Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: FTP troubles...

  1. #1
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759

    FTP troubles...

    This may need to be posted elsewhere but here goes...

    I have Comcast HSI (w/ speed upgrade), and a Linksys BEFSX41 router. Im running Serv-U 6.0.0.0. For some ODD reason, Verizon DSL customers are having EXTREME difficulty connecting to my FTP server.

    Example...

    VZE users can log in, but when they attempt to get the directory, it times out. I experimented and set my MTU to 1300 on the server PC AND the router. No luck. When I check the server log, VZE users are connecting. They just cant run the DIR command AT ALL. They are all getting time-out errors.

    Any suggestions? I thought that maybe VZE was blocking the FTP ports but that is not the case.
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    I would say they are blocking ports from the sound of it.

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    passive or active
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  4. #4
    A+, S+, M+, C+, CySA+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,436
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700
    I would say they are blocking ports from the sound of it.

    I know they don't block tcp 21 at least on the east coast..

    Shinobi
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  5. #5
    A+, S+, M+, C+, CySA+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,436
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberskye
    passive or active

    That's what I was thinking too..
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    Also found this link - funnily enough through Google
    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=60848
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  7. #7
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    Cyberskye, Im currently running active but I was running passive. I just disabled passive mode.

    Verizon isnt blocking ports. I can connect to ftp.linksys.com from my buddys house. He has Verizon DSL. My other friend has Comcast, and he connects to me with no problem.
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  8. #8
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberskye
    Also found this link - funnily enough through Google
    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=60848
    I was thinking the same way but the Verizon buddy is connected via a Linksys WRT54G.
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    Quote Originally Posted by crazyjw1971
    I was thinking the same way but the Verizon buddy is connected via a Linksys WRT54G.

    The router wasn't the point of that post - it is the ppoe sw that was used.

    BTW - VZ apparently only works via PASV
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  10. #10
    A+, S+, M+, C+, CySA+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,436
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberskye
    The router wasn't the point of that post - it is the ppoe sw that was used.

    BTW - VZ apparently only works via PASV
    I just want to throw this in.. I don't know if it will help..

    I have Verizon.. and I have 2 FTP servers up (IIS 6 and also ProFTPD)..
    If anyone tries to access either of my FTP servers.. from Internet Explorer.. they have to right click on internet explorer's icon then left click on properties..then left click on the advance tab, then uncheck "Use Passive FTP.." setting, then they can access either FTP server.
    .. just adding my 2 cents..

    Shinobi
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  11. #11
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    Quote Originally Posted by Shinobi
    I just want to throw this in.. I don't know if it will help..

    I have Verizon.. and I have 2 FTP servers up (IIS 6 and also ProFTPD)..
    If anyone tries to access either of my FTP servers.. from Internet Explorer.. they have to right click on internet explorer's icon then left click on properties..then left click on the advance tab, then uncheck "Use Passive FTP.." setting, then they can access either FTP server.
    .. just adding my 2 cents..

    Shinobi
    I believe I have tried that option also. I will have him double check the next time I talk to him.

    Thanks!
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  12. #12
    A+, S+, M+, C+, CySA+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,436
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by crazyjw1971
    I believe I have tried that option also. I will have him double check the next time I talk to him.

    Thanks!
    If he "unchecks" the setting, make sure he exits out then restarts Internet Explorer...

    just an idea, I hope it works for you.

    Shinobi
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  13. #13
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    I would like to say THANK YOU to everyone...

    Passive FTP was already disabled in his browser settings. I forgot to mention that I couldnt RDC into my home box on a VZE connection either. I believe setting the MTU to 1300 fixed it. Aside from my friend entering the wrong account info...

    I went over to his house for the first time after changing the MTU and NOW EVERYTHING WORKS! FTP, RDC, etc.

    When I had the MTU set to 1500, NOTHING WORKED!

    Cyberskye... about the link you posted... I was stating that to say that my buddy isnt using XP's built in PPPoE connection utility or RASPPPoE (I used to be a VZE customer and I LOVED RASPPPoE), his connection is made and maintained with the Linksys WRT45G.

    Again, THANKS EVERYONE!
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

Similar Threads

  1. Free FTP Servers! *Hosted by me*
    By BrandonB in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-28-05, 07:43 PM
  2. FTP Server and Slow Speeds
    By GiantWaffle in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-08-05, 10:01 PM
  3. FTP Server - no connect whatsoever
    By GiantWaffle in forum Network Security
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-06-05, 01:55 PM
  4. Linksys & FTP Server speed dropping
    By GiantWaffle in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-04-05, 06:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •