Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: Anyone having trouble setting up joystick in BF2?

  1. #1
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857

    Anyone having trouble setting up joystick in BF2?

    Can't get throttle settings to take over, keeps saying something to the effect of those keys are already assigned (yet they aren't)

    Also seems to be backwards, forward makes it flip back, etc.
    Works perfectly in BF'42/DC/BF:V.
    Recalibrated in Winders just for the heck of it, no diff?

    Logitech WingmanExtreme BTW, flawless in every other game.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  2. #2
    ^_^ Illini25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Champaign, IL
    Posts
    8,128
    People showing the same prob here to Cat:

    http://forums.totalbf2.com/showthread.php?t=5592


  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Can't get throttle settings to take over, keeps saying something to the effect of those keys are already assigned (yet they aren't)

    Also seems to be backwards, forward makes it flip back, etc.
    Works perfectly in BF'42/DC/BF:V.
    Recalibrated in Winders just for the heck of it, no diff?

    Logitech WingmanExtreme BTW, flawless in every other game.

    No luck with my logitech extreme 3d pro or my dual action ps2 look a like controller.

  4. #4
    Broke
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern AB, CA
    Posts
    13,506
    Exrtreme 3d pro....Dead in the water

  5. #5
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Go into your Options and click INVERT down to the bottom left of the plane and chopper!

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,846
    Extreme 3D Pro working just fine.

  7. #7
    Advanced Member Subsane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C - Canada
    Posts
    688
    I have the wingman forcefeedback 3d and she's running good...
    Nothing Safe!

  8. #8
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,935
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Can't get throttle settings to take over, keeps saying something to the effect of those keys are already assigned (yet they aren't)

    Also seems to be backwards, forward makes it flip back, etc.
    Works perfectly in BF'42/DC/BF:V.
    Recalibrated in Winders just for the heck of it, no diff?

    Logitech WingmanExtreme BTW, flawless in every other game.
    clear out all your binds by using escape key, make sure secondy/alternative bindings are clear as well. Worked for me...I have faith that you can overcome.

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  9. #9
    i hate you. no really. thechemgeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Greenville, NC
    Posts
    1,683
    i have the old Mmrosoft sidewinder pro and I was having trouble, then for some reason it worked. i'm not one to question. heh.
    .

  10. #10
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    I hear from someone that if u define ur left, u don't define the right. if u define ur foward don't define ur backwards.... (shrugs) try if that works

  11. #11
    Advanced Member Subsane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C - Canada
    Posts
    688
    Quote Originally Posted by Immortal
    I hear from someone that if u define ur left, u don't define the right. if u define ur foward don't define ur backwards.... (shrugs) try if that works
    Yes that is true!
    Nothing Safe!

  12. #12
    Junior Member Jonty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Driffield, East Yorkshire
    Posts
    12
    I was using the mouse and flying was a nightmare, decided to unpack my Saitek Cyborg Evo and now it flys like a dream, damn game is addictive though

  13. #13
    Junior Member Jonty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Driffield, East Yorkshire
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Immortal
    I hear from someone that if u define ur left, u don't define the right. if u define ur foward don't define ur backwards.... (shrugs) try if that works
    Thats how I configured mine, roll right push the stick right and left the left, did the same for forward and turn, worked a treat first time.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonty
    I was using the mouse and flying was a nightmare, decided to unpack my Saitek Cyborg Evo and now it flys like a dream, damn game is addictive though

    Mine doesn't seem to work right. It favores a left hand roll and now my calibration seems to be off and i can't get it to come back.

  15. #15
    Junior Member Jonty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Driffield, East Yorkshire
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Trooper
    Mine doesn't seem to work right. It favores a left hand roll and now my calibration seems to be off and i can't get it to come back.
    I haven't bothered installing the Saitek drivers, just used the standard windows XP jobbies. Had problems prior to this with the original Saitek drivers, not sure if that'll solve your problem?

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonty
    I haven't bothered installing the Saitek drivers, just used the standard windows XP jobbies. Had problems prior to this with the original Saitek drivers, not sure if that'll solve your problem?
    Thanks, I'll give it a shot.

  17. #17
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,935
    When you set an axis, it knows the inverse automatically...so when you define a right orientation (+), it knows to set the other to (-)....but it doesn't show you that in the menu...it just shows 0,0. So set one and the other will be fine. If you get an already used, make sure you clear the secondry/alternative bindings....you might have to clear them all and reaccomplish.

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  18. #18
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    I tried the Logitech drivers....I hate using them be they for the mouse of joystick, I always had the best of luck with the native WinXP drivers for both of them. Regardless, no help for BF2.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  19. #19
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    I can fly fine with keyboard and mouse.. just had to adjust a few keys.

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonty
    I haven't bothered installing the Saitek drivers, just used the standard windows XP jobbies. Had problems prior to this with the original Saitek drivers, not sure if that'll solve your problem?
    Worked like a charm. Now all I need to do is learn to fly.

Similar Threads

  1. BF2 Read Me File
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-18-05, 07:58 PM
  2. BF2 demo readme file
    By Tpofa in forum Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-05, 05:46 PM
  3. Help RWIN setting!!!
    By bertski in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-15-01, 07:43 PM
  4. new computer setup:) Joystick not working:(
    By BOWTYE8 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-20-00, 09:55 PM
  5. Joystick and wheel conflict
    By kinley in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-23-00, 03:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •