Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Verizon dsl 3/768

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10

    Verizon dsl 3/768

    I was just wondering if there is anything that I can do to tweak my connection a little.


    TCP options string = 020405ac0103030301010402
    MTU = 1492
    MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1452
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for maximum throughput.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 384000
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 3 bits (scale factor of 6)
    Unscaled Receive Window = 48000

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 15360 kbps (1920 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 6144 kbps (768 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 56 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

    I took the speed test and i am getting 2798 download and 716 upload. Is this the best I am gonna get. Thanks for any suggestions and by the way I am new to the forums just registered today and wow what a great site you have here.

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install


    check - custom settings
    network adapter selection -
    check modify all adapters
    maxmtu 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive 63888
    MTU Discovery - yes
    Black Hole Detect - no
    Selective Acks - yes
    Max Dup ACKs - 2
    TCP 132 nothing is checked

    Other Settings tab:

    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    Lan Browsing Speedup - optimized

    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect.



    VERY IMPORTANT TO DO THE FOLLOWING:

    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need. For a stand alone pc all you need is Internet Protocol TCP/IP.

    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections - LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.

    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer and set your duplex mode to "auto". If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.

    4. Clean out your temporary internet files with CrapCleaner.

    5. Power cycle your modem i.e. unplug it for at least 15 seconds.

    6. Download, update and scan with SpyBot S&D 1.4 http://majorgeeks.com/download2471.html EXACTLY as I explain HERE http://lavasoft.element5.com/support/download& Ad-Aware SE 1.06 EXACTLY as I explain HERE to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster 3.4 http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.htmlto stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES. If these 2 programs find a lot of things then please post a HijackThis 1.99.1 log for us to look at.

    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in our Help & Tips page.

    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it and search your pc for the left over files.

    9. Install Kerio Personal Firewall 2.1.5, it's FREE and uses next to no resources.

    10. Do a FREE online virus scan from Kaspersky Labs.

    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    This is what I have now. Thank you by the way, I appreciate the help. It still shows my MTU below 1492



    TCP options string = 020405a401010402
    MTU = 1484
    MTU is somewhat optimized for broadband. If you're not on a PPPoE DSL connection that limits packet size, consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1444
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1444, which equals MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 63888
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 63888

    Foror optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    508288 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    254144 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127072 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63536 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2555.52 kbps (319.44 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1022.208 kbps (127.776 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 56 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

  4. #4
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    get your MTU and your MSS back up to where you had it.

    Are you trying to get more tweeking out of web surfing or gaming or what?

  5. #5
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    set ur mtu to 1500 hopefully it will fall back to 1492
    Comptia a+ n+

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    I set the MTU back to 1500 and it feel back into place. The funny thing about that is I just did that befoe I came back to the post lol. Thanks for all your help I am learning alot. Things are much better now. I appreciate all your help. Once again you guys have a great forum here with alot of good info. Proud the be a member.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    This is my download and upload speed from speakeasy. seems kinda low, but i know the factors that come into play.

    Download Speed: 2800 kbps (350 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 485 kbps (60.6 KB/sec transfer rate)

Similar Threads

  1. Verizon DSL speed
    By dysfunction in forum US Broadband Providers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-08-06, 07:29 AM
  2. verizon dsl running below dialup speed
    By helgatheviking in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-14-05, 04:29 PM
  3. Verizon DSL 3 Mbps/768 Kbps
    By illusionist in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-07-05, 01:31 PM
  4. Upgrade to Verizon 3/768 for same price as 1.5
    By eye4neye in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-02-05, 12:25 PM
  5. Help with my Verizon DSL 3/768
    By Gangsta2002004 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-30-04, 10:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •