Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: dsl modem/router power cycling itself

  1. #1

    dsl modem/router power cycling itself

    i just got qwest dsl premium about a week ago and the actiontec modem/router they gave would power cycle(reset itself as if i turned it off and back on again) itself many times a day-i called qwest and complained and they sent me out a new modem and it does the same thing-i know its not drop outs on the power line because other things plugged into the same power/patch strip dont do this-any ideas of what could be causing this?

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Try to keep on serparate strip if you can that is odd
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee
    Try to keep on serparate strip if you can that is odd
    it did it even when i had it plugged in by itself straight into an outlet

  4. #4
    just for the record, i had qwest test my lines and they said they r "clean"-also, the modem has both usb and ethernet-im using ethernet

  5. #5
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    It really sounds like a line issue. Is the modem/router going through a full reset or is the modem losing sync?
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  6. #6
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    if quest did test the line they didnt' sweep it i just noticed this after crazy posted if anything you need someone from the telco to sweep the line that test the one they ran is only to the pole of your house not the inside wirring
    Comptia a+ n+

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by crazyjw1971
    It really sounds like a line issue. Is the modem/router going through a full reset or is the modem losing sync?
    i think its a full reset-what do u mean by "losing sync"?

  8. #8
    Hi...I'm fonzbear2000's dad....sorry if he didn't articulate the problem clearly enough. It has been really hot here lately and power consumption has been high. The DSL modem resetting itself over and over has been frustrating! We just switched from Comcast Cable internet as a cost saving measure and were excited to try Qwest DSL for half the price. But this intermittent modem problem has been disappointing to say the least. It will go sometimes for 12 hours or more without a problem, then suddenly start shutting down and resetting for anywhere from 6 to 12 times before "settling down" again. Dozens of calls to Qwest were no help. They suggested our house phone wiring might be bad. We thought the router might be a culprit (dlink wired-it's an old discontinued model) but the problem occurs even when the DSL connection is directly in the computer, so that can't be it. Anything else you can suggest would be much appreciated.

  9. #9
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,942
    You don't have it by chance sitting on top of something that's giving off lots of interference, like..sitting on your systems subwoofer or something?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    You don't have it by chance sitting on top of something that's giving off lots of interference, like..sitting on your systems subwoofer or something?
    it does it no matter where its located

Similar Threads

  1. Any more Tweaking for sbc yahoo dsl?
    By eatdirt40 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-05, 12:48 AM
  2. someone that knows alot about DSL and cable?
    By maltb in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-05, 08:12 PM
  3. Being That I Know Squat About Speakers.....
    By Prey521 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-17-03, 03:29 PM
  4. power cycling on usb connection
    By spdye in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-01, 10:59 PM
  5. Power cycling my modem ad time it takes to reinitialize?
    By Druss in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-28-01, 08:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •