Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Don't understand Analyser results

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1

    Question Don't understand Analyser results

    Hi all,

    I was hoping someone could help me.

    I am running Windows XP Home Edition SP2, IE6 SP2.

    I am using a Billion 7402VL Modem/Router with the latest firmware (5.04c.dg1).

    I am connected to Exetel DSL 512/128 (Sydney, Australia) which I understand uses PPPoE.

    I downloaded SG TCP_Optimiser 2.0.2 and ran it, selecting the "Optimum Settings" radio button, and with the "Modify All Network Adapters" and PPPoE check-boxes selected.

    I then checked the MTU setting using the Router's management software: Config -> WAN -> ipwan-> edit, and found that the MTU was set to 1492 as the SG TCP_Optimiser says it should be.

    Why then do I get the following results when I run the SG TCP/IP Analyser?

    TCP options string = 020405840103030001010402
    MTU = 1452
    MTU is not fully optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput.
    MSS = 1412
    MSS is not fully optimized for broadband (although it might work well for slower connections). Consider increasing your MTU value.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 58220
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 58220

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    519616 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 8)
    259808 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 4)
    129904 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 2)
    64952 (MSS x 46)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2328.8 kbps (291.1 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 931.52 kbps (116.44 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = OFF
    Time to live left = 55 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

    Have I missed doing something with my tweaking? Is there something else I should be doing? Is something going wrong with the Analyser? Does any of this really affect the performance anyway?

    Many thanks to anyone who can offer help.

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    The MTU in your modem's router config could be set lower, I'd look there.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't submit results?
    By Humboldt in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-02-05, 02:13 PM
  2. TCP/IP Analyzer results.
    By Hifiman in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-03, 12:28 AM
  3. D.a.m.n!!
    By BaLa in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-24-01, 10:48 PM
  4. LOTS of testing.
    By EvilAjax in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-01-01, 07:16 AM
  5. Post your PCPitstop results!
    By HalfLifer in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 05-01-01, 06:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •