Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: When i'm playing starcraft....

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861

    When i'm playing starcraft....

    my music in windows media player skips. i'll be playing my game, listening to the song, and then it will skip over literally one second of the song.

    anyone have any idea why that should be? my specs are in my profile, but should be more than sufficient to run both of them at the same time.
    The Way
    John 14:6

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Do you run WMP with no visualisation? The system shouldnt take that big of a hit from a song.

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    right, no visualizations. although i've also noticed that when i'm not running starcraft, and have windows media player full screen with visualizations, it will occasionally skip over 1 second.

    I have a sound blaster live sound card, so i wouldn't think it's that, but at this point i'm not sure.
    The Way
    John 14:6

  4. #4
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    Try another media player, like Winamp or something, and see if that helps any. *shrug*

  5. #5
    Got Alizee? ScottE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    16,860
    StarCraft is a real system hog. Really taxes even the best systems. The graphics are freaking sweet though.
    Respect it.

  6. #6
    Advanced Member Zerohero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    621
    I have a few questions...

    Do you have Star Craft mounted to the HD?
    Does it do this if you have any other program running the background?
    The Chicken Hawk has spoken...

    http://www.gameagme.com
    Tactical Damage Clan Server
    http://www.tacticaldamage.com/

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    Quote Originally Posted by Zerohero
    I have a few questions...

    Do you have Star Craft mounted to the HD?
    I don't know what that means.

    Does it do this if you have any other program running the background?
    I can run my music while surfing the web, running chat programs (msn), and writing a paper without any problems that i can think of.

    I don't usually run it during other full screen games like call of duty because i like those sound effects. do you think it could have something to do with my video card and going full screen?
    The Way
    John 14:6

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim
    Try another media player, like Winamp or something, and see if that helps any. *shrug*
    That might help, i'll try that out too.
    The Way
    John 14:6

  9. #9
    IROC-Z Man CoolJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    6,825
    Not to change the subject, buy are you good at SC? My friends have a game every weekend and I get destroyed. I am usually the terrans because they are fast. Do you think it is good to have a bunch of different guys, or have something like 70 golaiths and 100 cloaked wraiths?
    ** Speed 3370(down)/425(up) kbps **
    My IROC-Z28

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Build the dragoons!

  11. #11
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    Quote Originally Posted by CoolJ
    Not to change the subject, buy are you good at SC? My friends have a game every weekend and I get destroyed. I am usually the terrans because they are fast. Do you think it is good to have a bunch of different guys, or have something like 70 golaiths and 100 cloaked wraiths?
    I used to be pretty good, yeah. These days all i play are the custom, use map settings, games. Back in the day, my main strategy was to make mass something. it didn't really matter what, just so long as it was only one thing. You might try giving that a shot.
    The Way
    John 14:6

  12. #12
    IROC-Z Man CoolJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    6,825
    Quote Originally Posted by golfnintendoboy
    I used to be pretty good, yeah. These days all i play are the custom, use map settings, games. Back in the day, my main strategy was to make mass something. it didn't really matter what, just so long as it was only one thing. You might try giving that a shot.


    Thanks man, i'll give it a try. I like the wraiths because you can cloak them


    I liked the protoss too, but man do they build slow.
    ** Speed 3370(down)/425(up) kbps **
    My IROC-Z28

  13. #13
    Advanced Member Zerohero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by golfnintendoboy
    I don't know what that means.



    I can run my music while surfing the web, running chat programs (msn), and writing a paper without any problems that i can think of.

    I don't usually run it during other full screen games like call of duty because i like those sound effects. do you think it could have something to do with my video card and going full screen?
    You need to do this....

    Download a program (or I can give you the full version for free if you want) of Alcohol 120%. Then make a image with that program. On that same program you can "mount" the image to your HE (HD = Hard drive). Now your computer won't be reading the game from your disc, but rather you HD which improves perfromance of the game as well as your computer.

    About your video card... What kind do you have? Is it the regular stock card etc? Let me know
    The Chicken Hawk has spoken...

    http://www.gameagme.com
    Tactical Damage Clan Server
    http://www.tacticaldamage.com/

  14. #14
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    Quote Originally Posted by Zerohero
    You need to do this....

    Download a program (or I can give you the full version for free if you want) of Alcohol 120%. Then make a image with that program. On that same program you can "mount" the image to your HE (HD = Hard drive). Now your computer won't be reading the game from your disc, but rather you HD which improves perfromance of the game as well as your computer.

    About your video card... What kind do you have? Is it the regular stock card etc? Let me know
    I'll give that a shot. I have a Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 video card. I'll let you know how it works.
    The Way
    John 14:6

  15. #15
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    Update:

    I tried using the Alcohol 120% version. Ran starcraft, played music with windows media player--occasional skipping remained. Ran Starcraft again, played music with real player--still occasional skipping.

    Since it still skips with real player and without the cd, i can rule out the music software as the problem. my guess right now is either something to do with the sound card, the video card when it goes full screen, or possibly even something with virtual memory.

    any ideas guys?
    Last edited by golfnintendoboy; 12-07-05 at 02:50 AM.
    The Way
    John 14:6

  16. #16
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Has it always skipped?

  17. #17
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Has it always skipped?
    For as long as i can remember anyways. I've had this computer for about 2 years or so. I've upgraded the hard drives (have 2 total, both are new), doubled the ram (came with 512), put a new power supply (500watts), and a new fan inside.
    The Way
    John 14:6

  18. #18
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    anyone have any more ideas?
    The Way
    John 14:6

  19. #19
    IROC-Z Man CoolJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    6,825
    Hmm, do you have the latest drivers? (sound card)
    ** Speed 3370(down)/425(up) kbps **
    My IROC-Z28

  20. #20
    SG Enthusiast golfnintendoboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    1,861
    Quote Originally Posted by CoolJ
    Hmm, do you have the latest drivers? (sound card)
    i've gone to creative's website and done a check and they said i do. i may be able to get an x-fi after christmas, and if i do i'll let you know if it still skips
    The Way
    John 14:6

Similar Threads

  1. Playing Starcraft with Networked Computers
    By pompey in forum Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-23-06, 07:16 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-16-03, 10:38 PM
  3. Starcraft B.net problems
    By doombringer in forum Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-02, 08:50 PM
  4. Counter-Strike and Starcraft
    By K-Tar in forum Gaming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-06-02, 02:04 PM
  5. Linksys Router Help With Starcraft
    By powerfulsquid in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-25-01, 08:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •