Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Please help with Cable speed

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3

    Please help with Cable speed

    Hi All,

    I'm currently on Comcast 4000/382 plan. When I run the speed test from testmy.net this is what I get:
    :::.. Download Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 942 Kbps about 0.9 Mbps (tested with 2992 kB)
    Download Speed is:: 115 kB/s
    Tested From:: http://testmy.net/ (server2)
    Test Time:: Fri Aug 5 16:05:31 PDT 2005
    Bottom Line:: 17X faster than 56K 1MB download in 8.9 sec
    Diagnosis: May need help : running at only 24.17 % of your hosts average (comcast.net)
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/stats/id-SJM63ALUV

    and Speakesy test:

    Download Speed: 1799 kbps (224.9 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 354 kbps (44.3 KB/sec transfer rate)

    I am using cable nut and I've tried all of the .css files and nothing seems to be working for me. I also ran the TCP/Ip analyzer and here are the results:

    TCP options string = 020405b40103030301010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 512000
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 3 bits (scale factor of 6)
    Unscaled Receive Window = 64000

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 20480 kbps (2560 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 8192 kbps (1024 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 53 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 11100000 (224)

    Precedence (priority) = 111 (Network Control)
    Delay = 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput = 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability = 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost = 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit = 0 (correct, 8th checking bit must be zero)

    DiffServ (RFC 2474) = CS7 111000 (56) - class 7 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.

    Can you guys please help me with the speed issue ? I'm not using a router, just direct connection.

    Thanks, Z

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    shut the modem off for about 5 mins also http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/tracert.asp take this test let me know if you see any other color then green if so what hop
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3
    Hi mccoffee,

    Thanks for replying well I went to the link you provided and put in

    www.yahoo.com
    this is what I got.
    On the first hop I got a orange bar and 346ms
    9th hop it timed out with 100% packet loss
    packet #11 i got 33% pocket loss.

    Sometimes I run tracert in MS-DOS and get packet loss on the 7th, 8th and 13th hop. Also most of the time I get a large ms like between 170-200, on some not on all.

    One more thing, I'm not pingable, I'm not sure if it's a good ro a bad thing, how can I become pingable if it is good ? I'm usinf McAffee firewall.

    Thanks, Z

  4. #4
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    i dont' use mccafee look to see if it has any settings that deal with icmp also xp sp2 has icmp settings you need to check in control panel firewall and chck them all it looks like it's on the providers end but with loss at the first hop it could something as simple as allow ping
    Comptia a+ n+

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3
    Hi mccoffee,

    I Just checked the ICMp settings on my firewall "Accept ICMP Ping Requests" and I don't know if messing with the windos firewall going to do anything since it is disabled and I'm using mcaffee...what do you think ?? Actually my speeds improved after that I get 3.4Mbps. close enough thanks mccoffee.

Similar Threads

  1. new cable internet - speed issues
    By vajurewi in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-13-10, 08:03 AM
  2. Increasing Cable Upload band speed
    By poison226 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-03, 09:43 PM
  3. Range of IP addresses
    By slacker361 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-02, 03:51 PM
  4. slow cable speed
    By kidd in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-18-01, 10:31 PM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-02-01, 07:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •