Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Dual monitor question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    46

    Dual monitor question

    Okay. Sorry for the remotely vague thread title, not sure what to call it. I'm running on a Radeon x800xt, and am using two monitors. I've got the second set to extended desktop. What I want to do is put Winamp, Trillian, etc over there, so I can run a game on monitor one while being able to switch over to those windows to change songs and chat with people and what not. When I mouse over to the second monitor, the game stays on top, but once I click on a window on the second monitor, the game minimizes. What I want to do is be able to select windows displayed on the second monitor while keeping the game on top of the main monitor. Is there any way to do this without running the game in a window?

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    I dont think you can do it that way because you still have 1 desktop. So you end up minimizing the game just like you would if you had one monitor. I dont have much experience with dual monitors though, maybe there is another style or layout for the monitors that will allow it.

  3. #3
    Advanced Member SpareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Its chilly here...
    Posts
    642
    if the game can be run in window mode you'll be all set, but otherwise.. if its full screen the game will register a mouse click outside the game area.
    Beer, Pretzels, and a Monkey with a shotgun. Dare I ask for more?

    SYSTEM A / system b
    INTEL P4 3.06Ghz / intel p4 2.53Ghz
    INTEL D865PERL / intel d845pebt2
    1GB DDR3200 OCZ RAM / 512MB 2700 ram
    ATI RADEON 9800 PRO 128/ pny ti4400
    SEAGATE SATA 7200 80Gb / maxtor 7200 100Gb
    SB AUDIGY GAMER/ onboard sound
    XP Pro on both

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Monitor Display
    By phigity in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-03-04, 12:11 AM
  2. Abit nf7-s How to run dual channel?
    By opmharley in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-01-04, 11:35 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-14-02, 12:34 AM
  4. can XPs be used in dual mode
    By monkeyhead in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-21-02, 10:58 PM
  5. ? about dual medium CPU's vs single latest and gr8est CPU...
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-10-01, 08:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •