Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Wifi can't go faster than 110ko/sec !!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Wifi can't go faster than 110ko/sec !!

    hello !
    i have a wireless router TECOM-AH4021 and a wifi pci card from msi (both 802.11g compatible).My network is in open mode and i use a WEP key.The router in located at 50cm of my computer. In ethernet mode, i could surf at 125ko/sec down, but when i used wifi i was blocked at 95ko/sec.
    I used TCPoptimizer and changed my dsl connection to pppoA instead of pppoE in my router. I now have a connection speed between 100 and 115ko/sec (it kept changing, i tested the connection on very highspeed xdcc on irc)

    here are the result from TCP analyser:

    Code:
    -------------------------------------------------------
    TCP options string = 020405b40103030001010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 64240
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 64240
    
    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    -------------------------------------------------------
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2569.6 kbps (321.2 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1027.84 kbps (128.48 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    -------------------------------------------------------
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Time to live left = 56 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    -------------------------------------------------------
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
    -------------------------------------------------------


    Can someone help me to tweak the connection ?

    Thanks alot guys !!
    Franck

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install


    check - custom settings
    network adapter selection -
    check modify all adapters
    maxmtu 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive blank
    MTU Discovery - yes
    Black Hole Detect - no
    Selective Acks - yes
    Max Dup ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 windows scailing is checked

    Other Settings tab:

    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    Lan Browsing Speedup - optimized

    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect.



    VERY IMPORTANT TO DO THE FOLLOWING:

    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need. For a stand alone pc all you need is Internet Protocol TCP/IP.

    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections - LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.

    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer and set your duplex mode to "auto". If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.

    4. Clean out your temporary internet files with CrapCleaner.

    5. Power cycle your modem i.e. unplug it for at least 15 seconds.

    6. Download, update and scan with SpyBot S&D 1.4 http://majorgeeks.com/download2471.html EXACTLY as I explain HERE http://lavasoft.element5.com/support/download& Ad-Aware SE 1.06 EXACTLY as I explain HERE to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster 3.4 http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.htmlto stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES. If these 2 programs find a lot of things then please post a HijackThis 1.99.1 log for us to look at.

    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in our Help & Tips page.

    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it and search your pc for the left over files.

    9. Install Kerio Personal Firewall 2.1.5, it's FREE and uses next to no resources.

    10. Do a FREE online virus scan from Kaspersky Labs.

    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates.
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    3

    thank you

    thank you but i'm still stuck at 110 with your trick
    should i disable the QOS in my router settings?which connection is faster, pppoe or pppoa with wifi?

Similar Threads

  1. 10mbit faster then my 54mbit wifi (file sharring)
    By vulcan4d in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-05, 11:11 AM
  2. Faster cd rw need a faster cpu?
    By Christopher561 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-02, 12:41 AM
  3. How much packet loss is too much?
    By Epiphany in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-18-01, 01:41 PM
  4. faster and faster
    By Biggy in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-10-00, 10:06 PM
  5. Faster Than @Home
    By Richard in forum Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-00, 11:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •