Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 34 of 34

Thread: Couple things

  1. #21
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Izzo
    I just downloaded 5.04 beta and it's actually asking for "machine id" 1-8

    I assume i plug in 1 and 2 then for each core ?

    Correct.

  2. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Correct.

    OK, So i set it to machine one and two ...check task manager and they still show that they're set to both cores

  3. #23
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Izzo
    OK, So i set it to machine one and two ...check task manager and they still show that they're set to both cores

    yeah, its not changing the affinity, its just letting FAH know that you have 2 cpus so that 1 FAH core doesnt get confused and try and mess with the other cores work. At least thats how I understand it.

    If you want them using only 1 core at all times you need to set their affinity manually.

  4. #24
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,167
    It also helps if you use the flag on each command lines of:

    -local

    This also helps to keep them from cross talking.

    tks
    rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

  5. #25
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by rickoic
    It also helps if you use the flag on each command lines of:

    -local

    This also helps to keep them from cross talking.

    tks
    rick

    I forgot about that. Easier than the affinity settings i'm sure lol

  6. #26
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,145
    Quote Originally Posted by rickoic
    It also helps if you use the flag on each command lines of:

    -local

    This also helps to keep them from cross talking.

    tks
    rick

    so how exactly do i do this now, please explain it for me, do i make a shortcut or something ?

  7. #27
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark
    so how exactly do i do this now, please explain it for me, do i make a shortcut or something ?

    Yup

  8. #28
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    My P4 Northwood 3.06ghz w/HT is folding nonstop, but its strange it seems even my wifes A64 (3000+, 1.8ghz) finishes the same size WU much quicker. I'm still tryin to figure that one out.

  9. #29
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,167
    Quote Originally Posted by wee96
    My P4 Northwood 3.06ghz w/HT is folding nonstop, but its strange it seems even my wifes A64 (3000+, 1.8ghz) finishes the same size WU much quicker. I'm still tryin to figure that one out.

    Sounds like you have some other programs running in the background on you P4 Northwood. If your running Windows on it; do a ctrl-alt-del which will bring up the windows task manager. Click on the tab Processes and then scrool down the list of programs looking for those that are using CPU time. If you see some that are using quite a bit of time other than FAH programs then they are taking away from your folding time. If you don't know what they are, then you probably need to do a spyware scan, virus scan, etc to try and find out what they are. Or you could just click on them and then click on the End Process button to see what happens.

    Tks
    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

  10. #30
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Quote Originally Posted by rickoic
    Sounds like you have some other programs running in the background on you P4 Northwood. If your running Windows on it; do a ctrl-alt-del which will bring up the windows task manager. Click on the tab Processes and then scrool down the list of programs looking for those that are using CPU time. If you see some that are using quite a bit of time other than FAH programs then they are taking away from your folding time. If you don't know what they are, then you probably need to do a spyware scan, virus scan, etc to try and find out what they are. Or you could just click on them and then click on the End Process button to see what happens.

    Tks
    Rick
    You must not know me, im about as far away from "noob" as you can get.

  11. #31
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,167
    Quote Originally Posted by wee96
    You must not know me, im about as far away from "noob" as you can get.
    Your right, I don't know your level of expertise. But it has been my experience that sometimes people overlook simple things that work and might fix the problem because they are zero'd in on something else.

    Two heads are better than one, and three even better.

    Tks
    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

  12. #32
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Quote Originally Posted by rickoic
    Your right, I don't know your level of expertise. But it has been my experience that sometimes people overlook simple things that work and might fix the problem because they are zero'd in on something else.

    Two heads are better than one, and three even better.

    Tks
    Rick
    Thanks for trying to help I didnt mean that in an insulting way, I was just chuckled

  13. #33
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Oh btw it was a silly error on my part, I forgot to use the proper -forceasm -advmethods. The Northwood is doin much better now

  14. #34
    How fast do you guys roll through frames?

Similar Threads

  1. A couple of Giggles to Start Your Day
    By minir in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-15-03, 11:22 AM
  2. Couple of Things j/k
    By binksfan in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-02, 08:05 AM
  3. Things to remember
    By lvslr in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-02, 08:34 AM
  4. 69 things to do in Wallmart
    By Teirney in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-18-02, 12:35 AM
  5. Help with a couple things...please??
    By Blumer in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-13-01, 01:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •