the stats screen that newegg has. is it because of the easy OC'ing that is mentioned?

  4. #4
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,250
    intel
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Quote Originally Posted by velvta
    ty for quick reply, any reason why tho, as when i compare them they seem to be the same technical wise on the stats screen that newegg has. is it because of the easy OC'ing that is mentioned?
    I'm thinking the venice core will OC better, other than that they are basically the same.

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    6,471
    here's a good site that lists the differences between the AMD64 and Opteron...

    http://www.devx.com/amd/Article/27340

    very interesting...maybe I'll get an Opteron...

  8. #8
    Moderator David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Nova Caesarea
    Posts
    9,356
    Blog Entries
    1
    The Opteron 165 can be had for around 300USD. Not bad for a dual core with 2X1Mb cache that is very overclockable.

    Hell_Yes

    Luck is where preparation meets opportunity - Seneca

    "Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" - Isaac Asimov

    It is my ambition to say in ten sentences what others say in a whole book. - Friedrich Nietzsche

  9. #9
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Quote Originally Posted by rivas
    intel
    Your forgetting hes wanting speed

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    F.WV
    Posts
    2,981
    Quote Originally Posted by wee96
    Your forgetting hes wanting speed

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by wee96
    Your forgetting hes wanting speed

    Teehee.

  12. #12
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,250
    Quote Originally Posted by wee96
    Your forgetting hes wanting speed
    with amd ..vs intel ?
    thats a bad one wee
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  13. #13
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Quote Originally Posted by rivas
    with amd ..vs intel ?
    thats a bad one wee
    Someone needs to check out all the benchmarks

  14. #14
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    Quote Originally Posted by wee96
    Someone needs to check out all the benchmarks
    or i say we do some benchmarks between ourselves, something that uses CPU and not video card, to keep it easy to compare.


  15. #15
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark
    or i say we do some benchmarks between ourselves, something that uses CPU and not video card, to keep it easy to compare.

    Works for me, we could always run a superpi challenge in here. Wanna also post our sisoft sandra numbers too? I guess that might help rivas see the light alittle

  16. #16
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Well Rivas is well equipped to benchmark running the 840EE

    I guess sava has the best single core amd with his FX55.

    My dual core runs 2.69, dunno what all you others are running at now.

  17. #17
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,250
    Quote Originally Posted by wee96
    Works for me, we could always run a superpi challenge in here. Wanna also post our sisoft sandra numbers too? I guess that might help rivas see the light alittle
    well i payed for my intel cpu 1.6k and its 40% faster then top of the line amd cpu.Benchmark is one thing but see it on your own testing same thing on 2 computers (one of them was amd) is something else.The only minus on my cpu are games i was falling behind by 6-8% .
    I dont play games
    There are around 12 reviews online saying intel EE dual core 3.2 is the best but money wise amd is better choice.
    And saying my cpu sux is ridiculous ....
    Stick to your amd and dont forget cool it down with ice or nitrogen
    Like i said before i prefer quality
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  18. #18
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,250
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Well Rivas is well equipped to benchmark running the 840EE

    I guess sava has the best single core amd with his FX55.

    My dual core runs 2.69, dunno what all you others are running at now.
    I'm running now at 2.5ghz
    did 10% OC
    the encoding is fantastic,thanks for picking up that cpu for me
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  19. #19
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    I assume you mean 3.5?

  20. #20
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,250
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    I assume you mean 3.5?
    lol yes
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

Similar Threads

  1. Game PC:Battle of the SMP Giants : Opteron 248 vs. Xeon 3.2A / 1MB
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-04, 05:56 PM
  2. GamePC article:Taking The Lead : AMDís Opteron 246 Processor
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-11-03, 08:31 AM
  3. Check out the price of AMD Opteron 64bit
    By opmharley in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-03, 04:49 PM
  4. GamePC article: nForce3 Pro Hits the Streets : Asusís SK8N Opteron Motherboard
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-03, 01:29 PM
  5. Free T-shirt's
    By tHE_0ne in forum Marketplace - Buy/Sell/Trade/Hot Deals
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-02-02, 03:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •